We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

excellent rooms, large, quiet and comfortable. Staff are superb,very friendly and helpful, could improve by extending the breakfast menu, it is self service but limited in options, if you like the full english youre OK, but otherwise its cornflake, rice krispies, bran flakes, toast and the regular pastries.
great location, as well

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit to The Oxford and that you wanted to compliment our facilities, location, comfort and superb staff - praise indeed. In addition to your points, breakfast here does also offer a variety of fruit selections, cheese, cold fish and meat selections. We all hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    302
    226
    88
    52
See reviews for
89
382
17
160
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

The rooms are fairly basic but were clean. There was a air conditioning unit just below our window that hummed away all night and there was a lot of road noise from the nearby road. However the key negative were the staff who were not overly helpful. It is not a hotel I would go back to.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We all regret that your room location caused issues for you. Very sorry to read that you were disappointed with the staff you experienced here - normally the subject of compliment on this site. We do hope that you will indeed return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

stayed at the Oxford Hotel in Oxford, just for one night whilst working at the hotel for a client during a seminar. I cannot fault the attention to detail and pleasant attitude of all the staff whom were all more than helpful right down to asking for an adaptor from reception for my client ....thank you Tori. The rooms are excellent great tv which is huge compared to most hotels and all other amenities the room are great too. I did not get chance for the pool/leisure area as I was busy working. Breakfast good, well above average and all in all cant place anything negative really would definately stay here again and would recommend to anyone. The management must take credit for all the staffs attitude and welcoming smiles and politeness a rare thing to be honest in most hotels these days.......Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Many thanks for your very positive review - we are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit with us and that you wanted to compliment the pleasant and helpful staff, our rooms, TVs and breakfast. We know that other readers will value your comments. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke Upon Trent
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Oxford packages make this an Excellent choice for visiting Oxford.
The Hotel facilities are excellent and the staff very helpful and friendly.
The Hotel is located some distance from the cenre but this inconvenience is outweighed by the price, the availability of public transport and not having to pay for parking, or drive, in Oxford both of which are a nightmare.
I would recomend this hotel

Room Tip: We have stayed here often and not had a room that was not clean well furnished and decorated and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your very positive review. It is great to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our facilities, helpful and friendly staff, our great value, free parking and consistent cleanliness. Many thanks for all your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

There are several things I absolutely have to have when I stay in a hotel. A comfortable bed with good quality, crisp linen, fluffy towels, powerful shower, decent TV choices, a sensible hairdryer located near a mirror, and an overall room temperature on the cool side of comfortable. Everything else - luxury bath robes, chocolates on the pillow, concierge service, spa facilities - I can happily live without.
On that reckoning I have to admit The Oxford Hotel ticks all the boxes. Service was friendly and efficient rather than elaborate, the bar was reasonable, if a little pricey, and there was a health club in the basement that, whilst not luxurious, was adequate. Adequate is a useful word to describe this hotel, actually.
A comfortable, welcoming stopover hotel ideally situated for exploring Oxford with that rarest of things in this University town - ample free parking.
If I wanted to be critical, I would say the entry foyer, as others have remarked, is oddly laid out - you walk straight into a large coffee area with the reception desk off to the left. It feels a lot like a motorway service station as a result. The restaurant, all plastic and tubular steel with abstract 'poster art' on the walls is charmless and feels like a canteen, but the food is good and reasonably priced. The restaurant manager had taken the time to learn my sons' names and had a chat with them when we arrived for dinner, which was a nice touch, although service in the restaurant was pretty slow.
This is obviously a popular hotel for stag and hen parties, there were at least 3 in residence during our stay, judging by the number of naughty nurse and bondage cowboy outfits on display in the bar in the early evening (I had to explain to my 9 year old why one man was wearing backless chaps a false moustache and a leather peaked cap ) and the next morning the massive queue to check out was a bit irritating, although it was dealt with efficiently by the two receptionists.
We stay in Oxford a fair bit as we have a daughter at school in the city, and we've tried various hotels and B&Bs, including the Randolph and all in all I think we'll return to The Oxford. It isn't in the same league as The Randolph, which is a really beautiful 'destination' hotel, full of old fashioned charm and style. When you stay at The Randolph you feel like you're really treating yourself, whereas staying at The Oxford just feels like it's a good alternative to a B&B.
Is it really four star? Probably not, I'd give it a generous three though and I'm happy to recommend it.
Incidentally when I got home I discovered I'd left my nightie at the hotel, I emailed reception straight away but have yet to receive a reply. I'm intrigued to discover whether I ever see my nightie again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Many thanks for your extensive review. All Tripadvisor traveller feedback is highly valued and fully reviewed. I know that it is all a matter of personal taste and we would never suggest that we are in anyway offering a city centre, five star, heritage experience. We are one of the largest and busiest hotels in our class in Oxford, with a strong reputation for good value and we attract every possible type of guest - including celebration groups. It is great to read that we ticked all the boxes for you and that you wanted to compliment our friendly service and our welcoming and comfortable style. All our facilities are appropriate to our star rating and we are delighted that you would both recommend The Oxford and indeed return. As for your nightie - we don't seem to have any e-mail, which I regret. Please do make contact with me so that we might be able to check if your nightie was recovered. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

we were not expecting a huge amount from this hotel as i thought it was mainly a conference type hotel but we were very pleasantly surprised, the room was spacious, the bed was huge, the bathroom was lovely and clean with a great power shower. Dinner was lovely with the choice of buffet or al a carte and the staff in the restaurant were very helpful.
Breakfast was buffet style but even for a sunday morning they coped very well with amount of guests and there was always hot food out.
Getting into oxford was a breeze, there is a bus stop just outside the hotel whichc takes you right into the centre, very cheap, no fuss!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your positive review. We are all delighted that you really enjoyed your visit and that your wanted to compliment our rooms, bed, bathroom, cleanliness, along with dinner, breakfast and our helpful staff. We look forward to welcoming you back. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

£5 to get a delivery of water was a bit too much, no slippers or dressing gown in room as stated on their own web site, requested them from reception twice to find out there are none in this hotel..:-(
Room very tidy and staff are polite, we would come back again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is great to read that you would come back, despite the hitch with the gowns and slippers requested not being available. We do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Oxford Hotel has 168 contemporary rooms and is just two miles from the beautiful and historic Oxford city centre. Perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and the Cotswold countryside means you can wander through the spires of Oxford University's ancient colleges, and explore the relics in The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology.You can also shop at the designer outlet stores in Bicester Shopping Village. You can also relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room, get pampered in the beauty rooms and enjoy award-winning food in the AA Rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.