We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was wet but it was good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karting Oxford

Karting Oxford
Oxford Stadium | Sandy Ln., Oxford OX4 6LJ, England
44-1865-717134
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 196 things to do in Oxford
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oxford Karting all weather, Floodlite Go-Karting circuit is open 7 Day for groups and individuals over 8 years old.Situated at Oxford Stadium and within the city limmits,offering free car parking and easy access by bus, it's the ideal venue for an action packed session on the Karts. Booking is recomended to avoid disapointment.
Great Shelford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“It was wet but it was good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The marshals were absolute heroes. It was tipping it down with rain but we had booked to go here so we showed up. They diligently ran the session and kept turning out go karts back around even though we getting spinning out.

I'd love to try this in the dry but I don't live near Oxford.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    2
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Visited with my friends on several occasions and we had excellent fun each time. It's very good whatever the weather is. Staff is very helpful and go-karts are well maintained. Track isn't very big but plenty enough to enjoy yourselves. Cheapest gokarting around!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Pretty small track with old karts”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

To be fair, I haven't been here for ages so the karts might have changed by now, but the track is small compared to somewhere like Milton Keynes Daytona, or Daventry which both offer a much better driving experience.

That being said, the staff are really good, and if you can't travel that far then it's worth going along, and the prices are much better than some of the bigger better tracks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading . berks
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Go -Karting in oxford”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited with my boyfriend in feb on a Saturday lunchtime - I pre-booked and paid a deposit when we arrived (was a little tricky to know where to go) but we asked and was pointed to some stairs into a building opposite the track.
Once in there a friendly lady helped us and explained we could have it to ourselves but we did have to wait about 30-40 mins to the booking time I had.
This was fine as we were given our overalls/ helmet and gloves (recommend gloves) this was all part of it and no extra costs! there are lockers there free of charge and recommend to use these all safe and watched.
We were given then Helmet and asked to check all ok and then a quick briefing and advised what to do and not which was fine.
We then were able to have the track to ourselves we just did a 'turn up and drive' which was perfect as only two of us! the karts are not new but seemed to run well and the track isn't a bad size we had 30 minutes and this was plenty! the track is bumpy but makes it a bit more interesting!
Lots of fun and quite a stag do's - be great for groups!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

Had some trouble finding the track. It's the first entrance into the Greyhound Stadium off Sandy Lane, but then you have to go right, around the side to find the two-floor hut housing the karting stuff.

Once in, we did a Stag event, Endurance in teams of three. Briefing was simple, staff were unfussy and happy to lend a hand and keep everyone safe during our session. Possibly, we were slightly rushed through at the start and end of the session, but at only £40 a head (which is the best I've seen for Karting) you can understand why it's a bit of a "maximise track time" enterprise.

The track itself is a bit bumpy, but this adds to the experience and there's a good mix of smooth and tight corners. Karts have got plenty of 'grunt', barriers and run-offs are forgiving, and the only thing you really have to worry about is someone else crashing into you!

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karting Oxford also viewed

 

Been to Karting Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karting Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.