We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent to a point!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Galaxie Hotel to your Saves list
Galaxie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Hove
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent to a point!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

A very clean and efficient hotel with parking at the rear for those travelling by car. Just a few things to note. It is further out from the town centre than we would have liked, a good 30 to 40 minute walk along a busy main road although there is a bus stop right outside the hotel. No refreshments available during the day after breakfast but the shops and cafe's in Summertown are only a few minutes walk away. Breakfast is over by 9 am for guests but if you are staff you can get a hot breakfast at 9.45! A lay in on holiday is a must so make it 9.30 or better still 10am.

Apart from that it is a good place to stay and see the sights of Oxford.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    79
    39
    24
    20
See reviews for
26
76
22
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights during a trip to Oxford for work meetings at Oxford University. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with a large full length mirror and heated towel railings. I had a nice quite room (perfect for working) on the first ground floor, room 11, although I could hear the persons upstairs moving around all the time. The bedding was great and breakfast delicious, with a wide variety to choose from. Beautiful dining room - too bad no dinner is served here, I would definitely have made use of it. Easy walk to city center, otherwise the bus stop is right in front of the hotel and will get you to the center for £2. Also, a Costa, Tesco and Sainsbury's are located right down the road, as well as some other restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Hotel molto carino, pulitissimo in tutti gli ambienti. La stanza ero un po piccola ma ben arredata con un bel bagno. Molto bella la sala relax dove di mattina servono un'ottima colazione si continentale che english breakfast. Per finire ottimo lo staff di giovani portoghesi! Non so il prezzo dato che ero spesato dall'azienda.

Very cosy and clean hotel....the room was just a bit small, but the design bathroom was really nice. There is a confortable living room where in the morning it's served a great continental and full english breakfast. Last but not least, the portougese staff was very nice and friendly. I don't know about the money value because I was a guest of my company. Excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crete
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I visited the Galaxie Hotel with a friend and we paid £100 each for 2 'single' rooms, albeit they each had a double bed. My room was excellent (if perhaps geared up for a male not a female as nowhere well lit to put on make up) and the hotel is great (well decorated,light and airy), and the staff are great too. However we arrived for breakfast at 8.45am and although we were offered endless refills of excellent coffee,by friendly and attentive staff, by 8.45am the cooked breakfast was extremely depleted. All that remained was a few rashers of bacon, scrambled egg, half a tomato and a sausage - not wonderful and no offer to replenish. However I would visit again and the parking is a real bonus. If only the Galaxie had a licence as a pre-dinner drink in the wonderful conservatory before going out for dinner (or a drink on returning from dinner) would make it almost perfect and would bring into use a room which is too lovely to only use for breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure that you ask for a room away from the lift shaft and away from the arch that cars drive th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Good for start to finish. Everything about this hotel is charming. The hotel has a bright and modern decor, with a lovely breakfast room overlooking the garden at the back of the hotel. The staff are friendly and more than helpful. Good range of food on offer at breakfast. Well worth a look at...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the Galaxia last weekend while visiting our Student nurse daughter, very handy for town and the museums .The rooms are not massive but perfectly fine, nice choice of shampoo etc,clean,comfy beds, helpful staff,car parking,breakfast buffet lovely. There must be something I was missing but I cant think what it was ,a bit like an Audi then ?.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffs
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel offers free parking, is about 15 minutes walk from the Centre of town, the rooms are clean albeit small and the hotel staff are really helpful.
We paid for a double room, only to find that there were two single beds pushed together with a double mattress topped placed over the top. The beds parted durning the night and had to be pushed back together several times, not a great night sleep at all

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#7 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.