We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing but stylish hotel with quiet rooms and a good breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Eastgate Oxford to your Saves list
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Relaxing but stylish hotel with quiet rooms and a good breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

This small hotel has style without giving up its historic appeal. A well-designed mixture. It is located in a small street just off High Street, thus very central. The breakfast was great. You can order warm English breakfast a la carte. The lobby is also nice. The executive double bedroom was spacious.
Beware when trying to flush the toilet. If it does not work, press 3x quickly. That's the secret!

Room Tip: I had a executive double bedroom, which was spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Dear MaxKrull
Thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

KindRegards

iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    285
    182
    51
    29
See reviews for
119
262
77
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

The Eastgate is very conveniently placed on the High, in reach of all central Oxford. There is car parking at a price but driving in Oxford is rather anti-social and I prefer to use the excellent park-and-ride. There is a good restaurant and good accommodation, and helpful and pleasant staff.

My only complaint, with the central policy, not the local management, is that in signing for drinks,meals etc. one is invited to add a tip without the slip drawing attention to the fact that a service charge has already been added. Either tip or service charge is acceptable, but not both. I have drawn the attention of local and central management to this and hope they will make a change.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Michael G

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.
In the main, I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
I have noted your comments on the tipping issue and I will review this.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the naer future .

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

While the hotel is in an old building the rooms have been renovated and come with the modern conveniences you'd expect. The hotel is in a great location within walking distance of all the Oxford colleges and attractions. The staff is friendly and they provide free wifi. The hotel restaurant and bar never seemed busy, but the food and drinks there were good. Beware that the lift only goes to the second floor, so if you have a top floor room, you'll have to take the stairs.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Douglas B
Thank you for your positive feedback following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate hotel.
Your kind comments in relation to the team are much appreciated.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Great location. The Oxford Tube stops almost in front of the hotel. Really confortable beds. Very clean bathroom. 5 minutes walk to the Covered Market and 10 min walk to corn market street.

There was no elevador and nobady offered help with our lugagge.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Mariana dpl

Thank you for your feedback following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.
At the outset please accept my apologies for the fact that you were not offered assistance with your luggage.
This aside, thank you for your positive feedback , i was pleased to that you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed here for one night on a Friday. We could hear people walking around that was above us. Every time they used their taps the water dripped through our ceiling onto the floor. We complained when we checked out and they gave us the £20 back we had paid for our breakfast.
It can't be helped but because the hotel is on the high street you are hearing people all night long walking by from drinking and motorbikes revving up.
Breakfast is lovely and you only have to put your bread through once to get it toasted.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Louise b

Thank you for your feed- back following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.
At the outset ,please accept my sincere apologies for any disturbance you experienced from both internal and external noise. I will also investigate your comments in relation to the water issue relating tio the room above.

Thank you for your positive comments in relation to breakfast.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Strong points include location (High Street) and courtesy of staff.
The dining area is neatly designed and food is quite good.
However, the single room I stayed in appears truly small and, with a large luggage,
walking around the room was somehow challenging.
Toilet and bath are bright and clean.
The hallways leading to the rooms are narrow, which make it difficult to carry or pull
your luggage.
Overall though, it is a relaxing place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Dinoarevalo

Thank you for yor feedback following your visit to the Mercure Eastgate Hotel.
I was sorry to learn that you found your room a little on the small side.That aside I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and you found the hotel relaxing.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Iain Waite GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Eastgate Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.