We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Indian food and well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shezan

Shezan
135 High Street | 1st Floor, Oxford OX1 4DN, England
01865 251600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 471 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Shezan stands on the 1st floor along a narrow passageway off the famous Oxford High Street. The premises are in use as dining rooms since 1915. No. 135 dates from the early eighteenth century. It is a grade ii listed building built c. 1679.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian food and well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Whilst roaming Oxford last week with my two work colleagues , we decided to track down a Indian restraunt . I used my app and have to say it was well worth it . Have been a curry eater for 30 years and this was up there with the very best .
Clean and tidy restraunt with helpful friendly staff , will be giving it another visit if I return to Oxford .
I you are visiting this beautiful city and like your Indian food this is a must !

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    33
    5
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cosy atmosphere, friendly staff, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My wife and I were visiting Oxford and wandering around town late in the evening and stumbled upon Shezan. It was a little hidden and the outside signage needed a little sprucing up but once inside... The decor is warm and relaxed, almost rustic. The staff were attentive without hovering and the food was probably amongst the best Indian food I've tasted; subtle flavors and the right balance of spices. We met the owner as we were leaving and he spent a bit of time with us explaining how the 20+ spices are mixed. Really nice experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A dead loss”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This was the most disappointing birthday meal to which I've ever treated myself. A fairly bland dhal with just the slightest zest of lemon, served with one chapati. No wonder I was the sole customer in the restaurant. It was a dead loss and cost ten pounds - a tiny bit of dhal and one chapati! I'll not be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fab curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Really good all round Indian restaurant with very attentive waiting staff and a good menu. very much enjoyed our meal here watching the world go by on the high street below . Would definitely go back here again on a future visit to Oxford

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent cusine, wonderful staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We have just returned from the Shezan and have yet again been delighted by the food, not a massive menu, yet still hard to choose a dish, it all sounds so yummy, and it really is very, very good, by far our favourite Indian restaurant in Oxford, this should be in the top 3 at least.....
Its dishes are unusual yet so lovingly prepared and thought about, its simply stunning. Can't recommend it enough, try it now!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shezan also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Shezan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shezan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.