We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year's Eve Ball Randolph Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Macdonald Randolph Hotel to your Saves list
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve Ball Randolph Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Arriving at the Randolph in early afternoon, we were greeted by friendly staff. Our package included afternoon tea, which had a good range of sandwiches and cakes, tasteful in presentation and generous in quality and variety.
The evening itself began at 7 p.m. with a champagne reception and the warm and convivial atmosphere amongst our fellow-diners was a very good beginning to what was a most enjoyable evening. The food was superb and the waiter service was extremely attentive.
All in all very pleasing and memorable.
Chris E

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Chris e

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us over the New Year celebrations. I will be sure to pass on your positive feedback to the team as I am sure they will be pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Macdonald Randolph Hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    436
    267
    148
    70
See reviews for
253
789
81
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Just come back from another stay at the Randolph which is our favourite hotel in Oxford. The rooms are quality and 'The Morse Bar' and the lounge are great places for a drink, although watch the prices as it can get a little costly. Breakfast is good, although you can save by eating in town, and the same applies to Dinner. The staff on concierge are first class, usually very friendly and there to help with any enquiries. Parking is costly but well worth it in Oxford. Go on spoil yourself at a good old British 5 Star.

Room Tip: Book a parking space for the cat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Chris T

Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent overnight stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. It always a pleasure to read a review from a returning guest and I thank you for your kind words regarding your stay. I hope that we will see you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Location is perfect in an otherwise difficult city to find central accommodation, thus loads of " not so good" Bed and Breakfasts miles out of the city.The hotel has it made and can charge what it likes.... Individual members of staff attentive and helpful but felt it didn't come together as a whole, united experience
First room was noisy beside the kitchen extraction fans, which were turned on FULL at 5pm for the rest of the evening. Hotel guide in the bedroom was out of date as I rang down to get the code for the internet to be told "Why would you need a code for the Internet? To which I responded "Because that's what it says in your Guide in the hotel bedroom".... All out of date would be fixed...sometime... chap arrived with no Guide in hand..."no one told me" etc etc.
Breakfast menu full of extras eg. an extra charge for kippers £2.50...why be so mean...were they stuffed with caviare...What 4 star hotel charges extras for breakfast items like kippers?/ Mean and silly I thought.
We ate dinner with friends in the hotel and it was OK. Not cheap by any standard. Only 4 tables occupied when we were there form 6.30pm to 9 pm...and I can see why..too pricey for what was on offer. £39.50 for 2 courses!!
All in all disappointing. The Manager needs to be more visible, checking on the customer experiencing and sampling this.... but then they will always get business because of the location, so I guess little incentive to bother...a pity!

Room Tip: stay away from the kitchen extraction fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear wemyss 1

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent overnight stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I am pleased that you found our location to be suited to your needs. I would like to apologise for the issues that you encountered during your time with us with regard to the in room information and the noise from the extractor fans. The pricing structure for the level of cuisine that we offer in a 5 star hotel is indeed competitive and the general feedback that we receive regarding the food here at The Macdonald Randolph is very good so I am sorry that this was not too your liking. I can assure you that the Management team here take hospitality very seriously indeed. I thank you for your constructive comments and hope that we may be of service to you in the future should your travel plans bring you back to the city of Oxford.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great hotel, good service from very attentive staff. One critique would be the internet connection. We are getting on in life and did not understand the procedure to get connected. When we asked for assistance, the process was once again explained to us. It would have been nice if staff would of taken a more hands on approach. Apart from this it was a wonderful stay.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear polo42

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I will ensure that the team are a little more hands on with their assistance in connecting to the wifi in future as it can be frustrating when things do not work. Thank you for your positive comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay with us. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Decided on an early new year break in Oxford. Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted by very friendly doormen who took our cases. Receptionist was very helpful, mentioning various offers we could take advantage of if we so wished. Nice large room with large bathroom (bath and shower) on the top floor with a splending view of the dreaming spires of Oxford. Complimentary bottles of water and Molton Brown products. Very warm room - occasionally overheated but once we understood the air conditioning controls was fine. Housekeeping took notice of "do not disturb" sign and rang to ask whether and when we would like the room cleaning. Concierge service fantastic throughout the few days.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear JOS1191

Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. The Molten Brown products that we provide in all of our bedrooms are certainly a popular feature of our accommodation and the views from some of the rooms are quite exceptional. I will be sure to share your feedback with the team at our weekly management meeting as all elements of your stay were so positive. I hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Macdonald Randolph in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I arrived at the hotel to meet my business colleague at lunch time. Was't particularly busy and three of the concierge staff were happy chatting among themselves, one of them did open the door and greeted me however.

Went to the bar area first, and spoke to the bartender and they don't serve any food there, he did direct me to the Lounge where they serve afternoon teas. There were a lot of 'no's from the bar person before his final suggestion of going to the Lounge for lunch.

Lunch was Ok, I asked for a medium cooked steak ciabatta, it came out well done, and didn't pay much attention until I half finished it, pointed to the manager, and asked for no refund and when paying for the cheque, he did offer 20% off for the food, nice gesture from him!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear ECEJohn

Thank you for your taking the time to review your recent business lunch in the Drawing room. I will be sure to address the way in which you initial enquiry to eat in bar was handled and would like to apologise that the steak ciabatta was not cooked to your liking. I am pleased that you were offered a discount on your food as it was not satisfactory but will endeavour to ensure that mistakes of this nature are not repeated. I hope that you will still consider us for your future business lunches as the feedback we generally receive for the quality of the cuisine here at The Macdonald Randolph is very good indeed.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

This hotel is set in the heart of Oxford City centre, about 5 mins (traffic willing) from the main junction to get into Oxford.

The hotel is very grand, and is matched equally in classic style once inside. It's important to note that this is a classic style hotel, and the interior and room fitting match that. It is not a modern, glass heavy - clean lines and white space hotel.

Parking was an issue when we went, although they helpfully took our bags and gave us a permit to park on the street nearby with. (at a cost of £25)

If you want a quiet night at a weekend, recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel - no view, but no noise from the street outside.

Room service was excellent, as was the choice in the mini-bar. It was New Years eve so the hotel had a guests only dinner/function on - a black tie affair, so a little daunting if you wasn't part of the celebrations - but this was only open to guests, so the hotel wasn't full of people.

A good classic style hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper - ask for a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_Randolph, General Manager at Macdonald Randolph Hotel, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear L0ng Hauler

Thank you for your taking the time to review your recent stay with us here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel. I hope that we will be your first choice of accommodation if you are ever in Oxford again as it is always nice to read a review that appreciates the history and traditionalism that still exists here at The Macdonald Randolph Hotel.

Yours sincerely

Michael Grange, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Macdonald Randolph Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Randolph Hotel

Address: Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Oxford
#4 Family Hotel in Oxford
#5 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#11 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Macdonald Randolph Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Macdonald Randolph Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Randolph Oxford
Hotel Macdonald Randolph
Randolph Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Macdonald Randolph Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.