We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such value for Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galaxie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Galaxie Hotel to your Saves list
Galaxie Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT , England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
155 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
241 helpful votes 241 helpful votes
“Such value for Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I go to Oxford often, so I know it, but I rarely stay over because of the costly hotels. I needed to stay on a Saturday, and decided on this one as it was within walking distance of where I needed to be (not to be sniffed at in Oxford). It is easy to find, and has a good car park. When I booked, I asked for one of the back bedrooms- it is a busy road out the front, and even at the back you will hear it. If you are a very light sleeper, take plugs or dont go! The room was spacious enough for me and one night, and was clean and tastefully appointed. The bathroom was small but well done, with a good shower, and decent toiletries. Bed was good and pillows not bad. The breakfast was served in a lovely area with, and here is the value plus, freshly squeezed juice and excellent, real, strong coffee. I think there was free wi-fi, but I didnt use it. There was fruit, croissants and the real English. It is easily walkable into Oxford, or on a bus route. The staff were friendly and helpful, and I have it marked down to stay again- I paid £85, a colleague paid £159 elsewhere in Oxford and did not have all that I did. I will return.

Room Tip: Light sleepers- go for the back; very very light sleepers, don't go. Top floor back would be bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    86
    39
    24
    20
See reviews for
27
85
24
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed as a party of 8 for work. I have to say the location was extremely convenient, situated on one of the main roads of Oxford. Nearby is everything you needed really, supermarkets, fashion stores and cafés, pubs and restaurants. The room itself was just gorgeous with stunning details. Ample parking and the shower and bed were absolutely fantastic. Would definitely stay here again. The juicer at breakfast was a personal highlight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Galaxie is conveniently located to Summertown with easy access into the Oxford city center. The check in process was a bit lengthy with the receptionist taking her time to firstly locate our reservation and then show us to our room. The rooms are fairly basic but are kept clean and tidy. The restaurant area was nice, light and airy with a good breakfast selection. Overall it was very functional, value for money and I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Reasonable small hotel on a very central road. It is clean and quiet (in the evening as during day its on a main road to oxford town centre) and very convenient location for oxford. Feels like its family run and the breakfast was pretty good which was a nice different from most hotels I stay in for work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here in September and chose this hotel mainly due to its location on Banbury Road. Easy to find and easy to get out of Oxford again.
Stayed on a Sunday night and as stated by another reviewer, no paperwork to complete, simply shown to our room. The elderly lady on reception just managed a "hello" to my partner only, but that was the end of the conversation.
From the outside it is a traditional brick building - use Google Streetview - but our room on the second floor at the front was a complete contrast. Suspended ceiling, concealed surround lighting, granite worktops and an ultra modern bathroom with a glass panel serving as a door, so no privacy which may be a problem for some - do you really want to hear your other half at the toilet? This was a huge room with a breakfast bar, sink, microwave and fridge which we assume is normally for self catering guests. The room was clean and comfortable except for the microwave with the remnants of the last occupant's food.
The windows are original sash type, single glazed and the road noise is horrendous. Passing buses - frequent on this road - do not allow for any relaxation and people walking past are clearly audible well after midnight.
As others have said, plenty of eating places within a couple of minutes walk in the Summertown area which is a pleasant area.
After a sleepless night we went down for breakfast at 8.50am. Not having been told that breakfast finishes at 9am we were instantly shown a table and by the time we had a quick look at the marine aquarium in the dining area, then the buffet to see what there was, our tea and coffee was waiting for us. The fastest service ever! For the next 10 minutes the staff raced around clearing, cleaning and resetting the tables around us ready for the next day's breakfasts. Just not what you need for a relaxing start to the day on holiday.
Check out was in the same vein, rushed and chaotic.
In summary - Bad points: no welcome; no information; terrible road noise; no bathroom door; rushed service.
Good points - large comfortable room; location very convenient.

Room Tip: Unless you are deaf, do not take a front room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

The hotel is a good base for a stay in Oxford. Rooms are comfortable if small (though traffic is noisy - take earplugs or ask for a room at the back!) Staff helpful and pleasant - lovely conservatory area for breakfast for which they provide a variety of good food and a beautiful garden to sit in. Restaurants in Summertown within walking distance and a bus stop just outside from which frequent buses go into Oxford centre so you can leave your car in the hotel carpark avoiding traffic and hefty parking charges.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights on business, whilst working nearby. Overall, it was more than satisfactory; good points include:
* The location in Summertown is great. On the main road (Banbury Rd) so it's easy to get into Oxford by bus (or in my case, out in the other direction by bus). There are lots of nice restaurants within 5-10 minutes walk, at least one pub and plenty of shops.
* The garden out the back is delightful. Me and my colleagues bought a bottle of wine from the (very nearby) supermarket and sat in the garden on a sunny evening for a pre-dinner 'meeting'. Very civilised.
* The room I had was nicely decorated in a fresh, modern style, and the shower room was large, clean and well lit with a big mirror and good toiletries.
The not-so-good:
* When I arrived, there was no-one at reception but I could see a young woman sitting through the doorway to the rear of the desk. She looked at me and carried on talking to someone else inside the room. I tried to attract her attention and she just looked at me and pointed back into the room (presumably at her colleague). A few moments passed and her colleague eventually came out and 'checked me in' - asked me my name, gave me a key and pointed me towards the lift. No paperwork was exchanged, I didn't sign anything or hand over a credit card or payment of any kind. Very odd and all rather offhand.
* The room itself was very small - the double bed took up most of the floor space, with just enough room to walk around it. The 'desk' (which I needed as I was there on business) was shelf along one wall. As a 5ft/152cm woman, I could actually function ok in there, but a six foot rugby player would definitely struggle!
* My room (on the 2nd floor) was to the side, with a view of walls and car park. Looking out of window allowed me to look directly into the room at right angles! If I had needed the windows (i.e. in warmer weather) it would have been very noisy - both from traffic noise and people entering/leaving the hotel car park below.
This could be a really nice place to stay, but the staff need to be a little more on-the-ball and I recommend ensuring you get a large room at the rear.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back avoid road noise and look over the lovely garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Galaxie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galaxie Hotel

Address: 180 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7BT , England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#10 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Galaxie Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Galaxie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galaxie Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galaxie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.