We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Varied” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology

Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology
Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2PH, England
44-1865-278000
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$193*
and up
Private Tour: Cotswolds, Oxford and Blenheim...
Ranked #3 of 95 Attractions in Oxford
Type: Art Museums, History Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Oxford University's Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, established in 1683, is Britain’s oldest public museum and one of the oldest museums in the world.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent and Varied”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

New Egyptian displays terrific - the Uccello wonderful - and having a Vermeer on loan until June a totally unexpected delight. And visitors don't seem to know - first time I've had one to myself each time (kept returning) I had it to myself!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,114
    408
    80
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

very well laid out, modern and easy to view everything that is on show. Fantasic mix of things to see from all over the world. Each time I visit it is different. Great place to spend a few hours whilst in Oxford

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“First Class and Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Visited Oxford on a very cold Sunday this weekend. Walking into the Ashmolean Museum was a revelation, not only is it free (contributions instead) but the quality of exhibits and how beautifully they are displayed is second to none. One trip is not enough we only had time to visit the basement floor showing antiquities and the Egyptian area. I was fascinated by the 'mummies' and the short films showing the mummification process. The cafe sells good quality reasonably priced food and drink. There is a roof top restaurant as well but we didn't visit that, saving it for the next time, as there most certainly will.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, PA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful in every way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's not easy to impress a visitor in a city as gorgeous as Oxford, but the Ashmolean certainly does. The comprehensive collection is housed in a university museum, but instead of feeling stuffy and unwelcoming it pulls you in and makes you feel like it's all yours. And, it's free like so many UK museums. The Western Art collection is stunning. Renaissance paintings and drawings are a strength, but, unsurprisingly, so is British nineteenth century art, We love Constable and the Pre-Raphalites. The museum restaurant is terrific but then, so is the King's Arms or The Turf or The Bear...all pubs in town. A great walking town.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fascinating museum, but far too much to see in one visit. Particularly liked the Cypriot finds - from places I know very well. The basement cafe provided good quality food at reasonable prices. I'm glad that there is no charge for entry (donation box instead) as this would encourage me to return for repeat visits.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology also viewed

 

Been to Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashmolean Museum of Art and Archaeology, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.