We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for the location, not the facilities.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Eastgate Oxford to your Saves list
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 40% OFF THIS WINTER
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Romsey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“You pay for the location, not the facilities.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

If you are able to get a discount rate then this hotel represents good value for a stay in Oxford. The location is fantatstic, on the High Street but not too close to noisy bars and clubs. The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Staff are efficient and helpful if not exactly warm and friendly.

However, If I had paid full rate for this hotel I would have been very disappointed. We stayed in a standard double on the top floor. The room was smaller than an average hotel double room but it is an old hotel and the rooms seem to be all differing sizes. The problems were all with the bathroom. The paint was peeling off the walls, there was no shower just an attachment that you had to hold over your head and very erratic plumbing with the water changing from scalding hot to freezing cold while you are in the shower. Other little problems included undrinkable water in the bathroom as it is an old building with old plumbing, the water was so horrible that it made the tea and coffee undrinkable. I then had to pay £3 for drinking water which should really have been provided for free. The pillows and duvet were old fashioned feather filled ones which the staff did kindly change for modern, synthetic ones when I explained that my partner was allergic. this must be a fairly common problem but it did take the staff almost an hour to locate replacement bedding.

the hotel charges £15 a day for parking and £12 a day for Internet access. So, if you can get a discount rate, arrive by public transport, live without wi fi for a night and stock up on drinking water at Tesco then this hotel represents decent value for money. We would think about returning next time we visit Oxford.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Ali 3240
Thank you for completing a review. My apologies for the plumbing shortcomings which have been attended by our plumber.Sadly there are a few rooms with bath only and these will be changed when we commence our refurbishment later in the year. Although the hotel is old none of the plumbing is more than 20 years and several floors were totally replaced in the last refurbishement 6 years ago. We are happy to provide fresh mains water on reguest at no cost. At the time of your stay standard rooms came with 10 hours free wifi and as of 1st January all wifi charges have been scrapped. Carparking in Oxford is difficult to find and overnight parking can cost up to £33. Demand for car parking at the hotel outstrips supply and we do charge for secure parking.Feather pillows have been a feature of this hotel though we do place 2 fibre pillows in the wardobes. Most rooms have fibre duvets and I am sorry for any delay in exchanging your duvet.
I do hope we will see you again when you next visit Oxford.
Best Wishes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    285
    182
    51
    29
See reviews for
119
262
77
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A nice and cozy hotel. Quite simple but what else do you need - a good bed in a warm room, right?) if yes, then this is the right place for you. It's close to Main Street with various sights and shops. Easy to get to by bus No5 from train station. Get off at Queens Lane and wall straight ahead for about 50 meters cross the street and then turn right. The hotel is is 4th or 5th bld. Enjoy!:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Helenroze
Delighted you enjoyed your stay and found the Eastgate most convenient for those travelling to Oxford from London or Heathrow.Both services are excellent and close to the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming back to the Eastgate when you next visit Oxford
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The Mercure is very centrally located in Oxford, down the High Street, close to the Botanical Gardens and some very nice cafes and restaurants. The hotel entrance is not actually on the High Street, but just back along one of the side streets. The bedroom was small - that's not uncommon in many British hotels - but very well designed and comfortable, and cosy and warm on what was a very cold night. Check in service was slow (there was only one member of staff on duty on the Saturday afternoon), but that wasn't a problem when I checked out the next day. The bar staff serving afternoon tea could not have been more helpful. I travel regularly to Oxford and this was my first time at the Mercure - I would happily stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Dear Zeta London
Many thanks for your review and for the detail contain therein which was a great help to us. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Eastgate when you next have occasion to visit Oxford.
Best Wishes for the Festive Season
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed two nights. Reception staff helpful, informative and friendly. Location is ideal if arriving from London by car. Parking is £15 per night, but in this city, that is worth the money. Room was a good size. Bed comfortable. Shower was hot. Bathroom modern and in good condtion. Room spotless. Hotel lounge is a good size but nowhere is there a seat with a good enough light to read a book.. Arrived for breakfast within 30 minutes of published 9.30 a.m. closing time, but staff obviously wanted to clear up and go, so recommend either go down earlier or eat out. Accor policy of charging heavily for Wifi is a PR own-goal and will drive away repeat business to the many other premises that offer it free. This is an old-fashioned hotel that has no special charm or attraction apart from its location. It's expensive for what it offers.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of hotel risk early morning disturbance from passing traffic including heavy vehicles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear SylviaMilan
Thank you for your review and the detail contained therein.I have asked that in future lighting is increased to allow guests to read in comfort. 10 hours of free wifi is currently available but as a group all wifi will be complimentary.Breakfast hours at weekends are extended but I shall review our current times. I hope that you will return to the eastgate when the occasion arises.
Best Regards
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Comfortable hotel with character. Staff helpful and professional. Close to tourist sites and coach to Heathrow airport. Be aware that 3rd floor rooms are not reached by the lift (which goes to the 2nd floor), so ask for rooms accessible by lift if this is a factor for you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Dorrie 975
Thank you for writing a review following your stay with us. It is a pleasure for both my staff and I to receive a balanced review. Hopefully, when you have an opportunity to return to the UK you will visit Oxford and the Eastgate.
Best Wishes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Checked in on the 3rd December initially for 2 nights. None of the direct dial buttons works (Reception, Room Service ect). The cleaner told me to dial 0 for Reception, but it was never answered. Fire alarm went off for no reason twice during my two night stay. One time it lasted 2 minutes. No staff came or ring to explain anything. I put on clothes and prepared to run out of the building before it just stopped.

Due to the uncertain time of my daughter's college interview, I tried to extend 2 more night stay, with 1 night confirmed and 1 night tentative. When I told the staff to cancel the 1 night tentative booking, her face just dropped so obviously.

I was given 10 hours free wifi access when checked in for 2 nights. After extended 1 night stay, I was told the internet quota of 10 hours stay the same, need to pay $4 per hour if want more.

No powerpoint adaptor can be borrowed, must pay $5 to buy from them.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerOxford, General Manager at Mercure Eastgate Oxford, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Ming C
Thank you for completing a review. I apologise for the shortcomings experienced. I am also sorry if my staff came across in an arrogant manner as this was certainly un-intended. We do offer 10 hours complimentary wifi and a degree of flexibility should have been applied to your request. As many of our guests are from abroad they regularly ask to purchase an adapter which are reasonably priced. The system has worked well without complaint and I am sorry if we offended you. I hope that your visit to Oxford was successful.
Best Wishes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Eastgate Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Eastgate Oxford

Address: 73 High Street, Oxford OX1 4BE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Eastgate Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Originally a 17th Century coaching inn, this 4 star hotel has 63 en suite rooms. The hotel is ideally situated for visiting the historic colleges as well as participating in the year round entertainment, including open air plays, river punting and the May Day celebrations. The main shopping area is nearby. Facilities are available for breakfast only. The hotel is easily accessible via M40, pay parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Eastgate Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Eastgate Oxford Hotel Oxford
Accor Eastgate Oxford
Mercure Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Eastgate Oxford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.