We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time at the dogs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Greyhound Stadium

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oxford Greyhound Stadium
Sandy Lane, Oxford OX4 6LJ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 95 Attractions in Oxford
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
Attraction details
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“First time at the dogs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Excellent- value for money and we ate there as well. Nice food and very good service.Great fun watching the dogs racing. Glad we were indoors watching as it was very cold to be outside.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Boxing Day fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a great afternoon racing here, with a brunch breakfast. Good staff and up together premises, pity they are knocking it down and probably putting a tesco there instead. I would of visited again if it was staying open

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Average!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Average is all I can say. amotsphere not great, food terribible. It's ok if you are into dog racing but not a family event.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fun Night Out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

On Saturday we went to the stadium with two friends.
Great fun, good atmosphere and doesnt cost a lot for a fun night.
Got a deal through Groupon which included admission/racing programme/drink and either a burger or hotdog. Have to say the burger was huge and freshly cooked and not bad at all.
Didnt win but hey still something different to do and fun

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Ideal surprise present”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I sponsored a race for my daughter's birthday present. We were shown to a table in the Grandstand restaurant overlooking the track and near the winning post. The three course meal was very enjoyable even if the waitress was slow. Our bets were taken by a girl who visited the tables in turn and she returned with the winnings when appropriate. After the sponsored race, which was shown at the heading in the racecard, we were invited and led down to the track where my daughter presented the winning owners with the trophy and a photograph was taken with the greyhound and this will be posted to us. A great fun evening.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Greyhound Stadium also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Headington, Oxford
 

Been to Oxford Greyhound Stadium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Greyhound Stadium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.