We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy, you get what you pay for!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nanford Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Nanford Guest House to your Saves list
Nanford Guest House
137 Iffley Road, Oxford OX41EJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
1 review
“Very happy, you get what you pay for!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The staff here were very polite; breakfast here was plentiful and filling, offering cereals, yoghurts, traditional English etc...
The room was clean, tidy and served as a good base while sightseeing Oxford. This isn't pretending to be a five star hotel but instead is one of the much better looked after low cost accommodations I have stayed in.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    15
    43
    32
    269
See reviews for
36
102
41
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I wish I had read the reviews before staying here, the place was disgusting. We slept in our clothes as the bed clothes were stained and we were bitten by bugs throughout the night and the place smelt disgusting.
We did not have breakfast as the thought of it turned our stomaches due to the general state of the place, Environmetal health needs to check this place out and fast as this should not be trading as a B&B in this state.
Do not stay here, it is an awful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Found this place on a comparison website, the pictures on their own website dont show how run down, filthy, damp, and generally 'unlivable' the hotel is.
The man in reception was rude, smelled awful and wouldnt look us in the eye, was more interested in staring at his computer screen!
Reception itself was dark, shabby, smelly and run down, had to walk down some steps into what looked like their own living area to check in.
We were taken into a room in the neighbouring house, 135,first room on the left by the front door, room 1, this was damp dirty, shabby and generally depressing.
We were offered a room 'round the back' away from the road, but we chose this one as it sounded even more dodgy.
Furniture was worn and all mismatched, floor was ancient and lifting up in places, tv didnt work, curtains were shabbily stitched together, and net curtains draped from a hook, mattress was thin, lumpy, and filthy, bedlinen was thin, worn out and holey in places, sink was cracked, toilet seat moved when you sat on it, teabags tasted like they had been there for 6 months, our friends said they had a hair sticking out of one of theirs!!
Awful depressing scary place to stay, especially if you were a lone female, thank god I had my boyfriend with me.
Hallway and stairs were run down, dirty, smelly, stairs sloping towards the wall they were that old and damaged.
Not surprisingly, we woke with teriible back ache, didn't use the shower, and steered well clear of breakfast, ugh, dread to think what the kitchens like.
Since we got home, we have read other reviews saying they have bed bugs, I am still itching now......
Also, if you google this place, the owners have been arrested for allowing their properties to be used by a gang of muslims who have drugged, raped and trafficked young white girls as young as 11, they have all been caught now thankfully.
EH also closed 3 of the properties at the time of the police raid for being unsafe.
There is definitely something very creepy and unnerving about this place, do not stay here, and especially dont stay here on your own!!
I'm appalled that this even comes up in search results, disgusting place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

As we first went in to the nanford we rang the door bell and the owner yelled yes to us without getting off his seatHe then mumbled to himself that he would show us our room the first room faced the road so we went to the second room which didmt ace the road but instead a rundown back 'garden' so to speak with brocken fridges in it the shower made a horrific noise louder than anything ive ever heard before. In the morning we woke up and went for breakfast which could have been improved upon but it was edible none the less. The staff setting out the tables were though rather rude but they did deal with most of the requests relativly well all in all i do not recamend a v.isit to the nanford but its central location prooved usefull

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Oxford was our first stay on an 18 day trip and we found this guest house at the last minute. We had the "family room" which was along the lines of a youth hostel. My 14-year-old, who had never traveled outside of the US wanted to go home.

That said, the food was good and it provided us a place to stay at a really reasonable price. If I ever return to Oxford, I will find a place closer to the City Center with more creature comforts, but this locale served its purpose.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nanford Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nanford Guest House

Address: 137 Iffley Road, Oxford OX41EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelBookers and Despegar.com so you can book your Nanford Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nanford Guest House Hotel Oxford
Nanford Hotel Oxford
Nanford Guest House Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nanford Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.