We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nando's - Oxford (George Street)

Nando's - Oxford (George Street)
77-79 George Street, Oxford OX1 2BQ, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #211 of 483 restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I love going to Nandos. There is usually a bit of a wait because it is always busy but it's worth the wait. Staff are friendly and the food is delicious! Good prices as well. I especially like the bottomless soft drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    11
    19
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Busy very often and high turn off so meals have to be rushed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I will start off by saying the food quality and service here is a good standard for Nandos and it would be worth your time if you enjoy Nando's filling chicken meals.....on a quiet day. This is one of the most popular tourist/group restaurants in Oxford, due to be being close to the city centre and to the train station so it is often very busy inside. I prefer to sit and eat my meals but you can feel a bit pressured to eat quickly and move on.
It is less busy in the early evenings or the middle of the afternoon so if you fancy eating here come during those times to beat the crowds.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cheap, great meal - fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I went to Nando's with my boyfriend. The service was great - the staff was really nice. The food was really good and very affordable. The music was way too loud and impeded on us really enjoying ourselves all the way - aside from that definitely a place to return to!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, Lovely staff, Very Tasty Chicken.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Being relatively new to Nando's, maybe my opinion is tainted by the addictive Peri-Peri (so good they named it twice) sauce... But I think this place is great.
The staff are always welcoming and friendly, even when VERY busy and the place always has great music playing and a lovely, bustling atmosphere.

Now this isn't High-End, luxury dining, but neither is it 'Posh KFC' as others have said elsewhere... This is a cross between fast food and a nice sit-down meal, but when I say fast food, I don't mean junk food.
The food is fresh, tasty, reasonably priced and you have unlimited refills on your soft drinks, what more could you ask for?

If you're looking for quick, tasty and spicy chicken with great sides and friendly staff... I'd definitely recommend Nando's on George Street.

If you're looking for somewhere relaxed and quiet and a little more up-market before or after your theatre visit, then this maybe not the place for you, although there is always a great mix of people in there, from business types to students and families.

Can't compare to the Cowley Road Nando's but the George Street branch is great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Of lIttle use for a vegan”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Brought here by a student group, it was soon realised that the only guaranteed vegan item on the list was a bottled cider. Not an inclusive destination. I'll not go again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nando's - Oxford (George Street) also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Nando's - Oxford (George Street)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nando's - Oxford (George Street), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.