We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Old Bank Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Wales
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

This was our second stay at the 'Old Bank Hotel' and we chose the same room overlooking the street 'yes' we knew it was going to be slightly noisy but with the windows closed and curtains drawn it didn't bother us. Oxford is 'buzzing' with life and if you like that kind of experience then go for it. If you want a relaxing time and a quite sleep then choose a country hotel! Of course you can request a quieter room at the back of the hotel when you book. Our bedroom was clean and comfortable with 2 big windows which we were able to open ( we like fresh air!). The bed was 'very' comfortable with excellent quality Egyptian cotton sheets such luxury induces a good sleep! And we did sleep well. I loved the restaurant on the ground floor overlooking the street it was light and airy with a mixture of old world and modern. The breakfast was good whether you chose a continental or a full English. Lots of people were coming in off the street to eat here for breakfast and it does have free 'Wi-Fi' access. What my wife and I really liked about this hotel is its central location in Oxford just walk out the door and your are in the hub of things. I was attending a conference during the weekend so I was happy that my wife was able to access the shops without having to travel she has also enjoyed an open bus tour of the city in past years. My one gripe about the hotel is just getting to it. The 'sat nav' in my vehicle confused me so do make sure you read the directions to the hotel carefully and look for the 'Old Bank Hotel' sign (brown coloured) at the entrance to Merton Street. traffic can be heavy getting to that point especially public transport buses and do watch out for the cyclists! there are lots of them and that same advice goes from when you are walking about too. As you can imagine there a 'lot' of students in Oxford and many travel around on bikes.
The staff at the hotel were welcoming and friendly and although my wife enjoyed a restaurant meal one evening when I was at the conference I would recommend that you try one of the dozens of good restaurants in Oxford we particularly enjoyed 'Jamie's Italian' (the famed Jamie Oliver) in George Street just a short walk away from the Old Bank Hotel. We stayed in the hotel over the weekend of November the 5th/7th which of course covered 'Guy Fawkes' night. There is always a vibrant atmosphere here in the city then with spectacular public firework displays nearby something the kids and (adults!) Would enjoy perhaps. I also love the bookshops in Oxford especially 'Blackwell's'.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Thanks so much for your review.

I'm really glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

The Oxford one way system is a bit of a pain. Once you know it, it's easy but it's worth looking at the website or calling us if you have any problems getting to us.

See you next time.

Regards

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    217
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
124
425
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

We have stayed at the Old bank twice now, the second being our stay this week with a third visit booked for the end of Novemeber. The Old Bank is that delightful mix of contemporary comfort in the centre of Oxford and yet retaining the sense of history and tradition. The rooms vary but the Deluxe King was beautiful, extremely comfortable with a lovely bay window overlooking the car park but with the spires and Merton College in full view. The bathroom was adequate I feel perhaps a feature bath would have been perfect but nevertheless clean and a realtively good size.
The thing which stands out about the hotel is the service which is exemplary from the moment you ring to book until your departure. Probably the friendliest and most accommodating staff in any hotel we have stayed in over the last few years.
Breakfast in Quod is perfect, wonderfully straightforward with none of the outrageous charges for the 'buffet style' breakfast that you find in so many hotels.
Absolutely delightful stay - a fabulous find right in the heart of Oxford.The other Oxford hotels would do well to take up the gauntlet laid down by the Old Bank.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Thanks for your review.

Great to hear the staff looked after you and you enjoyed the hotel.

I'm really lucky to have such a great team here, who have a genuine enthusiasm for the hospitality trade and really enjoy the guests who visit us.

I hope to see you very soon.

Regards

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2010

If you decide to stay at this hotel, DEMAND a court view room. the owner has not properly insulated the rooms with street views and the fact that there is a red light in front of the hotel does not help. got max 4 hours of sleep - woken up by the first bus. Very friendly staff, though. Makes you wonder why the owner deserves this. Caters to mostly to Amcericans on an European trip. Loud brasserie, stick to Pizza.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Thanks for your review.

Sorry to hear you didn't sleep well.

Generally we find that most guest are unaffected by the High street noise levels. However, I do recommend that guests who are light sleepers request rear facing rooms as they are likely to more comfortable, on the whole. It is worth noting that the the best views are from rooms at the front, though.

Next time, let me know and I'll assigne a rear facing room. I hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

It was a very pleasant stay. The hotel is lovely and the service absolutely amazing. The rooms are quiet and have everything you need, tea, coffee, umbrellas, champaign glasses, just everything. The problem was the bed, which was very soft and sags in the middle. The heating was very high during the night, so we just didn't sleep well.
Despite that I would definitely recommend it, it's just expensive 230 GBP per night!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2010
Thanks for your review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay, on the whole. I'm sorry the bed was not to your liking. They are all new within 12 months but we can provide bed boards to give extra firmness, if required. We've also had new air conditioning installed lately. Prices do fluctuate depending on season and day of week and in your case the rate was at its peak on a Saturday night. There are better rates available during the week and during December and January.

Regards

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Bank Hotel. The incredibly convenient location and free parking make this hotel a great choice. The room was nice, and fairly standard. The bathroom was quite large and very nice. Our only issue was with the temperature. It was quite warm for October and the room was way too hot. We turned on the air conditioning but that did little to change the temperature. We couldn't leave the windows open b/c we faced a busy street. The front desk did bring us a fan though, which definitely helped. A fix to this system would have greatly improved our stay. That one issue aside though, we would definitely return. The staff was also incredibly helpful, with bringing us the fan, and giving directions, etc. We also had a nice breakfast downstairs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
Thanks for your review

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm afraid to say we did have some maintenance problems with the air con unit in mid October. We've now had a new one installed so there should be no further issue.

I hope to see you on your next visit.

Regards
Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

We have been staying at the Old Bank Hotel as we do Diploma program at Oxford throughout the year and find it our home away from home. The hotel is not perfect and they have made a few mistakes, but to their credit they always, one admit the mistake and then promptly take care of it. The hotel is in a perfect location and the rooms are nice, modern and comfortable. We reckon it is the best hotel in Oxford proper and after doing our research we continue to stay at the Old Bank.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thanks for your review

I'm glad to hear that we are your Oxford Retreat. So sorry we made a couple of mistakes. We try our best to make sure everything is perfect though I will concede the odd error.

See you soon.

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Excellent location in the centre of Oxford. The room was spacious and comfortable with a great bathroom and nice products. We did the complimentary walking tour and it was excellent. We ate at the Bistro and it was very nice and reasonable. I would not hesitate to return or recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2010
Thanks so much for your review.

I'm glad to hear you took advantage of our walking tour.

See you next time.

Regards

Ben Truesdale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.