We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkwell House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hawkwell House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hawkwell House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 43 hotels in Oxford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Just stayed for one night and the overall experience was very positive. Check in staff were very polite and showed us how to get to Oxford. There is a beautiful walk along The Thames from Iffey Lock into Oxford. It took us 30 mins from hotel to town. The pub along the way, The Isis is well worth the stop off, although from the outside it just looks like someone's house but its fab inside and plenty of benches outside to watch the rowers!

We stayed in room 312 which had a nice view over the gardens and was very quiet. The room was clean and tidy and quite spacious. Breakfast was very nice in the conservatory.

I would recommend this hotel for visiting Oxford but without the hassle of trying to park in the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    186
    229
    77
    33
    20
See reviews for
88
249
23
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night in room 206. Upon arrival, the hotel had a very strange smell of fish! This was throughout the lobby and restuarant area, not sure where this was coming from! It was also present the next morning when we checked-out. It couldn't be smelt in the rooms though.

I think we must have had a one of the worst views in the hotel, the two windows in the room overlooked the front of the hotel with a view of the roof of the restaurant. Not very pretty at all. The room itself was very small but nicely decorated. It's made up of a comfortable double bed, a desk, a small round table with two chairs and a small flat-screen TV with Freeview. There are tea/coffee facilities provided.

The bathroom was the best part of the room, it's very large compared to the room itself, perhaps a little out of proportion. There's a shower and tub, the shower pressure was great. Decent amenities are also provided.

Wi-fi is free but problematic, it keeps logging you off every 5 minutes and you have to re-enter the password.

We ate in the hotel restaurant which was nice. The food was good and reasonably priced for a hotel restaurant. We paid £60 for 2 mains, 2 desserts and a bottle of wine. Staff were great! We also had breakfast the next day, this wasn't as good. We opted for the eggs benadict, the eggs were more like boiled eggs rather than pouched and the hollandaise sauce seemed as if it had been left out for days, it was very dry! There's also a continental options available which were better - ham, pastries, cereals etc.

We only paid £85 for one night, which I suppose is good value for this hotel considering it's free parking, free wifi and breakfast included. Maybe if we had a larger room with a better view I would have rated the hotel higher. Overall, I have no complaints about this hotel but it's not as good as what the other reviews make out.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheddar,somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Booked a double room for a 2 night stay. Modern room with tempur bed but could be more private from the car park with some net curtains. Good evening meal and breakfast even with our first morning order being forgotten .A 40 minute walk to Oxford along the river was great for watching the river action.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked four rooms for a family celebration. Two rooms were in the main hotel and two in The Elms. The rooms were well appointed and very clean, TV & radio.
The staff were very friendly and attentive which made the good hotel into a great stay.
The hotel is to the south of Oxford but the city centre is walk-able along the riverside footpath from the Donnington bridge, not suitable though for the less-abled.
All-in-all, a very enjoyable stay at a hotel we would happily use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding and it was lovely, the food was very nice, the staff are very good, very attentive and they do some fabulous deals, would definitely stay again. In a fabulous area, would be a great place to stay to look around Oxford and very close to the water too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were a couple of hours early for checking in, however the reception staff could not do enough in moving things around so we could check in on arrival, rather than just check our bags.

The location is great for access into Oxford and is on the number 3 bus route which runs every 15 minutes and even at night. If you're a travelling as two adults (and with up to three children) ask for a group ticket which allows you to travel on most buses in the Oxford area.

The room was lovely and warm and very sunny. It had all the basic amenities,including tea and coffee making facilities. The only minor suggestion to the hotel would be that they add a few more toiletries as there weren't quite enough for two people.

The inclusive breakfast was delicious and just what we needed to set us up for a day of sightseeing and again, the waiting staff could not have been more attentive.

Absolutely recommend it and will be back very soon!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent a Saturday night with dinner, 5 couples and a family of four. The staff could not have been more charming and accommodating, looking after all our needs and serving us dinner at a table for all fourteen of us. The food was excellent.
I could recommend this hotel more highly.
By the way, it is a short walk to Iffley lock, on the river and you can walk along the river all the way into Oxford from there. It takes about 40 minutes and you can always catch a bus back almost to the hotel door.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding on when you stay, you may prefer to stop in the separate Elm House just a few...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
#10 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 seen an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TV’s, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkwell House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.