We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look beyond the cover !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oxford Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Oxford Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Oxford Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Look beyond the cover !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The outside look of this hotel contrasts markedly with the very clean and cosy accommodation and exceptionally friendly staff at reception and in the Breakfast Room. The breakfast food is tasty,clean and served hot. There is no on site parking or lift with all rooms on either the first or second floor. The central location makes access to all Oxford's attractions very easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    210
    59
    13
    7
See reviews for
82
125
53
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Approaching the hotel on our two block walk from the Oxford train station, the hotel appeared dreary and none too enticing. That all changed once inside when greeted by the cheerful desk staff in a bright, modern front desk area. We were shown to our room on the second floor, three flights up (no lift), a fairly spacious corner room with three large windows. The staff delivered our luggage directly to our room. The room was well lit and our queen-sized bed comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and spotless though the plumbing was a bit quirky. A basket of apples and oranges is provided in the room along with bottled water and packs of various biscuits as well as tea and coffee. It's about a 10 minute walk into the heart of Oxford and the fact that it's so close to the train station makes coming and going very easy. There are a couple of little cafes close by the hotel where you can get a continental breakfast at a savings over the hotel's continental breakfast. If you're sensitive to traffic sounds though, you may want to pick somewhere else. All in all, this is a good choice in Oxford.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Straight and to the point, this is a series of bedrooms with a place for breakfast for those so inclined. Nice to have fresh fruit in the room. Furnishing is fine as are all the bits and bobs. It is no a nonsense place which ticks the boxes if you are looking for a place between the station and the colleges to rest your head.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel had a very traditional feel to it although it has gone through some changes since I worked there in 1975 having lost it's large front bar to a restaurant.
The rooms were clean, spacious, and freshly decorated, the mattresses deep and comfortable. Water and a bowl of fruit was included in addition to tea/coffee/hot chocolate and biscuits.
It was very nice to be able to open the windows for ventilation; they have a secondary double glazing. The street was a little noisy at night but it was Mayday Eve and the windows were open!
The receptionists were very pleasant and accommodating. Check out was by 12 midday and we were able to leave our luggage for collection later.
Very good value for money!

Room Tip: I liked room 107 on the end of the building as it had a dual aspect and interesting space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Quite a decent place to stay if you're visiting Oxford for a weekend. Very close to the train station and only a 7 min walk from the high street. Great value for money.
The ladies at the reception were very nice and helpful.
The room was quite comfortable and clean. The heating could have been a bit better though as it was still cold in the room even with the heating being on full blast.
Nevertheless we had a good stay and would definitely go back when we visit Oxford next.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We needed a hotel near Oxford station for an overnight stay and, although there were several B&Bs nearby which were cheaper, we thought we'd pay a bit more as the reviews were good. We arrived late at night, and the staff were very helpful and welcoming. Our room was immaculate and, although not huge, was big enough for two of us and had everything we needed. Like other reviewers, the free fruit and newspaper were welcome extras! Unfortunately, we weren't able to stay for breakfast so I can't comment on the quality of the food, but I have no reason to think it wouldn't have been very good. We will certainly choose this hotel next time we visit Oxford, and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

For a three star we thought this Hotel fared better than most.
In a fairly central location near the station about 5 mins walk to the centre.
We were greeted very politely and taken to our rooms( which i have to say are sizable and comfortable.) The bathroom is probably the biggest i have seen in a hotel of this rating.
The rooms had all the mod cons - was warm ( with radiators and air conditioning ) You get fresh fruit and bottle water daily- lots of coffee/ tea and biscuits, Freeview TV with loads of channels.

OK theres no bar and the breakfasts in the cafe next door could be better - but for a short stay i thought this hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front as you get 3 windows- plenyt of light and the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oxford Hotel

Address: Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Oxford
#3 Business Hotel in Oxford
#9 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully air-conditioned hotel located in the city centre of Oxford. Walking distance to Oxford attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Oxford
Oxford Royal Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oxford Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.