We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, pleasant hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
England
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly, pleasant hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

The Oxford Hotel was extremely was ideally located for us and was easy to find. It has a large car park which still had spaces despite the hotel being fully booked.
On entering the building the first thing you see is a coffee bar. Reception is off to the left. It would look much nicer if these were swapped round. However, that is only a minor point.
The staff were friendly, if reluctant to finish their own conversation between themselves to deal with us. We were given most of the information we needed but were not told until too late that the restaurant was fully booked. Luckily the bar serves meals as well.
We found our room easily but did meet many people who were lost during our visit!
Our room was not large but was no smaller than those found in many other similar styles of hotel. It reminded me very much of the smaller Holiday Inn rooms I have stayed in. It contained all of the expected equipment and everything worked (though it was difficult to get rid of the sub titles on the tv). The bedside lights were very dim and we felt the room could have done with a bit more lighting. The bed was comfortable and there was no external noise. The only thing we had a problem with was the door outside our room which banged everytime someone went through it. Which they seemed to do a lot given there were not many rooms beyond ours!
As I mentioned, we were unable to eat in the restaurant as it was fully booked so we had a meal in the bar area. Again, the staff were very friendly and helpful. The food was fairly slow to arrive but was tasty and the portion size was large - neither of us finished our meal as we were so full!
We didn't use the pool at all but looked in - it is rather small!!
Breakfast was quite busy in the morning but empty dishes were re-filled reasonably quickly. The cooked breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Even my toast came out well!!
There was a large queue when we came to check out, then a fire alarm went off. We had nothing to pay or sort out so we just gave over our key and left.
All in all, I would use the hotel again. The food was fine and breakfast plentiful. The rooms were compact but well equiped and the beds comfortable. We were not worried about the distance to the town centre as there are buses and a park and ride nearby.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. All your comments are highly valued and fully reviewed. Thank you for complimenting our friendly staff, tasty food, good breakfast and good location. We hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    304
    227
    88
    52
See reviews for
90
384
17
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

An excellent hotel to stay for a short break in Oxford. Easy to find location close to the motorway. Very modern appearance with a large open foyer area and welcoming staff who told us about the very good local transport system. The hotel is situated near a park n ride area, but the staff were most and informative, telling us about the nearby local bus stop just outside the hotel going into town. We purchased a 23 hr ticket for £4 each and travelled into town along a pleasant looking, with a good bird's eye view into some attractive town properties, returned, then back into town in the evening, to return and take another trip into town the next morning. All for about 80p a trip, not bad. Breakfast in a light filled restaurant with courteous staf and good array of breakfast food. Excellent value.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our helpful, friendly staff, our location, breakfast and our excellent value. Greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Myself and three friends have just returned from a weekend break at The Oxford Hotel - while I had a lovely time, I felt I really needed to write a review principally to say that this is relatively nice hotel - but it is absolutely not a spa!

We booked this hotel through Wahanda as a spa mini break - I think it may even have been called 'The Girls Night In' package. One of us already lives in Oxford, so we were not coming just to use the hotel as a base for sightseeing - the entire reason for the trip was to have a relaxing spa break - lots of lazing in jacuzzi's, by the pool, and having lovely treatments, etc.

However, this proved to be impossible, as the spa facilities were a) dated, and b) minimal. There was one (rather small, rather cold) pool, with only two chairs next to it - taking into account there were four of us, along with the rest of the hotel, this meant sitting by the pool, having a read, etc, was impossible. The pool was adequate, but the pool area was not particularly nice or luxurious, and certainly nowhere you would want to stay for a prolonged period - the chairs they did have weren't overly comfy, the lighting was very harsh, it was quite cold in there, just not that pleasant.

There was a very dated, very small steam room next to the pool, which looked old and not all that clean, and an equally small sauna, which was set at 70 degrees and therefore not that hot, and that you were unable to add water to, therefore you couldn't make it any warmer - and that was it, there were no other facilities.

If you were staying in the hotel as you needed to be in Oxford for other reasons, sightseeing, shopping, etc, this would be absolutely fine, but it was just not a lovely spa! There was no nice waiting area, nowhere to sit and have a drink or some snacks, as I have done at actual spas - literally just a pool with no seating, a very small sauna, and a tiny steam room, none of which looked very nice!

One thing I must say though, is that the girl who did my treatments (I think she may have been called Louise?) was absolutely lovely - I had a really fantastic, very relaxing massage with lovely products. She also did my nails beautifully, and was so nice and friendly, she really made the day for me. The other three girls all had massages and facials with another girl, and all three said that theirs were amazing too, and that the massages were some of the best that they'd had.

The hotel itself was absolutely fine - our rooms were all very clean, the beds were comfy, the showers and bathrooms were great - modern, very clean, good showers. I wouldn't necessarily say this was a 4* hotel, as I didn't find it particularly luxurious, but everything was nice and clean and fairly modern. The TV's were large and had lots of channels - great for X factor and wine in pyjamas!

We had an evening meal as part of our package, which we also enjoyed. The restaurant staff were very attentive, provided us with excellent service, and the food was absolutely fine ( the blue cheese and pear tart was particularly amazing and we all enjoyed that very much!). Breakfast was also great the next day - a large selection, with lots of juices and hot drinks available.

All in all, this was an absolutely fine hotel - it isn't quite 4* in my opinion, but it works well as a base for Oxford or the surrounding area, and is clean, modern and has excellent staff. However, the spa facilities are really not up to scratch, and I think we all felt that, for the money we spent (£120 per person), we could have gone to an actual spa (which of course we thought that this was), and had a much nicer time, and got much more value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
All Tripadvisor traveller feedback is highly valued and fully reviewed. We all very much appreciate your balanced review and all the positive comments and compliments regarding the hotel generally, our cleanliness, bedrooms and bathrooms along with your evening meal, the staff and our great breakfast. All our facilities are appropriate to our four star rating. We all regret that you were disappointed by our Leisure Club and Beauty Room facilities - all of which are detailed on our hotel site, with links from other sites also. We will be reviewing the guidance and descriptions on the site you detailed as it is never our intention to mislead. We do not have a Jacuzzi and our facilities are limited.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Attended here on a conference, located on busy roundabout but with easy access to ring road around Oxford. Excellent as a business base but I think one could find better if staying for leisure purposes as large and impersonal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments and for considering The Oxford Hotel to be excellent as a business base, with our extensive conference facilities, good location and large free car park. We do hope that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is quite a hard review to write as the hotel room itself is quite nice. An average size room with tea/coffee making facilities, iron, hairdryer, tv etc. The beds are comfortable. Kind of 2 single beds pushed together to make a double with separate duvets but very comfortable. The bathroom is as you would expect for a hotel of this price. Contemporary large beige tiling with a bath and shower over. Fresh towels and a few toiletries provided.

However, my friend and I chose this hotel 2 weeks ago as it is listed as a spa hotel boasting luxurious treatments in a relaxing environment. This wasn't the case.

I am a seasoned spa weekender so anticipating it becoming busy at the weekend, emailed the spa a week in advance to book a pedicure and facial. I didn't hear back from them at all. I then phoned on the day of my travel to check this had been booked to be told that they were fully booked up in the beauty room and had been for 3 weeks. The attitude of the beautician on the phone was very offish and she had a bad attitude!! We were told we could still use the pool and spa facilities so that's what we did.

We entered the spa at 3pm and had left by 3.30pm! The pool is very small with a tiny steam room kind of bolted onto the side. A small showering area with rusty pipework and tiling which looks very tired and outdated. There are 2 treatment rooms which look smaller than my shed at home. The changing room is very cramped. The pool area needs a serious renovation. There were 2 chairs so if you seriously have nothing better to do with your time you could sit there, if you can get to the chairs!!

All in all very disappointing.

Breakfast was ok I suppose. Everything you could wish for, in a buffet style. What happened to good old fashioned waiter service!!??

I am actually glad there were no treatments available. I was not impressed with this facility and I fail to see how anyone could be impressed with it. My local Holiday Inn has a better facility and service.

We will be staying at the McDonald Randolph next time. Closer to town and much friendlier staff.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for all your comments - all Tripadvisor feedback is highly valued and always fully reviewed. We appreciate all the positive comments and compliments you wanted to give regarding the hotel generally, our bedrooms and bathrooms. Breakfast is an extensive buffet which we hope you did enjoy. We all regret that you were unable to book any treatments here. Our Beauty Rooms are popular and busy, however we are limited in the facilities we offer, with a splash pool, sauna, steam, squash and fitness suite - all of which are detailed on our site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We were very pleased with our room which was spacious, well laid out, modern decor, and clean. The view from the window was not a lot to shout about as we overlooked the roof of an adjacent building. It is conveniently located and there was plenty of parking. It was an easy bus journey into the centre of Oxford from just around the corner from the entrance to the hotel. Breakfast was a little chaotic as the restaurant become very crowded. The buffet spread was excellent with a reasonable choice for vegetarians.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Many thanks for your positive review. We are all very pleased that you enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our rooms, cleanliness, our location, free parking and our excellent breakfast. I am sure other readers will value your comments. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timperley, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I only stayed for one night, but the service was at an excellent standard, with friendly and efficient staff in all departments. Leisure facilities were also fantastic.
I couldn't fault this hotel in any way.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxfordgm1, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your very positive review. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your short visit and that you wanted to compliment the excellent service you received, our friendly and efficient staff and our leisure facilities. Greatly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Oxford Hotel has 168 contemporary rooms and is just two miles from the beautiful and historic Oxford city centre. Perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and the Cotswold countryside means you can wander through the spires of Oxford University's ancient colleges, and explore the relics in The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology.You can also shop at the designer outlet stores in Bicester Shopping Village. You can also relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room, get pampered in the beauty rooms and enjoy award-winning food in the AA Rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.