We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkwell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hawkwell House Hotel to your Saves list
Hawkwell House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Almost perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Excellent location for visiting Oxford with superb rooms and service and when the refurbishment is completed it will be very close to perfect. My only criticism was that the food in the Restaurant tended to be overcooked and rooms at the rear of the hotel need net curtains for privacy.

We had a very enjoyable stay with easy connections into Oxford City Centre in a quiet location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    258
    93
    37
    21
See reviews for
99
294
26
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My husband and I have just had a one night stay and loved every minute of it. The bubbly receptionist was a good start and the bedroom airy, well decorated, good size, extremely comfortable bed and pillows with beautiful bathroom just made it complete. We took a taxi to Oxford and back (only around £6 each way) and had a very tasty, filling meal in the hotel restaurant. There are plenty of cosy areas to sit and take a drink. Every part of the hotel was clean and well kept.
We intend to visit again in the autumn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Hawkwell House is situated some distance outside Oxford, in the village Iffley. The hotel garden and rural surroundings are quite nice - a bonus is that it is very quiet at night, so you have good sleeping conditions even with windows open.

Another good thing is the walk along the river into Oxford. You go down to Iffley Lock for a start. The path along the river is very picturesque and nice, though of course it is a bit of a walk - somewhere between 45 minutes and an hour before you reach Oxford itself, depending on your walking pace. The bus service is quite frequent and gives you good options for getting back and forth to town.

But: When going for our first trip into Oxford, we walked. I asked at the reception which bus stop we should get off at on our way back, and was told "Rose Hill". This should prove to be wrong, as we rode the bus all the way out to Rose Hill we had suspicions that we were going too far. And quite right, we should have got off at Iffley Turn. So after our day in Oxford, quite late in the evening, we had half an hour walk back to the hotel in a quite stressful mood.

The food is good at Hawkwell house. Breakfast quite OK, we enjoyed dinner there one night (after our walk back from Rose Hill, we were the last guests in the dining hall) and we had some lighter snack in the garden when we arrived the first day. But service was at times unexplainably slow. For a light snack in the garden - a sandwich, a cheese platter and a wrap - we had to wait about half an hour before it was served. On our second morning, there had been a wedding celebration and the guests had a separate breakfast buffet in the next room. This caused quite a delay in serving cooked breakfasts in the ordinary breakfast room.

And when leaving, there was confusion about the check-out and the bill. First I was presented with the bill for just one of the two rooms we had. When I pointed this out, they eventually produced a more complete bill for both rooms and meals. I paid this, but when checking it more specifically I found we had been charged quite a bit more for one of the rooms than stated in our reservation. I had to go back and get this corrected.

So: What could have been a very nice stay was marred by recurring incidents of slow service and mistakes, unfortunately.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We would like to say a huge thank you to all the staff at Hawkwell House Hotel.
Our wedding day was truly memorable and we give a special thanks to Gary our wedding co-ordinator who has been a great support right from first planning, up until the actual day.

As a bride I felt all the pressure and stress was alleviated by the excellent planning and organisation, I was so well looked after. An example is that it was not clear if it would rain for our outdoor ceremony but staff were all prepped to make a last minute dash if it did, luckily it was sunny!

All our guests had a great time and loved the food so a big thanks to the Chef and kitchen staff. Our gluten intolerant guests were very well looked after, so thankfully no ill health to report! As both vegan, we the bride and groom we were well looked after too! The buffet was amazing, so much food. The bar staff and waiting staff were attentive, friendly and subtle. The staff even laid on a private breakfast the morning after, for all our guests, which was such a lovely touch and a great way to catch up with anyone we had missed the day before.

The memory foam mattresses were a big talking point amongst guests, they were very comfortable. You must get them in all the rooms! The rooms are spacious and very clean. The grounds and surrounding areas were perfect for our needs and look fantastic in the photo's. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone who wants a lovely down to earth and fun wedding without any snobbiness!

Apologies to anyone who had any dealings with a couple of unruly guests in the evening/early hours. Thank you for being utter professionals, so sorry that had to happen!

Kind regards from Martin & Julia Mulchrone - Wedding Date : 27th July 2013

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here on the hotel's summer 2 night deal at the beginning of August. It is located in the idyllic Iffley Village and the lock and towpath walk are only a few minutes walk away. The hotel is only a 20minute bus ride or 10minutes in a cab from Oxford and gave us the best of both worlds.

We ate in the hotel one evening as part of the deal and the food was great, particularly the main courses. Wine was over-priced, but that's par for the course in hotels so it doesn't bother us. There were conferences and weddings during our stay but they did not cause a great deal of disturbance to us, although the evening music from the wedding was fairly loud which you might want to bear in mind if you retire before midnight.

We found the staff to be friendly and helpful in calling us cabs, looking after our bags after we had checked out and recommending restaurants for us to try. The room was perfectly clean and well decorated, plus there was water and chocolates supplied in addition to tea and coffee. It was a little hot at noght, but we were just at the end of the little heatwave in Britain so can't really fault the hotel for that!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Had a bit of difficulty locating it but once we did, it is a beautiful. It is located a bit out of Oxford and is suggested to take the bus into the city centre which is about £2.50 return trip. The hotel is currently being renovated but the room we had was magnificent and spacious and we would return again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I've just returned from a night away with my partner, can't praise the hotel more - clean spacey light rooms, helpful staff and lovely breakfast

I can't comment on value as my partner paid for my birthday but would definitely stay here again if I were to visit Oxford

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#6 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 seen an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TV’s, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkwell House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.