We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well where do I start!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Well where do I start!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We arrived on Saturday the 12th of April, check in was easy.. Finding the room was a different story.. They pointed to where ALL the rooms where and said all the rooms are down the corridor, no directions or anything about what floor we were on, so wasn't easy to find, once we got into the room we noticed the window was open and room was freezing.. so tried to close the window which seemed to be broken as it just wouldn't shut! We went back downstairs and told them about the window at reception, when the man told us he would go up and do it in 5 minuets which wasn't a problem as we were going out to the town so search for a restaurant to go to for dinner that night.. After 1 hour and a half we got back to put hotel.. Walked into our room to our surprise it was still open and room was still freezing.. I wasn't walking all that way back down their so I called reception and told them AGAIN!! And then after 30 more minuets no one had come up! So I called and told them AGAIN.. Only over 2 hours from when we told them someone came up and finally closed it for us..


The room wasn't 4 star it was dirty/dusty and had a fag burn in the curtains.. Nice 4* quality nets! The wardrobe only had one door on the other was missing.. So couldn't shut our clothes and things away..

On the night they also had a party in one of their function rooms which blasted music till at least 12,

The swimming pool facilities were shocking they had 2 sun beds to put towels etc on and lay on. The pool was as big as our room.. (Tiny) again disappointing

The bar over charged us.. And didn't realise till we got back to the room and looked at the menu as was very expensive for what we had so I called up the reception explained the situation to them to hear that they would have to investigate.. In which they still hadn't called back or let me know until the next morning when I went to reception to ask what they were doing about it when no one again knew anything about it so they ended up just giving it off of the room price. Which was fair enough but that was only because I followed it up again..

This hotel defiantly was disappointing specially as it was me and my partners anniversary . All of this for 159 a night well I know where I will not be going again please stay away if u want a nice romantic get away!! Not the place for you!! Very disappointed really wanted it to be perfect!! But was far from it!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments which will be investigated to avoid any repetition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    304
    228
    88
    52
See reviews for
90
386
17
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

A good location for exploring Oxford, nice clean rooms, professional staff. Breakfast was very good, would stay again and soon. Spa was worth a visit even if the pool is a little small nice sauna and steam room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

Very nice Hotel with friendly and highly efficient staffs. Food selection was great, good location, Good Leisure and spa facilities.
This hotel is more suitable for business customers but still very good in meeting non-business users needs.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very welcoming friendly receptionist. Directions to room was easy to follow, room very spacious and clean, restaurant/bar food excellent, all staff were attentive. We felt so relax will defiantly return.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel. The team were delighted to receive your recognition of their service, we look forward to welcoming you back to the Oxford Hotel on the next occasion.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Excellent hotel on the outskirts of Oxford. Hotel food and accommodation very good. Small indoor pool and keep fit area. Easy bus ride to city centre, bust stops right outside and runs every 15 minutes. Modern business hotel. Bar and food good. Room and bathroom good.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Booked this hotel for my partners birthday with dinner and wine offer.

Part of the reason for booking was the hotel was just outside Oxford and wanted to catch the bus into town with little fuss.

Arrived at the hotel early and the room was not ready (we did arrive at 11am) so was not worried. Asked reception for bus details and directed with ease to the nearest bus stop. There are a number of regular buses into town for £3.30 return. The park and ride for a couple is actually the same price for reference.

Hotel room was nice and clean, upgraded the room after reading previous reviews on size, but to be honest for one night was probably a waste. Room was good size, plenty of towels and drinks etc and no complaints at all from me.

Took a swim in the afternoon, pool was small but large enough for our needs. Provided free towels from the leisure assistant with no fuss. Also enjoyed the steam room and sauna.

We had also booked dinner so enjoyed cocktails in the bar then proceeded up to dinner. Three course set meal was nice and tasty, although my duck main was slightly small in portion size! The terrine starter was more filling than expected so kinda evened out. Nice chocolate dessert and then back to the bar for more drinks.

My only slight niggle during dinner was being asked several times by several different people if everything was ok, yes it was lovely (thanks for asking again)

Breakfast was lovely, standard selection of english, pasties, fruit etc all nicely presented and hot (where required)

Cant fault the service received during my one night stay....helpful reception staff, friendly bar and waitress staff and generally a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: I upgraded to a premium room and was allocated room 127,
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us, I am pleased to hear you had an enjoyable experience here at The Oxford Hotel.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Using the Oxford Hotel at the recommendation of a friend. We went as visitors to Oxford city. The hotel is large and impersonal but the staff are welcoming. Appreciating that it is common practice to take a visitor's card details we did not appreciate the immediate £50 billing. At the end of our visit this was not cancelled but a further full billing was taken. The itemisation of that final billing was incomprehensible. The staff were reassuring but were equally unable to explain the statement. In part this related to the restaurant where for an additional £12.50 one could go a la carte. Except the menu stated £12 per head. Everything was vague. The food and service however were superb. Would we go again? Probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, we acknowledge your comments and will review these in detail to make improvements for the future.

Nigel Hadfield
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Oxford Hotel has 168 contemporary rooms and is just two miles from the beautiful and historic Oxford city centre. Perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and the Cotswold countryside means you can wander through the spires of Oxford University's ancient colleges, and explore the relics in The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology.You can also shop at the designer outlet stores in Bicester Shopping Village. You can also relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room, get pampered in the beauty rooms and enjoy award-winning food in the AA Rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.