We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Oxford Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“The Oxford Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

If you are staying for a few days this Hotel is handy for the City of Oxford,best get the bus into town the number 6 bus.As far as the hotel is concerned found the rooms to be very spacious,all mod-cons so to speak,lashings of hot- water,check in very easy just sign your name,breakfast has a good choice and found the staff very helpful in all aspects. Any downsides well there could have been more staff on duty in the bar as sometimes they were occupied doing drinks for the restaurant but that is only a minor criticism. Altogether if visiting Oxford again would stay here.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our bedrooms, breakfast and helpful staff. It is great to read that you will stay again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    213
    358
    247
    104
    62
See reviews for
100
455
19
179
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend away with friends for 2nights. For a 4star hotel it was dissaointing the room was small and dark . The heating albeit effective was very noisy .
We had a meal the first night in the hotel but if it really is AA rosette rated they need to come back and check the quality! The side orders of vegetables were very poor . I had pork which was over cooked and dry friends had sea bass but the portions were small and my husbands steak ribeye was as he said' nothing special" breakfast however was quite good although most of the fruit was clearly canned fruit.
My husband did use yhe fitness suite in the mornings which he described as adequate but not to the standard of other 4 stat hotels we have stsyed at.
On checking out do scrutinise your bill ...we checked ours which included items priced for a time before our arrival.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for all your comments - all feedback is highly valued and always fully reviewed. We all regret that you had negative points that impacted your enjoyment. We have a variety of bedrooms sizes and a range of facilities for guests to enjoy. We are pleased that you enjoyed breakfast. We do hope that you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The room was not dirty, but was very shabby - far lower quality than a Premier Inn or similar, and looked as though it was last decorated sometime during the eighties. Unfortunately, rather than the £50 it was probably worth, it cost us £183 for a Saturday night stay, so I do feel pretty ripped off. Our room was also absolutely miles from reception, down a very damp-smelling corridor. And the bed was much smaller than most hotels. I don't know if we just had one of the worst rooms, but in that case, they really had a cheek charging us so much for it.

The breakfast was not great either - the cooked breakfast was ok, but it's a bit DIY, and don't expect fresh coffee (there's a machine with a big queue). It's all a bit like a service station.

Overall, I definitely wouldn't recommend the hotel at the prices they charge. I'm sure you could get much better elsewhere in Oxford.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We all regret that there was nothing at all worthy of positive feedback. All your comments are valued and reviewed. We have a range of bedroom sizes and locations around the hotel. We are a low-level building and offer standard bedrooms with standard double beds, along with Queen sized and King sized bedrooms. We are well reputed as a good value hotel in Oxford and our best rates are available the earlier a booking is made. Our new coffee facility at breakfast is freshly ground bean-to-cup with a selection of styles from high quality machines, instead of bulk-brewed coffee from pre-packed ground coffee. We are sorry that you were disappointed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbledon
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Reception staff were extremely helpful and friendly, our room was lovely and clean and modern and the beds really comfortable. Breakfast was great and lots of choice. Buffet style worked well for us as we didn't have a lot of time. We had lunch in the restaurant which was very good but very expensive for what it was.

One thing I would say is the duty manager at the time let the reception down (weekend of 16-17 Nov). The other staff were great, but we asked one thing of him and he seemed to be on a bit of a power trip. I also overheard him speaking to another guest when we were checking out and he hadn't improved.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your very positive review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our staff, your room, our cleanliness and good beds. It is great to read that you enjoyed breakfast. All your comments are appreciated and are fully reviewed and followed-up with the team here. Thanks again and we do hope that you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martock, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Tiny rooms, tiny beds, rubbish showers, noise from the road, terrible customer service. We were on a tour of Europe and had stayed in 20 hotels previous to this one. This was, hands down, the most disappointing. It is also a fair way from the centre and the rooms themselves are a taxi ride from reception! It is shabby and I can only think it has 4 stars because of the gym etc. I will never stay in a Puma Hotel again.

Room Tip: A bit like Easyjet you need to pay extra for a decent room and definitely ask for one CLOSE to recep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
We all regret that so many aspects of your visit caused such negativity. We would never intend any guest to be disappointed. We offer a range of rooms, bed sizes and facilities appropriate to our star rating in this low-level hotel complex. Our customer service is frequently the subject of compliment and we are all sorry that this was not the case for you. Our location is clearly stated and bus transport is just outside the hotel for the City centre. We appreciate your comments and regret that you will not return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I stayed here for two nights on business. Check in was speedy, efficient and friendly. The room was comfortable although lacking a bit of TLC (scuffed paintwork, paint peeling off skirting board and a nail in the wall to hold the curtain tie-backs), but was spotlessly clean. Room service was quick and the food piping hot and had a lovely dinner in the restaurant on the second night. Breakfast offered a good choice too. Would definitely stay there again. The hotel is not in the centre of Oxford so be prepared to get taxi/bus if you want to visit the city centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are all very pleased that your enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our friendly and efficient service, comfort and cleanliness along with the food you enjoyed. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed here for a girls weekend recently and was disappointed in some aspects. The rooms were very clean and spacious and the beds were comfortable. I found the reception staff to be helpful personally but some of my friends were less impressed- for example my pregnant friend having to repeatedly ask for help with her bags with a rather reluctant response.

We had spa treatments which were very well-delivered and most of the spa staff were professional and friendly. However, one particular woman was unable to explain how to use the lockers and made no effort to find out for us. The spa area itself was a total disappointment- unlike most spas, the pool area was incredibly cold and there were only two seats for lounging around on in spa-like style. Our time in the pool was spent pressed against the sides as swimming lesson after swimming lesson for small child after small child splashed past us. Given that it's a small pool- this didn't really make for a relaxing time. We were also rather surprised to be told that robes had to be hired and that even if we wanted to hire one we couldn't as they had all been taken already. Poor, especially given the arctic conditions of the pool area.

We were then further disappointed that were not able to have lunch in the hotel as there was a conference taking up the whole dining area. We really felt that this could have been mentioned at check in on the previous day, so we could have made alternative plans rather than having to grab a last minute sandwich. It was especially disappointing as we had so enjoyed the delicious dinner in there the night before. The breakfast was also very good but had a strange lack of yoghurt to go with all the fruit.

All in all, if you spend time here, you will be comfortable and if you manage to get into the restaurant, well-fed. However, don't expect even the most basic relaxing spa facilities that you get in similar hotels as this falls way below par in comparison. Unless of course you like being splashed by small children learning to swim as part of your experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for all your detailed comments - all highly valued and fully reviewed with the team here. We are all pleased that you enjoyed many aspects of the Hotel and that you wanted to compliment our rooms, cleanliness, friendly staff, dinner and breakfast. We all regret that our Leisure Club was not as you expected. We would never want anyone to be misled and all our facilities are detailed on our website. We appreciate there were other points that impacted your enjoyment for us to review and improve upon. Thanks again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Oxford Hotel has 168 contemporary rooms and is just two miles from the beautiful and historic Oxford city centre. Perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and the Cotswold countryside means you can wander through the spires of Oxford University's ancient colleges, and explore the relics in The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology.You can also shop at the designer outlet stores in Bicester Shopping Village. You can also relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room, get pampered in the beauty rooms and enjoy award-winning food in the AA Rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.