We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base to explore Oxford” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blenheim Edge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Blenheim Edge Guest House to your Saves list
Blenheim Edge Guest House
226 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Nr Woodstock, Oxford OX5 1PP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 82 Oxford B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Perfect base to explore Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed two nights here and it was a perfect spot for getting the short bus ride into Oxford, thus avoiding the worry about parking the car. On our second day we drove to some of the Cotswold villages which were easily accessible. Tanya and Simon are great hosts and we felt very welcome. The room was immaculately clean and well decorated. The large fluffy towels were changed daily, bottled water was provided and the bed was very comfortable. There was plenty of hot water and good toiletries provided. We did not find there was much road noise even though our room was at the front of the house. The breakfast was wonderful and freshly cooked to order. There was also cereal, yoghurt, fresh juice and homemade plum jam for toast. We enjoyed staying here and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
74
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were fortunate to come upon the Blenheim Edge as our base for a three week visit to Oxford. This was a challenge for both ourselves and Tanya and Simon as they had not had to host a couple for such a long period of time. In the course of the three weeks we stayed in all of their rooms except one!

We found all the rooms exceptionally clean, well maintained and comfortable. Both Tanya and Simon were excellent hosts and went out of their way to be flexible and cheerful in providing us with accommodation as we changed our schedule. They provided a first rate breakfast menu with plenty of variation.

There is a very good bus service to the centre of Oxford as well as a selection of "Pubs", including the Royal Sun with an excellent menu, for evening meals. Blenheim
Edge is well worth a visit if you are looking for accommodation in the Woodstock/Oxford area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Blenheim's Edge Guest House for two nights in early September in the deluxe en suite room, which faces a charming field on the back of the house. The room and en suite were modern, spotless, very comfortable, and extremely quiet. The location of Blenheim's Edge was perfect for our visits to both Blenheim and Oxford. We came from the Cotswolds on the Stagecoach #S3 bus, which stopped just a couple of minutes from Blenheim’s Edge. We bought Dayrider passes on the S3 bus and used them to go to Blenheim, Oxford, and to the two excellent pubs Tanya recommended. Although we arrived long before our scheduled arrival time, Tanya showed us our room, and let us leave our luggage. She also made sure that we had the bus schedule. 


Breakfast was made to order, and included several options, such as the full English or a vegetarian version. There were also juices, fresh fruits (including some local pears),toast, jams, cereals, and yogurts. It was delicious. 



Tanya and Simon are very friendly and work hard to make their guests comfortable. Tanya promptly answered several emails before our visit, which really helped us to make our plans.



Room Tip: Blenheim's Edge is on a busy highway, but there was no road noise in the deluxe double en suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Upon arrival we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Both Simon and Tanya were very knowledgeable about the area, for public transport, places to eat and places of interest. The room was spotlessly clean and to a very high standard, comfortable bed, a lovely appointed and roomy ensuite, and all beautifully decorated. There was a great choice of breakfasts, all freshly cooked to a very high standard. We would certainly return and not hesitate to recommend to friends and family.
Public transport was the best way to get in and out of Oxford, with bus stops no further than 2 mins walk, with a service that took you right into the centre of Oxford.

Room Tip: We had room 3 which was at the rear of the building, overlooking open farmland and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our usual choice of accommodation is boutique hotel style but we saw this guest house had good reviews and looked the part when researching for our trip to Oxford and the Cotswolds. It was just what we needed after a days touring, lovely decor and finish, quiet location despite being near a main road and very close to Oxford. Simon and Tanya make you feel very welcome and then leave you to enjoy your stay. Outstanding nights sleep followed by great quality breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend if you are looking for somewhere to stay and don't want to pay boutique hotel, city location prices. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Very comfortable accommodation, spotlessly clean, modern furnishings. Simon and Tanya are welcoming and warm hosts who gave us excellent recommendations for transport, dinner, etc. location is a few miles from Oxford, easily reached by bus, and just a few minutes' drive from Blenheim Palace. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We stayed at Blenheim Edge for just one night very recently and by the morning we were already checking if we could stay a second!
The hosts are really welcoming and friendly - couldn't do enough for us and were lovely people.
Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a private bathroom with a huge bath and jacuzzi which we weren't expecting :)
Breakfast was delicious and the menu was plentiful. They even had a gluten free option which was really appreciated.
The location is really useful for trips in to Oxford (only a few mins by car or bus) and also beautiful Woodstock which is well worth a visit (particularly on Farmers Market day).
Overall we can't rate Blenheim Edge high enough and we are already planning our next trip.
Thank you Simon and Tanya for a great visit. Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blenheim Edge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blenheim Edge Guest House

Address: 226 Woodstock Road | Yarnton, Nr Woodstock, Oxford OX5 1PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blenheim Edge is a new boutique style guest house offering contemporary accommodation for both business and leisure guests. A detached property with free off street parking we are conveniently located on the A44 Woodstock Road giving easy access to Oxford, Woodstock, Blenheim Palace, Oxford Airport and Bicester Village. The property features modern, stylish en-suite rooms decorated in contemporary colours and finished to a high standard. We assure you of a warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blenheim Edge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blenheim Edge Guest House Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blenheim Edge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.