We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service, they just dont care!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 43 hotels in Oxford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Terrible service, they just dont care!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I visited the Oxford for the 2nd time in a year, the first time being about 10 months ago whilst it was still part of the Barcelo group. I attended an Open Univeristy MBA tutorial at the hotel. The first time, I was pleasantly surprise by the quality of the buffet lunch, and the good service we received. The 2nd time however, more recently and since it had been taken over by Puma hotels, it was absolutely dire.
On arrival, the coffee machine was broken. In addition, there were no morning snacks that they had previously provided (people travelling miles from all over the country). When I finally managed to find someone to help, the gentleman, although friendly, brought over a flask of coffee. I drink my coffee white, however I have never seen milk turn coffee grey! needless to say, I left it! Eventually the coffee machine worked for 5 minutes and then broke again, at least I managed to get some cafeen unlike some of my fellow students.
Lunch was appaulling, terrible excuse for a buffet lunch. A few sandwiches (I could not tell if my filling was chicken or fish, seriously!!!) and a bowl of crisps, unlike the excellent buffet we had received last time....
And to make matters worse... 4 hours later at 4pm, all the leftovers and dirty plates were still left in the coffee area where the lunch had been served. Nobody had been bothered to come and clear up.
Puma hotels, what are you doing?!
We were a group of 20 or so MBA students, all business professionals, representing a large proportion of UK companies, possibly future business, and we are treated like rats... shame on you!
Do not book a meeting or conference here, they are incapable of providing even the most basic service.... money would be better well spent at a premier inn!
I cannot comment on the rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for all your comments - all feedback is taken most seriously and fully reviewed. I am pleased that you provided enough detail for us to identify which course you attended. The unplanned malfunction of a coffee machine is regrettable and freshly brewed filter coffee was provided to your group and to others. We are all sorry for the frustration caused and that you considered it unable to drink. While your course provider may have ordered more food options and a buffet in the past, your sandwiches were what was ordered this time, I am sorry that you felt we had in some way declined in our lunch offering, however we delivered what was ordered – had an extensive buffet lunch been ordered we would have indeed delivered that. We all regret the impression created.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    240
    173
    74
    34
See reviews for
78
289
14
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
redbridge
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Booked through Superbreak 2 nights b&b with 3 a course dinner on the first night. We arrived at lunchtime and was warmly greeted by reception. Checked and the room was ready for us. We had requested a quiet room and it was. Room 256 was at the far end of the hotel, along a corridor then down 6 steps followed by a shorter corridor and finally up 6 steps. A quick look around both room and bathroom and everything was in good order, size, nice and clean. with a good range of free toiletries provided. Not modern but more than pleasant enough and 2 seats which makes a nice change.
We had dinner on the 1st night which was we enjoyed so much that we ate in the restaurant the following night, not part of the deal. Was not cheap but I think very good value. Service was excellent both nights.
The public area is very good and well kept. A very large free car park for residents. Free internet available with good speed. Free sauna and jacuzzi.
There is a bus stop just a few minutes walk that goes into the city centre. Very cheap for a 24hr ticket.
Overall - Highly recommend and would go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive review - it is great to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Oxford and that you wanted to compliment various aspects of the Hotel including our cleanliness, bedroom standards and your great dinner experience with excellent service that made you want to return a second night. We are pleased that you enjoyed our good value, free parking and free Wifi. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Very comfortable stay, all staff friendly and helpful. Bar food has improved dramatically, presentation, portion size and taste was excellent.

Bedrooms spacious, comfortable beds and very clean. Great selection of drinks on the tea tray.

Would definitly stay again.

Room Tip: Upgrade to a Premium room if not before but on check in if they are available, huge beds, loads of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you can see the positive changes that show our continued improvement. Great to read that you enjoyed our bedrooms, friendly staff and good food. We have our new Restaurant menu launching in the days ahead and we do hope that you will return soon. Thank you for the compliments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Why on earth would you decide to stay here when visiting magnificent Oxford? This hotel is miles outside the city! Unless you're overnighting from A to B and the mid point is Kidlington, in which case it's well served by various dual-carriageways but be under no illusion as to its setting: next to a 5-way roundabout, backing onto the A34, a BP petrol station forecourt within a stone's throw; if I brought my wife here for a "romantic break in Oxford" I'd rightly deserve a major hand-bagging. This is a business hotel although frankly it's not very alluring even for business people. The room I was put in was miles and miles down corridors, negotiating fire doors and steps every 20 yards, not exactly ideal for the traveller with suitcases. The bar was totally dead and without any atmosphere at all; breakfast was a self-service bun fight. The room was a bit shabby but the price was 'average' so I suppose you get what you pay fore. Overall a wholly underwhelming and average place for the lost souls of business. The only saving grace: friendly staff and being within walking distance to The Trout Inn, where I'd recommend all guests at the "Oxford" hotel (in Kidlington) spend their evening instead...

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues make it known because some rooms are miles away from reception up and d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review - all Tripadvisor traveller comments are valued and fully reviewed. Sorry to read your points about The Oxford Hotel and your disappointment. We regret the impression created. We are within the City of Oxford, not Kidlington, 2.5miles from the City centre along the Woodstock Road. Our location is not something we try to hide and is clearly stated. We are one of the City's largest and busiest hotels and we all regret the descriptions you have used. It is very pleasing that you wanted to compliment our friendly staff, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We had a really comfortable stay at the, very clean, good food, all you can eat breakfast included in our stay. Though it isn't situated in the centre of Oxford it is only a few minutes away, and there is a very frequent bus service to and from the hotel.
The staff were very helpful and if I was going to Oxford again I would use the hotel again.
I haven't rated the spa because we didn't use it but I'm sure it would be at the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Many thanks for your very positive review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our cleanliness, good food and helpful staff. We do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel is nothing special, fine for one night when visiting Oxford on business. Rooms are fairly standard and averga size. Breakfast is buffet style and despite being in the restuarant at 7am (when breakfast starts being served) the suasages were burned. Also the fruit salad appeared not to be that fresh. On checking out the receptioist tried to charge me for the the room despite the room having been paid for in advance and she did not acknowldge this not apologise for the mistake.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. All feedback is fully reviewed and we all regret that there was a billing error as you checked-out. We do hope you will return to enjoy another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This hotel from check in to check out was faultless - the friendly and cheerful receptionist Sarah was an asset to your hotel she was so helpful and kind and definately deserves this recognition as were the 2 beauty therapists Sam and Libby (i think) all in all our stay was well catered for and felt that we were the only ones in the hotel thats how well the service was from room service to breakfast - all staff members we so attentive in all key aspects - will definately recommend this hotel to my family and friends!!

THANK YOU TO ALL FOR MAKING MY SPA WEEKEND ONE TO REMEMBER!!!!

Room Tip: no tip needed this hotel is amazing any room would be a pleasure to stay in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you very much for this excellent review - everyone at The Oxford is delighted that your visit was a great one and that you wanted to compliment our friendly and helpful team. Great service attention makes all the difference and we thank you for all your comments. We all look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Oxford Hotel has 168 contemporary rooms and is just two miles from the beautiful and historic Oxford city centre. Perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and the Cotswold countryside means you can wander through the spires of Oxford University's ancient colleges, and explore the relics in The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology.You can also shop at the designer outlet stores in Bicester Shopping Village. You can also relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room, get pampered in the beauty rooms and enjoy award-winning food in the AA Rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.