We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Godd but could be very good.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawkwell House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hawkwell House Hotel to your Saves list
Hawkwell House Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary bottle of wine
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Worthing, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Godd but could be very good.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2007

I only stayed one night and did not leave the hotel so I cannot comment on the area. This hotel has the potential to be very good. Generally the decor was very good. The receptionist was very efficient. The room was a good size with a very good shower. I am not sure how the ceiling heating will work on a cold day The appearance was spoilt by cobwebs on the desk light and the start of mould in the bathroom. The evening meal was reasonably priced. The italian themed restaurant did very well on the Italian main dishes and anti-pasta. I chose rib eye steak and hand cut chips for the main. The hand cut chips looked like reconstituted potato to me and they were very salty. The puddings all seemed to be of the mass produced variety.

In the bar two of the five draft beers were off.

Breakfast was good, unusually the hot dish was served to the table by a waiter. A nice change from the normal buffet.

My colleague was in a room in the annex which seemed quite a walk away, he got cold and wet, and smaller than mine.

Honest Jon

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    240
    87
    35
    21
See reviews for
96
272
23
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2007

Stayed there one night for a wedding. Hotel itself is quite pretty and the grounds are very well kept.

The bar was fairly expensive and the choice of spirits was poor.

The room was a bit stuffy and dark as two of the lights didn't work When I took a shower, the water ran either scalding hot or ice cold but never got to a warm comfortable temperature.

The cooked breakfast was the most disappointing feature. No fresh fruit was offered. The scrambled eggs were like glue, the bacon was dry and tough, the toast was soggy and cold and the tea was stewed instead of freshly made. When I pay £90 for a room I do expect a decent breakfast as standard but it was not to be. I would have been better off buying breakfast at a greasy spoon cafe.

Wouldn't stay at Hawkwell House again.

  • Liked — The gardens and views
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2007

staying in hotel on short break whilst sightseeing in oxford. Brilliant location to get to all the tourist places. We left the car at hotel to go to oxford on bus, cheap and run well in2 the night.

We stayed in the elm house which is made up on 15 bedrooms, it was a nice room overlooking the grounds. The bed was awful. they are in need of new matress. but hey we paid 200 for 3 nights inc breakfast which i thought was very reasonable compare to the city hotels who then charged 20 p/n for parking!

Overall a lovely stay. One mention the restaurant is brilliant the food is lovely.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2007

Stayed at the Hawkwell for a wedding. The room was pretty nice, modern and comfortable and clean. The bar areas have been given a makeover and look relatively good - drinks apparently were quite expensive but ths is a hotel bar.

Car parking easy enough and no height barriers. Journey into Oxford is probably too far to walk unless you fancy a walk as well as going into Oxford. But less than 5mins from the hotel is a bus stop which for 1.50 or 2 pounds return will drop you off in the centre of town. Taxis are 5 pounds or so either way.

So in fact, not bad.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N Ireland
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
104 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2007

I was in Oxford for 2 days for a course and in planning the trip found it particularly difficult to get accomodation in Oxford, which was central and within my organisation's budget.

For the price (£72 per night for a single room with full breakfast) it was very good value. The room although small was very clean and pleasantly decorated. It is not a luxury hotel, but it is very comfortable and offers a good standard of accomodation.

Staff were attentive and the housekeeping was exceptional. It was a bit further away than I had anticipated but there is a bus route nearby.

It is so much better than I imagined and I would stay here again if returning to Oxford.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

We have just returned after a 3 night Easter break at this Hotel.
We booked using a last minute hotel search and got a very good deal, then to top if off when we phoned up for the reservation they upgraded our room for the same price to a superior room.
The room itself was very clean and comfortable. Our room overlooked the back of the main hotel with a neatly cut lawn in between and the occasional squirrel could be seen bounding across it. All the staff were very efficient and polite. There was plenty of parking spaces and very good security lighting.
The breakfast was one of the best we have had with plenty to choose from. There were 4 different types of breakfast juice, a variety of individual cereals, full English breakfast, freshly made fruit salad, continental breakfast, rolls and crosants etc. The waiters were very efficient and brought out tea/coffee and toast almost immediatley.
The village of Iffley itself is very pretty and a warm welcome was had at the local pub. Oxford was a 2 mile walk away, but with plenty of buses if needed or a taxi ride wich cost £5.

We had a very enjoyable stay and would highly recomend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2007

We stayed one night at this hotel to celebrate our son's birthday who is studying in Oxford.We were a party of nine and most of us stayed in family rooms.We had very stylish modern rooms overlooking the garden.The beds were beautifully comfortable. The restaurant was perfect for a celebration meal and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.The overall cost was very reasonable.Parking in central Oxford is virtually impossible but this hotel is only a short journey by taxi or regular bus service to the heart of the city.

  • Liked — Lovely rooms and great food.
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawkwell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawkwell House Hotel

Address: Church Way, Oxford OX4 4DZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Oxford
#5 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#6 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawkwell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set within the tranquil village of Iffley with the River Thames a mere 5 minute stroll from the venue, Hawkwell is a slice of country charm with the convenience of a city and major road networks on the doorstep. 2010 seen an extensive bedroom refurbishment. Guests can now enjoy contemporary bedrooms with modern bathroom facilities, complimentary wireless internet, flat screen TV’s, welcome tea/coffee trays and complimentary toiletries. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hawkwell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawkwell Hotel Iffley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawkwell House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.