We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An almost perfect venue from which to explore Oxford” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Oxford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Oxford to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Oxford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #10 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Lubbecke, Germany
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“An almost perfect venue from which to explore Oxford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The Holiday Inn, is just off the Pear Tree roundabout (close to Kidlington), which means it is ideally close to the M40 and sitting next to the Park & Ride means that you can forget about your vehicle, parking & traffic jambs and offers easy assess into the city for either business or pleasure. [£2.70 buys you a return ticket into the city and the journey takes a little over fifteen minutes even at peak traffic.] The hotel also offers a large, secure car-park.

I found my room to be extremely clean, large and airy with a good en-suite with very comfortable beds. The room is accessed via a key card, which they replaced free of charge when I mislaid my first! The room offered a phone, an empty fridge/cooler, trouser press & large flat screen TV. This has various functions from TV - including some HD channels and Sky 1; Radio - which is a useful feature to keep abreast of the news; and an entertainment package which I thought was very expensive if your wish to watch a movie and was extremely slow loading. But who needs to watch TV when you are so close to the Academic heart of the universe, with many beautiful sights and good restaurants to explore.

Breakfast was to be honest, average, but comprehensive and represents good value with the room. My first morning I had to hunt for a waiter to get some coffee, but the second day, a waiter was quick to offer me my caffeine fix. The staff I encountered were all very pleasant and professional and a credit to the hotel.

Overall, this was a very good experience and I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Beware of a room facing onto the roundabout as road noise continues well into the early hours as thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, July 6, 2012
Thank you very much for your most complimentary review posted on Trip Advisor following your recent stay in Oxford.
It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and I have shared your comments with the whole team here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that you will visit us again in the near future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    286
    135
    30
    18
See reviews for
131
220
30
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

One of the hotels that I stayed in a lot, probably over 100 times over a few years so I can definitely say I know it well. The Executive Rooms are pretty nearly perfect ( or were) where the standard rooms are a bit variable, with some noisy ones down on the ground floor and some a little bit shabby ones. The windows need replacing in some rooms, but this might now have been done.

The staff were always helpful and courteous, and the restaurant is great, apart from the slow changes of menu which will not affect an occasional guest in the same way as it did for me with my near-weekly stays of one or more nights. Breakfast is excellent.

The health club is very good, with a well equipped gym.

Some of the rooms, as I mentioned, are getting a bit tired, or have yet to benefit from the triple-glazing which is so needed with the elevated main road so nearby. The executive rooms have wooden shutters for the windows which are so effective at blocking light that accidentally sleeping in is a real possibility.

being Oxford, the asking prices are often very steep. This hotel is very good value at £90-100 per night but it is definitely worth looking further afield if the asking price is 50% higher, which it often is. There are some fantastic country hotels a little further out whose charm and more realistic charges more than compensate for the journey into Oxford. Watch out too for getting back out onto the road system. The Pear Tree roundabout is frightening at most points of the morning commute. Cars exit the southbound A34 and scream past the small turning out of this site at terrifying speed, or the roundabout siezes solid and you have to rely on the goodwill of a motorist who might have been in a queue for ten minutes or more to let you out.

The location is fine for a night's sleep, but you have few choices if you are on foot. It is a fair walk to the nearest bus-route. The site is shared by a travel-lodge and a small branch of Waitrose as well as a garage, so it is always busy. Travel-Lodge guests often use the restaurant facilities in the Holiday Inn so be prepared to book a meal as well.

All in all a good hotel in a location which you will like or hate.

Room Tip: Ask for a fourth floor room for more comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This Holiday Inn situated next to a Travelodge on the ring road at Oxford.
We checked in at about 3.30pm and were met by three receptionists! Check in only took a couple of minutes and we made our way to our fourth floor (top floor) executive grade accommodation. The cost of this room was £180 per night on a fully flexible reservation. Car parking was freely available.
The room was light and airy with triple glazing to shut out the traffic motoring along the A34. This was needed. Plenty of storage space for two or three nights. A choice of pillows was available. The bathroom was spotless and warm with a bath and power shower. There were the usual complimentary smellies and shower caps. Cable TV provided the entertainment wit option for paid for films. The wi-fi was very expensive at £5per hour unless you purchased a package. There was also a water/wine chiller although there was no in room bar provided.
The bar was open on our return to the ground floor which was about 60% full with meetings going on between various company representatives. Afternoon hot and cold snacks were available and the alcohol was reasonably priced. You could purchase an afternoon tea if required. There was also health club with a swimming pool available to guests.
The restaurant was utilised the following morning and a full buffet breakfast was available. This was first class.
Not a cheap hotel for Oxford but first class for a short stay with excellent and attentive staff.

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for the executive room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review posted on Trip Advisor following your stay at the Holiday Inn Oxford. I am extremely pleased that you had a pleasant stay and that you liked the Hotel and the facilities we provide.
It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and I have shared your comments with the whole team here at the Hotel.
Thank you once again and I do hope that you will visit again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back to Oxford.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Our party consisted of 16 people and we found the hotel to be smart and comfortable with a good range of facilities on site and warm and welcoming staff. The Spa facilities were great and included in the price of our stay and the hotel breakfast was the best I've had in a long time. Whilst the hotel is slightly out of town, the park and ride facilities adjacent to the hotel provided an easy and cheap way to get our large group into the city. I would definitely reccommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: In our experience the rooms facing the rear of the hotel were quieter, but this did not affect our e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you very much for your recent review posted on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to receive such complimentary feedback and I have shared your kind comments with the whole team here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the facilities available within our Health Club.
Many thanks once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Really good, great service and very clean and well presented hotel. Good value for
Money and breakfast was superb!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments following your stay with us here at the Holiday Inn Oxford.
I am pleased to hear that you liked the hotel, received good service and enjoyed your breakfast.
I hope that you will visit us again in the future, when we look forward to welcoming you back.
Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Fine for business with good gym but sterile and corporate with expensive and uninspiring menu at restaurant. Not convenient for Oxford city centre.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnOxford, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Oxford, responded to this review, June 14, 2012
Thank you for your recent comments. I am glad that you took advantage of using our Gym and Health Club. Even though we are not situated in the centre of Oxford there is a park & ride adjacent to the hotel and a taxi can be called from Reception which is only a 5 minute ride into town.
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A good clean hotel, however the price is very expensive for it's location and the facilities it provides. It advertises Wifi on the website however be warned, this is not free and the rates are extremely expensive. Additionally, for the price of a room I would expect breakfast to be included and at least a bottle of water in the room. Other rooms overlooked by room which meant the room was not private at all. The staff demanded a pre authorisation of my card even though the room was pre paid for and there is no mini bar in the room. Ordered food at the bar and had to ask for cutlery and actually cut the sandwich in half myself. Overall disappointing.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Oxford

Address: Peartree Roundabout | Woodstock Road, Oxford OX2 8JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#8 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Oxford hotel is situated on the leafy north side of this historic University City. Holiday Inn is ideally located next to the A34 with easy access to the M40, Silverstone F1 Race Track & M4 motorway. The hotel offers a modern, relaxing environment for either a business or leisure stay in Oxford with ample free parking, the hotel is situated in an ideal location for travel into Oxford. The city offers a priority Park and Ride bus service which is located next to the hotel. Our hotel family rooms can accommodate 2 adults and 2 children. All family rooms are supplied with a double bed and a sofa bed - sofa beds are suitable for children of 12 years or younger. Not forgetting Kids Eat & Stay Free* (*Terms & conditions apply)Packages available for: Blenheim Palace, Cotswold Wildlife Park & Bicester Village. Discover the enchanting history of Oxford, along with the Cotswolds. The extensive Spirit Health Club is also available to our guests, offering a large gym & large indoor heated swimming pool complimented by Spa & Beauty therapists. For the benefit of our business guests the Holiday Inn Oxford boasts the purpose built, self contained, Academy Conference & Training Suites, with dedicated Reception, Business and Stewarding team. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.