We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Galaxie Hotel to your Saves list
Galaxie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Interesting B&B. Rooms are very small but the building is furnished to a high quality. Breakfast is self service with good selection of hot and cold food. Compared to central Oxford the 2 mile walk or bus ride is well worth it for the considerable saving in rates. Summertown has lots of options for eating out and a couple of excellent pubs. I have stayed at the Galaxie many times and consider it good value especially as there is ample free parking on site. Top tip, ask for a rear facing room as the traffic noise may be a problem for light sleepers or those looking for a lie in.

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    86
    39
    24
    20
See reviews for
27
85
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for a weekend, in a double room, the bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless. The only thing I wasn't keen on in the room was the big gap between the bathroom door and the wall, not very private. The breakfast was great and the staff where all really friendly and helpful. The location was pretty good, only a short bus ride to the centre of town. I did feel it was a little over priced at just over £100 a night but overall a good stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My daughter and I spent four nights in a twin room at the Galaxie and were delighted with this B & B which is really more of a small hotel. It is run by a lovely couple and their delightful South American and Portuguese staff who together have created a really warm, friendly and welcoming atmosphere. We felt very much at home and spent time relaxing in the lounge, conservatory and pretty garden.

We had paid a bit extra for a larger twin room which was conveniently positioned on the ground floor. Noise from the street was not a problem. The room was not all that large but was clean, comfortable, bright, nicely decorated and well furnished (including good quality mattresses). The bottled water and tea and coffee tray were a nice touch.

Breakfast was really impressive both in range and quality. It included delicious fresh croissants and rolls from a nearby bakery, fruit, cereals, nuts, seeds and eggs, bacon, etc, for those who wanted a full English.

Above all, it was the attitude of the staff that made the Galaxie stand out. When we raised a concern about the towel rail in our bedroom becoming too hot, the lady who responded could not have been more helpful or concerned, switching it off for safety while arranging for a heating engineer to come and look at it the next day. I mentioned that the lid on the kettle on our room did not fit well and the kettle was replaced with a brand new one within the hour! This is customer service at its very best. Thankyou to Sue, Win, Mariella and the rest.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Even though it is technically a B & B it is definitely more like a hotel. The rooms are very modern & everything is decorated to a very high standard. The breakfast was really nice & great value. Overall it was great value for money & a very enjoyable stay. I would highly recommend staying here.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A very warm welcome, a spotlessly clean room, and a pretty good breakfast. I was a little apprehensive when I was first shown the room. On the ground floor facing the road I was expecting a lot of traffic noise. I was assured that the "special" glazing kept the noise out, and it did! The staff at breakfast were very busy, but maintained a friendly attitude. I liked this place!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I spent one night here as I was meeting up with friends. The decor is lovely, modern, clean and fresh - very welcoming. Staff very helpful.
My room was small but had everything I needed and very well fitted out. My only reservation was the semi-transparent blind at the window. My room was at the back but slightly overlooked by another room when I was in bed, and I felt uncomfortable about that. It also meant that the room was never completely dark,
The bed was very comfortable! Breakfast was very good, but they serve it from 7.30-9 and I went down at 8.30 and some of the food had obviously been on the hotplate for a while and wasn't terribly hot.
Overall, I'd recommend this for a reasonably priced hotel not too far from the centre of the city.

Room Tip: Room at the back to avoid street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2015

Immaculate hote. Very clean. Couldn't fault the room. Breakfast and Dining area good. Staff couldn't do enough to help and very friendly. Would definately stay again.
Bus stop outside the hotel. Short ride away to the city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#10 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.