We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Tree Hotel at Iffley

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Tree Hotel at Iffley to your Saves list
The Tree Hotel at Iffley
63 Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4EY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in Tree Hotel for couple of days i just can leave warm reviews about this hotel and staff. Everything was clean and comfortable, friendly atmosphere and Delicious dessert. I heard Annora restaurante changed a chef congratulation because the taste of food now for level better. Just one bad thing was happened with us is a mattress was a bit hard and color of the walls in a room could be brighter (it was a bit like in hospital)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    100
    37
    36
    20
See reviews for
60
98
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

On arrival we thought the place looked uninviting, but were impressed with the welcome we recieved. all the staff were freindly and nothing too much trouble.The breakfast was quickly served and well presented, and plentiful. Although the place was dated and in need of some t.l.c.it had character and the locals were interesting to talk to. the food served in the evening was very good and some great deals were available with a choice of english , chinese, and asian.,It would benifit from a bit of an update.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff we ever so freindly and accommodating, meeting every extra request we had, iron and ironiong board, printing things off and extra pilllows etc. Breakfast was plentiful and quickly served. However the decor was very tired and dated, our room was also dimly lit. We stayed there whilst attending a wedding at the hotel up the road and the standard of their accommodation was outstanding for only £30 more a night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here on our trip to Oxford. Plenty of parking place which is a good sign for visit to oxford. Although the restaurant was closed by the time we reached, the breakfast next morning was good. The place is slightly run down and need lot of up keeping.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel seemed like a nice English Inn from their website, but to be honest it was pretty grotty inside.
Some superficial work has been done to brighten the place up, but it is lacking any investment in fittings and furniture. The bed was the most uncomfortable I can remember ever sleeping in - the mattress was probably over 15 years old and full of uncomfortable springs. The door to the room was flimsy giving the impression it was not really safe to leave any valuables there. The bathroom in particular was dated and everything was in need of a very good clean.
The only redeeming feature was that we had evening dinner there and the food was quite good and reasonably priced.
This hotel is best avoided!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

My stay at The Tree was comfortable and friendly, the room and ensuite large and well furnished. Parking is plentiful (often an expensive problem in Oxford) and Oxford City Centre is just a short drive away. A hearty breakfast menu. A cheerful welcoming traditional pub downstairs. I also dined in the restaurant a couple of times - the Indian food being a speciality and which I liked the most was lamf fry comes with a pan cake . All very reasonably priced. I would certainly stay there again and recommend to every one

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

From the initial greeting upon arriving at The Tree Hotel at Iffley, the service was superb! Despite eating in the far corner of the (beautiful) garden, where you can sometimes be forgotten - the waiters were very attentive to us, friendly and polite. For starter, my partner and I shared the Tempura King Prawns - which arrived very quickly and the prawns were big and juicy! Perhaps a bit more dipping sauce would have been good though! Our main meals - chicken biyriani and Thai green curry were both great! The portion size was very (almost a little too) generous, and there was a very good amount of chicken in the biyriani! Next time I would have to try some more of the Indian sides, which I'm sure we will as we will definitely be returning! Thumbs up!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Tree Hotel at Iffley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tree Hotel at Iffley

Address: 63 Church Way | Iffley Village, Oxford OX4 4EY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Tree Hotel at Iffley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Tree Hotel at Iffley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.