We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Randolph” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Randolph Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved the Randolph”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

I booked a weekend break at the Randolph through lastminute.com, where they had a special offer including breakfast/tea and crumpets/nightcap and use of the spa. I thought the deal was really good value for money as the hotel was beautiful and the service excellent. The rooms, although not very big were traditional and well decorated with a really nice bathroom and all the extras of a 5 star hotel like bathrobes, slippers etc. The lounge area is great for high tea and the breakfast was amazing-good selection and lovely dining area. We went to the spa on the sunday and it is brand new with a thermal bath, saunas, steamrooms, gym and nice changing areas.
The location is perfect, and the hotel were really good about letting us use the facilities even though we were checking out that day.
Overall we had a great experience there, and with the offer it was very good value. I would defintely recommend this hotel to other people.

  • Liked — The luxurious feel
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    692
    429
    267
    147
    69
See reviews for
250
781
81
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed here for one night in January mid-week and were very pleased with the stay. Staff were welcoming and friendly; valet parking was efficient and helpful for a city centre stay; room (Number 250) was large and comfortable; breakfast very good.

The room was on the second floor with not very interesting view but made up for that with large comfortable bed, plenty of seating, large wardrobe and bathroom with bath and separate shower cubicle. Best of all was the provision of lots of lighting, including an excellent dimmable reading light - so many hotels are gloomily lit these days and not kind to older eyes.

Breakfast buffet included lots of fresh fruits and patries. Cooked breakfast used free-range eggs and regional sausage and was very tasty.

Drinks in the Morse Bar in the evening beautifully served with nibbles - a good spot for a rendezvous with friends. The hotel is centrally situated with shops and restaurants nearby plus all the sights of Oxford of course.

There is also a Spa at extra cost but we didn't have time for this.

The style of the hotel is in keeping with its Gothic architecture - grand and slightly old-fashioned.

  • Liked — Large comfortable well-equipped room
  • Disliked — Even with radiators off it was a little warm for comfort
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2009

We stayed for 1 night at the hotel in January 2009. On arrival our car was parked for us (there is a £25 parking charge - slightly overcharged I felt) and as the reception staff were busy we were offered a seat in the bar and a complimentary drink. Friends who we were meeting also were offered the complimentary drink until we were able to check in.

The bar staff and reception and concierge were all very helpful and polite.

We were eating out at Le Manoir so didnt experience dinner. On returning to the hotel that evening the bar was closed as the bar staff had gone home. We couldnt have a nightcap as no-one else was qualified to serve us - this was quite disappointing.

Breakfast was ok. Plenty of buffet choice but not so good at the cooking.

The room was very clean and bathroom was nice, plenty of hot water. The only downside was our room was near the air conditioning unit outside and very noisy all night - room number 155 so i would avoid this particular room - it overlooked the hotel carpark.

The concierge was very helpful when we asked about sightseeing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Noise of air conditioning outside
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

I was impressed from the moment I arrived . My car was looked after for me, Reception was very well organised.
The bar was friendly and had a warm atmosphere.
My room was spacious ,modern and clean. I was on the top floor and had a great view of the city.
The staff were all very attentive and friendly.
The Breakfast menu had lots to choose from and was served piping hot.
My Wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we were very happy with our stay.

C S Bellaccomo
Bath.

  • Liked — The Elegant Archtecture and Friendly staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2009

A colleague and I had a short stop over in Oxford and stayed here at the Randolph. We arrived in the evening and upon entering our room were greeted with a hand written card from the manager and chocolates on the pillow.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, the ffod was superb and the beds very comfortable. I would gladly reccommend this hotel to any one looking for a grand stay in Oxford.
My only regret, it was a one night business stay.

  • Liked — The food, the staff and the comfort of the room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2009

One mid week night break in December.

Location is fantastic and they have put together a good package if you can get a decent price. We booked via late rooms the wek before with great price including breakfast, crumpets (!) and a nightcap.

The hotel's decor exudes class - rooms are comfortable and whilst not ver large are very well presented. Service throughout was good without being overbearing.

Our other ercommendation would be the restauarnt Gee's where we had diner - fantastic food and a relaxed atmospheer...

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2009

We got away for a couple of days just after Christmas with the aim to relax and see the sights of Oxford.
We could not have booked a better hotel. From the moment we arrived the staff could not do enough to help.
The room was fantastic and my wife was very impressed with the moulton Brown in the bathroom.
The returant was top class. We had dinner on the second night and service and quality could not have been better.
The hotel is located in the centre of Oxford so it was easy to explore.
We will stay at this hotel again.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Randolph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.