We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkwell House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawkwell House Hotel to your Saves list
Hawkwell House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hotel good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Booked on line as it is close to Oxford ( 40 min walk). The hotel accomodation is very nice. Good size bathroom with bathrobes etc. Good size bedroom all the gear including iron and ironing boad. Three chair in room . Did have to ask for more shower gell and extra buisuits! Good if you want that morning jog some nice 5 7 and 11 k. Restaurant is very good for breakfast and okay the rest of the time if all you need is energy intake!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    240
    87
    35
    21
See reviews for
96
272
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

The room was very tastefully decorated, with plenty of room. Had one of the most comfortable sleeps, due to a Tempur mattress. The bathroom was huge, the only downside was they omitted to put a shaver socket in the bathroom, so travel shaver next time! The food in the restaurant was good, with a varied choice and well cooked and presented. The staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the wine and food. The bar staff were happy to serve coffee and drink in the lounge area in front of a lovely fire, finished the evening off perfectly. The breakfast was good, but did take a while to arrive, but the waitress apologised straight away. We took the taxi the hotel phoned to the centre of Oxford, which was £6. All in all a very good experience, and would recommend a visitLooking forward to a return visit in the summer. (Did not use any leisure facilities.pressed in error and can't erase!)

Room Tip: Very quiet on the ground floor,to the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Nice hotel, very clean , staff were very good, all in all a very pleasant stay, little bit out of the centre of Oxford but if you use the taxis that the hotel phone it is only about £5 or £6 , ring this company when you come back as we used one of the cabs off the rank and it was twice as much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My partner and I stayed for valentines weekend. The room was 308. The room was nicely furnished. The bathroom is slightly small and my 6ft2 partner had to bend under the shower head as it was quite low. The bed was two pushed together but comfortable enough. Reception staff are friendly although on the three occasions we tried to call them prior to our visit we couldn't get through.

The room is quite noisy. You can hear other tvs and discussions from other rooms but no Street noise etc.

The hotel part of the stay was good. However the breakfast on both days was disappointing. I had eggs benedict one day where the hollandaise was burnt and the texture of cheese so that had to be scraped off. On the second morning I ordered pancakes. Two came one of which was black - banana had been placed on top of the black side but soon spotted as I couldn't cut in to the pancake which was solid. The chef is really letting the hotel down sending such substandard food out to guests paying £100 per night or £14 per breakfast.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for the weekend while visiting Oxford.The hotel was easy to find and we were welcomed upon check in. The hotel is very nice and we were very happy with our room. It was clean, well decorated and a lovely size. Lovely soft memory foam mattresses too! The location is very close to Oxford, my partner and I like to walk and it took us about 40 minutes down one road, its about 2 miles.

The breakfast was also fantastic, you can order from a menu and they also have a buffet with meats, cereals etc. All delicious.

Would recommend this to anyone who is happy to stay somewhere just out of Oxford

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Having stayed in various hotels over the years I cant help thinking many leave you wanting either in terms of room cleanliness or service, not so with this particular hotel. The hotel in general was contemporary, well maintained and seemed well run. Breakfast was served in an area of the hotel which was very bright and airy and although not a morning person myself was a very pleasant experience. The location was about 10mins by car into Oxford and suited our needs perfectly. I suppose the 64M dollar question is would I go there again if the need arose....short answer is yes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

After enjoying a day out in oxford we decided to stay and found this place on trip advisor as a near by place! We were really impressed by the look of the hotel and picked that one! The lady who checked us in was lovely ( clearly the only staff member with any customer skills) she sorted us out a lovely room and even gave us a complimentary upgrade!
The room it's self was really nice and of a lovely standard! The room had everything we needed and was very happy with it!
However not much longer later we had a manager knocking on our door askin us about funny smells in the corridor outside! He was very rude and behaved very oddly! We felt a little uncomfortable around the hotel after that as he was walking around still being very odd!
We ate dinner in the restaurant and all though the food was lovely the service was not up to standard! The young boy serving breads to the table spilt oil all down my dress and didn't even acknowledge doin so let alone apologise! When our food arrived it was served by the manager, I mentioned about the oil and asked for a damp cloth so I could try and clean my dress! He too showed no compassion or care and failed to apologise! Disgusting managing traits if you ask me! The least he should have offered to do was pay the cost of it being dry cleaned, it's the right thing to do!
It's a Shame that only one member of staff gave a positive experience in such a beautiful hotel! It should of been an amazing night away but it wasnt!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 seen an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TV’s, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkwell House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.