We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay - very helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
The Oxford Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Shipston on Stour, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay - very helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Phoned for early check in - they said yes. Good start.
Booked us taxi - came on time. Good.

Room was great - clean and good size. Good.

Cooked Breakfast a little disappointing (tired looking bacon and eggs). Other parts of breakfast were good. Slightly disappointing end.

I would definitely re-book here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for your positive review - very much appreciated. Thank you for complimenting our helpful service, bedroom and cleanliness. Our breakfast is usually worthy of compliment and I am sorry that it was in part disappointing. Great to read that you will stay again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    304
    227
    88
    52
See reviews for
90
383
17
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Loved staying at the Barcelo/Puma Hotel Oxford, staff very helpful and friendly! Our room was comfortable and very clean , the breakfast and service first class! The only downside was a safety issue in the splash pool, we had to leave within half an hour due to youngsters jumping in when the signs clearly indicated not to!

Otherwise, great! :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review - we are all delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you wanted to compliment our helpful and friendly staff, your bedroom, our cleanliness and our 'first class' breakfast. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCOTLAND
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

The bedrooms are adequate though no drawers! Only couple of shelves. Looking out at the other bedrooms it resembles a council block. Quiet enough though. Stayed in June and they had the heating turned off. Had to ask for a heater. Breakfasts were lovely. Plenty choice. Top quality. The hotel is very handy for the town, for those who don't know Oxford, it's just a straight drive in, easy road, parked at the bus station which is quite expensive but better than waiting on buses. No problem driving. Hotel car park is free. No information in bedrooms, had to ask reception times of breakfast and pool opening. Wee bit more information would be helpful. Had a lovely stay though and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordpa, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review - we are all delighted that you wanted to compliment our helpful and friendly staff, the room and cleanliness along with a great breakfast experience. My apologies for the issue in the pool and this has been addressed with the team to ensure that behaviour is managed correctly. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Arrived late due to dreadful jubilee weekend traffic! But receptionist pleasant and helpful. Had a drink at the bar which was busy for 11pm on a Friday night. The bar did cash up early but you could put drinks on room tab. Room appeared quite new and although the room was very spacious the bed was a small double, probably meant for a business guest and not a couple married for years! It was Cosy to say the least! Bathroom clean , no excessive noise at night and slept well. Breakfast had good variety, the view is not awe inspiring but the area spacious with plenty of seating. Possibly the worst cooked eggs both fried and scrambled I have ever eaten but otherwise enjoyable. Free wi fi , we were close to reception and checkout seamless. Would drop by again as is perfectly placed from motorway.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordpa, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are all delighted that you felt many aspects of the hotel worthy of compliment and we regret that eggs did not seem to be to our usual high standard for you. All your comments have been reviewed and it is great to read that you would stay again. Upgrades are available to rooms with Kingsize beds. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Travel lodge price, Hilton quality, just been taken over by Puma hotels. Everything was excellent, in particular the breakfast buffet and the free wifi throughout.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordpa, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Many thanks for your positive comments - delighted that you enjoyed your visit and that you found everything to be excellent, in particular our breakfast buffet and free wifi. Much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights on business.
It's about a tenner in a taxi to get to town, but Oxford is well worth a visit.
It's a nice hotel, comfy beds and good facilities, although it probably suffers for its size. (it seems to go on for ever!) Breakfasts are buffet tyle but very good.

Bar food took 45 minutes from ordering and was of so so quality, the curry had VERY watery rice and not cheap. Other orders were again OK but not brilliant. The bar as roating hot. They did have a barrel of cask ale on the bar which was good value which redeamed things somewhat. Although if you ordered, say, a vodka and coke they'd go straight for the Grey Goose and you pay through the nose. Be waned!

If you want a drink and food, I'd recommend taking a left out the hotel and walking down to the pub in the village (Wolvercote-scene of one of the Inspector Morse stories) Good food and drink with nice lounge. You could walk further and experience the grumpy bar man in the White Lion, but that's another story.

There was a problem on checkout when inclusives were charged as extras, but they resolved that pretty quickly.

So to summise, I'd stay there again if I had to, but would have prefered somewhere closer to Oxford if you want to see the sights. I'd eat and drink down the road, but would look forward to resting my head there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordpa, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review - all Tripadvisor traveller feedback is highly valued and fully reviewed. It is great that you found many aspects of The Oxford Hotel worthy of compliment and we all regret that your food was not as enjoyable as it should have been. There is a frequent bus service to the city centre from just outside the hotel that many guests use. We are proud to be recognised as one of the best value four star hotels in Oxford and it is good to read that you would stay again. Thank you for all your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A well run, well appointed hotel with friendly staff, good amenities (slightly odd leisure club but you get used to it) nice rooms and very good beds. On the downside it sprawls across what seems to be miles of countryside and I have paced a walk to one of the rooms I stayed in over the years to nearly 400 yards from the bar!
The location is good, with some good pubs a short walk away. Food is better than average, especially breakfast, and with a good deal you will not find a better 'big' hotel in North Oxford.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is near reception... I mean it... even with a wheely bag you lose the will to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordpa, General Manager at The Oxford Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review - all your comments are greatly appreciated. Thank you for complimenting the hotel generally, the friendly staff, bedrooms and beds. Sorry our low-level layout causes some frustration. Thank you for commenting on our great value - as we are proud to be recognised as one of the best value four star hotels in Oxford. I know other readers will value your comments. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oxford Hotel

Address: Godstow Road, Oxford OX2 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#11 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oxford Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star Oxford Hotel has 168 contemporary rooms and is just two miles from the beautiful and historic Oxford city centre. Perfectly located for holidays and short breaks in Oxford and the Cotswold countryside means you can wander through the spires of Oxford University's ancient colleges, and explore the relics in The Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology.You can also shop at the designer outlet stores in Bicester Shopping Village. You can also relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool, sauna and steam room, get pampered in the beauty rooms and enjoy award-winning food in the AA Rosette restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Oxford Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.