We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Saved the best to last” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pembroke Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pembroke Guest House
Save
You added Pembroke Guest House to your Saves list
153 Kennington Road | Kennington, Oxford OX1 5PE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Saved the best to last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Spent 3 weeks travelling the UK staying in B&B's
Last 3 nights at Pembroke House was the best place we stayed in
Clare & staff were wondeful - a Great different breakfast each moring
Staff very friendly
Great room with plenty of space
Very modern

Room Tip: Up stairs double room wonderful - plenty of space Do the 50 minute walk into town along the Thames...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
42
51
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southlake, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Wonderful! Better than anticipated and much more!! Our hostess arranged for a taxi to meet us at the train station in Oxford, made dinner reservations in town for us (which wasn't easy on graduation weekend) and even advised us to take a taxi to the airport versus the train which saved us significant amount of money); all unsolicited by the way. Service beyond compare! The Guest House was very convenient to get to Oxford City Center and was clean and spacious for a family of three. I can't say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay. I highly recommend anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in the top floor bedroom. We loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Sally and her family were so welcoming and accommodating - if only all travel experiences were this wonderful. The beds, pillows and linen are so comforting and cosy, the rooms so very clean and the lovely toiletries an added bonus.
Having said we would be arriving between 12-1.00pm, we found ourselves running behind time and so booked in much later, having got caught in a horrible traffic jam.. How embarrassing to find out that Clare had organised someone to meet us even in the usual out of welcoming hours! We never imagined that this type of service was still on offer. Moreover, when we rang to tell of our slow crawl towards Oxford, Clare checked websites and gave advice as to how best to beat the traffic snarl!
But, definitely the best part of the stay was the breakfast. Clare must be perceptive enough to gauge each visitor and personally devise a breakfast menu to suit them. So whilst I was dreading the usual English 'fry up', instead we were presented with the most delightful breakfast, just to our taste. Fresh fruit, continental meats and cheese, fresh yogurt, and beautiful brioche, topped with seasonal fruits. And a bottomless cup of fresh coffee. The next morning I noticed that an elderly English couple did indeed get served with a traditional English breakfast, just to their liking (and it did look good) and an Asian family had another style of breakfast to cater to their taste. And all served by Clare who is a font of information and just a lovely lady (more like that long lost family friend who makes you feel so at home). And to the reviewer who wished they had been served with a boiled egg - are you serious?
Please go and stay at this beautiful facility - you won't be sorry.

Room Tip: We were travelling with our very large 15 year old son and the Executive double room was a bit of a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk, uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Just want to say how nice Pembroke house is. Hosts are friendly but not intrusive. We were made to feel welcome and it did feel like staying at someone's home. Breakfast was lush- thanks Rosa!!
Ten min bus ride into the centre was not a problem as the buses go very often and till a reasonable time in the evening. Would rather stay here than in a beige box that most of the hotel chains would charge more then double for!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great stay, especially since Oxford has mostly overpriced hotels. The 3 most important travel issues for me: room was clean, people were nice & breakfast was excellent. Yes, it's outside of town, but the bus was quick, simple & literally at the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Great place to stay close to town.
Breakfast was excellent I am vegetarian I was well catered for. Host was excellent
clean and tidy room
all in all highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Very warm welcome on check in, with lots of local knowledge for dinner reservations etc. clean comfortable room and location is very close to Oxford centre with a bus stop right across the road. Breakfast was lovely, very relaxed vibe- overall it felt as if you were staying in a friends house

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pembroke Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pembroke Guest House

Address: 153 Kennington Road | Kennington, Oxford OX1 5PE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautifully appointed four star Guest House offers unique accommodation in the very popular area in Oxford with easy access to the city centre. With a small number of new, luxuriously furnished rooms and access to large comfortable lounge and kitchen areas your stay will be both relaxing and convenient. Pembroke House offers four star accommodation just two miles from Oxford City Centre. Pembroke guest house, now has 2 beautiful apartments available for rent in close proximity to the Guest House ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pembroke Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.