We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer enough for vegetarians” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ask Italian

Ask Italian
5 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AT, England
01865 726 850
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 471 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $11 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: ASK Italian in Oxford is a place for great food and warm service. Think fresh bread made to tear and share. A glass of fine wine worth deserving of your time. Delicious main dishes prepared the traditional way. Everything we know and love about Italian food is served straight to your table. Take a look at our Oxford menu and, if you like what you see, book a table.
Oxford
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“No longer enough for vegetarians”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I always enjoyed eating and taking friends to ASK Italian in Oxford. Unfortunately most of us in my friendship circles are vegetarian and the ASK Italian menu has gradually reduced its vegetarian offerings so we assume we are no longer the target group for this pleasant restaurant and chain. I check the menu from time to time and today noticed there is nothing except a starter and dessert for vegetarians on their Xmas special menu. Message received, ASK Italian - could not be clearer :-(

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    44
    24
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Saturday night's alright for Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 via mobile

We've dined at this Ask a few times and not been disappointed. I have the impression that this is a well run place. Arrived cold and hungry at 9:45pm on a Saturday with no booking, no problem! Straight to table, two great Pizzas and a carafe of sauvignon all served within 10 minutes. First class service and attentive staff. Not too shabby for a chain restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food was amazing and affordable, but the waitress forgot about the chips I ordered, and never smiled never really interacted just put plates down and gave us drinks, but the food was just incredible, compliments to the chef.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolschwiller, Alsace, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious Italian food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had an excellent meal last night. The service was friendly and efficient. Our food was authentic, and attractively presented. The bill was reasonable. recommended!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Lovely meal at Ask italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Really enjoyed a meal with friends. The restaurant is lively and friendly. Staff were helpful and food was amazing. cant wait to go again

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ask Italian also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Ask Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ask Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.