We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Oxford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
cheshire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Check in staff were polite and helpful. Carried my bag up to the second floor (no lift). Room 203 was quiet, at the back of the hotel. The view wasn't up to much, air conditioners and industrial ducting, but there was very little traffic noise. The room was quite stuffy and airless. I had to have the air con on all the time. The bed was comfortable, if a little high, but I didn't like the pillows much, very squishy and lacking support. Generous tea, coffee, and hot chocolate supplies, bottled water, biscuits and fruit. But I wasn't too impressed with the breakfast at £11 a head, all the usual cereal, pastries, fruit juice, toast and a full English, but it was expensive.
I parked in the nearest public car park and paid a very steep fee for doing so, but was cross to discover that the hotel has an arrangement with the Staples store nearby at £5 for hotel residents to park overnight. No one told me and there was no mention of it at check in. I only know now because I have read it on here. Very annoying

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    226
    61
    14
    8
See reviews for
82
138
55
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Whilst we find the location of the hotel to be very good and the room itself to be spacious, comfortable and with good aircon and bathroom, what really struck us was the incredible approach to service - efficient, eager to please without being obsequious, anticipating our needs and making excellent suggestions - right from the first words uttered by reception, we felt welcomed and cared about

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and have to agree with recent reviews. The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The location is great for the bus and train stations. It is on the edge of the main town but there are numerous restaurants within 3 minutes walk (George's street, where the bus station is). The shopping areas are less than a 10 minute stroll away.

It was built in 1930, so although it has been extensively refurbished and public areas feel more modern, it has creaking floorboards and sound can be heard between rooms. Also, if you have accessibility issues - check with the hotel first.

I asked for a quiet room so they gave me a room at the back (103), which was a little on the dark side but had no noise from the road. The amenities in the room were 4 star.

Overall, a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are brighter, but may have some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was my fourth time to stay in the Royal Oxford. This time we had a large group of people over for a family wedding. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Could not have asked for better service.The hotel is in a perfect location walking distance to town and one minute walk to train station. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

The hotel is very clean and exceeds it's 3 stars in several ways. The complimentary fruit was a lovely surprise. The breakfast is delicious and vastly superior to most hotel experiences. The central location is excellent for a city break in Oxford. The staff are wonderful and worth 6 stars! They are very friendly, knowledgeable and extremely helpful and would be a credit to any hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyeongju
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Clean room. Friendly staff. Complimentary fresh fruit in the room. Very close to the train and coach stations. Short walk to the city centre. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel which serves authentic Korean food.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Good stay, very helpful pleasant staff, good clean room - a little dark as I had requested quiet room at the back so not much of a view. However, heatwave whilst there, so glad of dark room and excellent controllable aircon. Staff had kindly put it on before my return in the evening - bliss after the over heated Oxford streets!

Hotel easy to get to, can walk or bus ride from Park & ride, also ten minute walk into Oxford centre. Lots of extras in room - chocs, fruit, water, lots of teas, coffee, hot chocolate, biscuits - very good. Breakfast a little whacky, unusual choices, and full English served in separate bowls, Korean style! Overall, excellent stay and would choose it again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#9 Business Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.