We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful oasis in the city of Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of All Souls College

All Souls College
High Street, Oxford OX1 4AL, England
44-1865-279379
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 95 Attractions in Oxford
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Founded by Henry VI and Henry Chichele in 1438, the college today serves primarily as an academic research institution at the University of Oxford.
Scotland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis in the city of Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

This was a hidden gem in our explorations of Oxford. It was very quiet and offered a lovely sunny seat in the quiet quad. The fact that it was the site of several scenes from Harry Potter films was an added bonus. Expected to see Hermoine come round the corner at any time!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth popping in”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Visiting All Souls is free (currently open 2-4pm each afternoon). It's probably worth popping in, for a 5-10 minute visit if it's open when you wander by.

I found the staff friendly and it's a pleasant space to wander through. The buildings can feel less impressive when you're inside the quad than they do when you've been looking through the gates for a year! The only building you can enter is the chapel. Although you can't enter (only look at) the main part of the chapel, it's still worth seeing. You can't visit the library (although any University students can sign up to be readers).

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“All Souls - My Favourite College in My Favourite City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Firstly if you are going to visit Oxford I would advise you to check opening times of the colleges because they open at different times, some don't open at weekends, some don't open during the summer. Some charge & some are free.
This is a good website http://www.ox.ac.uk/visitors_friends/visiting_the_university/visiting_the_colleges/

All Souls wasn't open the first time I went to visit so I learnt a lesson.
The building on the Great Quad was designed by Nicholas Hawksmoor & within in it is the spectacular Codrington Library which is only open on Open Door Day which takes place in September. If you're able to go I would recommend it as the exquisite chapel is also open. You can see the chapel whenever the college is open but you can't go inside it. When it opens during Open Door Day it's heaving with people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bucks
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Old world - seat of learning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I can't say too much about All Souls as we visited a Fellow there and had a private tour. However, the atmosphere there is so relaxed, it almost feels like some form of monastic retreat. The library is breathtaking.
Well worth a trip if you are in Oxford and can get in.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Oxford College Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you visit Oxford, you should definitely take one of the many city walks and guided tours that are offered. Perfect way to get to know the city and the many, many beautiful buildings and interesting history - it really takes your breath away! Can't wait to go there again.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Souls College also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to All Souls College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage All Souls College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.