We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Oxford Visitor Information Centre

Oxford Visitor Information Centre
15-16 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AS, England
01865 252200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 99 attractions in Oxford
Type: Tourist/ Visitor Centers
Activities: Group tours/day tour
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Stop by this Visitor Information centre to find out about sightseeing, attractions, places to stay and dine when visiting Oxford,Oxfordshire, England. With a great souvenir shop and maps and guide books on sale too.If you would like to review one of the Official Guided Walking tours that we sell please go to the Trip Advisor Page for Oxford Official Guided Walking Tours.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Shame !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Tourist Office is set in a side street near the Ashmolean Museum but its signage is small and totally obscured, so it's easy to miss. Inside, it's full of (quality) tourist memorabilia but also very informative brochures and guides.
Given Oxford's prestigious role in British tourism, a little attention to signage and general promotion would pay off handsomely.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    18
    14
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not well-signposted, and not good for much more than a map”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I have a lot of friends and family come visit me in Oxford, and they all invariably at some point head off into the city while i'm studying, and look for Tourist Information. 25 minutes later, I invariably get a phone call asking for help finding it. It's not well-signposted in my opinion (I had no idea where it was for over a year, and roughly every couple of weeks get grabbed and asked where it is). In addition, it's really not much good for more than a map, and the city has several public maps/info points across the city.
I agree with the review below; just ask people on the street. On Broad St., there's usually tour guides, hanging around looking for customers, who are happy to point people in the right direction. In addition, if you need directions, ask a student. There are 20,000 of us in the city during term; we all (except new fresher) know the city like the back of our hand; and, unless obviously running to a tutorial, happy to help tourists. One less tourist standing confusedly in the middle of the main road is one less tourist we need to dodge when cycling :)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Visiting Oxford”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

This was such an interesting place, a lot of history, so much to see and do there, and nice resturants, also you catch the park and ride bus, which saves taking your car into the town.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east England
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Helpful and Informative”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Excellent, friendly advice. Helpful and knowledgeable. Air conditioned too so if it's a hot day and you're feeling the heat, pop in for video information or ideas on what to do next.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Easier to ask people on the street for help”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The staff were exceptionally unhelpful and too busy to help, while doing nothing really. Guide book/internet/random people were much more useful...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxford Visitor Information Centre also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Oxford Visitor Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxford Visitor Information Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Oxford Visitor Information Centre to your Saves list