We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tilbury Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tilbury Lodge
Save
You added Tilbury Lodge to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Tilbury Lane, Oxford OX2 9NB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Plainview, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“super place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were greeted by the owners with a cup of tea and home baked cup cake. The room had every luxury you could imagine, including a bath tub with bubble bath and a shower with great water pressure. Breakfast included home baked muffins which were great. One of the best bed and breakfast places that my husband and I ever stayed in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    26
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
37
109
26
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
DERBYSHIRE
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

I think this b+b has become my favourite overnight, a lovely welcome with too many special touches to mention, Stefan is a great host and Laurie kindly attended to us also so many thanks too. The b+b is located in a handy spot on a good bus route just a short distance from Oxford, Stefan had a map to hand which was appreciated-we can't wait to visit again in the future-we had room 1 which was a huge kingsize room with everything you need. The large carpark is also a bonus.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We recently stayed at this lovely B&B - the attention to detail is over and above that of any other B&B we have stayed at. The room we stayed in had a view over the garden, with a super kingsize bed and flat screen TV. Tea, coffee, biscuits, fruit, sweets etc, all available in the room. Would definitely recommend Tilbury Lodge and look forward to my next stay!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at Tilbury Lodge in January and it was an incredible experience. We were made to feel at home and our hosts couldn't do more to help and advise on the best places in visit in and around Oxford. We were unexpectedly upgraded and the room was amazing. The bed was huge and incredibly comfy. Breakfast was also everything you could want and more. Lovely special touches like the fudge on departure didn't go unnoticed. Can't recommend Tilbury Lodge enough!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

If you're planning a trip to Oxford, then you should look no further than the Tilbury Lodge. It's definitely the best B&B I've ever encountered - in England, Europe, or anywhere else.

Our stay was remarkably good value. The spacious bedroom was luxuriously appointed with everything from homemade cupcakes to a foot spa, and the large en suite bathroom was absolutely immaculate. The owners are friendly and approachable, and Stefan whips up a top-notch English breakfast!

The Tilbury Lodge is tucked away in a quiet corner of Botley; but it's just around the corner from a major bus stop, so you aren't more than a ten-minute ride from the heart of Oxford.

Truly a hidden gem, all told. Even the Randolph couldn't hope to compete with the personal touch provided by this place. We'll certainly be visiting again and again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
255 helpful votes 255 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I had looked in vain for an available reasonably priced central hotel/B&B with free parking in Oxford and come up with nothing so we had decided to look for something a bit further out. We chose Tilbury Lodge because of the reviews and are happy to confirm that it far exceeded our expectations. Often, it’s the little details that make for a great stay, and Stefan certainly has this sorted with things like an in-room honesty mini-bar, homemade fudge and cupcakes and even a foot spa. The taxi he had ordered for us didn’t turn up that evening and he very kindly volunteered to take us to the pub himself! Breakfast was also excellent so we would definitely stay there again if we were to go back to Oxford.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Since we first came to Tilbury (when our son started Uni) we have just returned from our tenth visit (over the flood plains - Stefan is NOT responsible for the weather!!) and feel we need to update our initial revue. This is by far the best place to stay in Oxford - it pains me to admit it as so many of you have obviously discovered Tillbury's charms making it so much more difficult for me to book in !!
As I said in my initial review, the tourist boards should snap Stefan up to teach other establishments how to do things properly. From the welcome cuppa and delicious cream scone to the brilliant breakfasts, comfy beds, foot spa (bliss after a days shopping in Oxford) and so much more, Stefan and Melanie have really raised the bar in "customer care".
Really hope that when my son takes his finals next year he goes onto a post-graduate so we can continue to visit Oxford - although I don't think we will need much of an excuse to return to Tilbury Lodge !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tilbury Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tilbury Lodge

Address: 5 Tilbury Lane, Oxford OX2 9NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tilbury Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Tilbury Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tilbury Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.