We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford's Grill

Oxford's Grill
21 Cowley Road, Oxford OX4 1HP, England
01865 201 120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 498 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $17 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Accrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fantastic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Pretty much what Janet said in the review below mine. I would add my sat nav said it was a 15 minute walk from the city centre which if raining may have put me off, but it turned out to be about 8 minutes so not too bad. Deffo worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Accrington, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Gem of a restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We consulted Trip Advisor prior to our visit to Oxford, to try and find a place that served a decent mixed grill. However, Oxford Grills appeared on the list & although not a steak house, both the reviews and the menu tempted us to go there for dinner on Saturday evening.

We were a little concerned when we arrived (7.30pm) as the place was very quiet; the owner was sitting patiently at a nearby table. We needn't have worried as during the course of our meal, the place quickly filled with diners. As the restaurant got busier, even the chef was in and out of the kitchen serving meals, but this didn't detract from the speed of service or quality of food.

We opted for the 2 course dinner which was £10.95 and proved to be excellent value for what we got. The complimentary pitta & hummus was a nice touch and delicious to boot!
The food was lovely with good portion sizes.
The owner/waiter was very attentive and polite; he apologised for not taking our money when we wanted to pay the bill. The card machine wasn't working so I would advise taking cash just in case, though there is a cash point within walking distance of the restaurant.

Our dining companion is an Oxford local but had never been to the Oxfords Grill before; he says he will definitely return there, as would we if we visit Oxford again in the future.

You won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Had a lovely evening at the Oxford Grill. Was a Wednesday night so very quiet but the waiter did everything he could to make us feel welcome, including complimentary humus and bread which was a great touch!
We all went for the set menu which was fantastic value. (I would highly recommend the vegetarian mezze starter, a little of everything which ends up being quite a lot.) We all left very satisfied with our meals. Certainly one of the best Turkish restaurants I've visited.
The restaurant doesn't look great from the outside and is simple on the in. Competing with some of the trendy spots on Cowely road I think this explains why The Oxford Grill is a little less popular than some of its neighbours but don't let that put you off the food is brilliant the service can't be faulted.
Would certainly go again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Oxford's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Oxford Grill is firstly a silly name for this restaurant. Though they do grill various ingredients the name conjures up images of big grilled breakfasts and gammon steaks and so on. None of which is served here.

They serve Turkish and Mediterranean food and Turkish Grill would be a better name though perhaps still not perfect.

However, I’ll forgive this error of judgement – much the same as I don’t mind the occasional typos on the menus (like the “glass of vine” on offer).

The restaurant is bright and breezy with a nicely laid out dining space with plants and decent/interesting art on the walls. It in – in short – nothing like one might imagine from the outside signage or the silly name (incidentally many moons ago this was the second branch of Joe’s Bar & Grill as still found in Summertown).

The food here is quite simply delicious. Beautifully presented by gracious hosts, sometimes the wait can be a little too long but it’s a perfectly nice place to be sat waiting. There is also a small paved garden at the rear of the restaurant.

The set menu deal is phenomenal value. Two courses for £6.95 during the day or £10.95 in the evening. The evening version comes with a free glass of wine.

Once seated and given menus the drink orders are taken as one might expect (good selection of tea, coffee, wine, cocktails, spirits and juices including a pretty hard going traditional yoghurt drink – Ayran. Note no beer/ale/cider is on offer) and then a basket of delicious warm pita pieces and hummus is offered as a complimentary – excellent.
On my latest visit I had Cop Lamb Shish (marinated lamb skewers) which was beautifully seasoned and presented and very tender. My companion had a chicken dish, equally lovely.
For mains I had the lamb kofte which was three small lamb burgers, a side salad and a dome of the most tasty rice imaginable, like everything seasoned to perfection. Divine. My companion opted for the Chicken Shish as a main, a long line of tender grilled chicken with the delicious rice and side salad. The food is fairly simple but the care and attention given to such fulfilling and delightful food makes this a truly awesome place to be.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford on Avon
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent value and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

We had spotted this place on Trip Adviser - so was pleased when we came across it - its worth the 15 min walk from central Oxford. Excellent value for money, the food was lovely and fresh and tasty, and the owner is a lovely guy, very welcoming. We had the set lunch, which was perfect, with a lovely bottle of Turkish Red wine - so good, the following day we went back for dinner - a true find and well worth the money.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford's Grill also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Oxford's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.