We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic! Old Bank Hotel is the real business!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Save Saved
You added Old Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Bank Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 43 hotels in Oxford
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Old Bank Hotel is the real business!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Having read reviews of this hotel on trip advisor, I was expecting to be happy with our choice....I was! This hotel could well be the very best hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff were so polite and so helpful without being cloying. The room was wonderful- if only we could have stayed longer. We asked for a room with a view over Oxford, this was sorted out with no fuss at all. Everything was perfect.
The hotel have bikes to lend to visitors- we took them on a brilliant pub crawl to the Perch and the Trout and all around the center of Oxford.
We can't recommend this place highly enough. If you want a treat and fancy a stay in Oxford then this is the place for you...it was the place for us!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2010
Thanks very much for your review.

Glad to hear you enjoyed the bikes. It really is a wonderful trip along the river to the Peach or Trout, if you fancy a longer cycle. It's definitely worth coming back via the canal too, if you have the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

734 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    481
    201
    34
    13
    5
See reviews for
113
392
33
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
west midlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

I stayed here for a 2 night break with my mom in May 2010. The hotel is right in the middle of oxford within a few minutes of this wonderful place. The hotel itself has a lovely welcoming feel and all the staff are extremely helpful. The free carpark is an extra bonus. We stayed with breakfast and 50 pounds towards our evening meal included in the price. The food was good and the dining room had a lovely atmosphere. The hotel offers a free walking guide with Isabella around Oxford. Isabella was a delight and as we were the only ones to take up the afternoon tour we had a personnal tour of some of the collages and history. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Thanks very much for your review.

Isabella certainly is a credit to us. I was never much of a fan of history but she really brings the subject alive. The only problem I have is that we have to give her the odd holiday and a couple of days off a week. In an ideal world, I’d have her here every day of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2010

we stayed here for just the one night, from the moment we walked in we were greeted with warm smiles, helpful suggestions of where to eat in oxford and a high standard of customer service. The room was at the front of the hotel with excellent views and a very comfy bed, breakfast was good.
However we did have a very small problem which was dealt with with the utmost proffesionalism from the manager (Ben) he was really fantastic and we cant wait to go again

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
So glad you enjoyed.

We are certainly lucky to be so close to the colleges. We're surrounded on all sides by the beautiful architecture of ancient buildings filled with the history of centuries upon centuries of learning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

The Old Bank is a wonderful hotel that we were recommended by a friend and we loved it! To have parking that is free behind the hotel is such a huge plus. We treated ourselves to a deluxe double and it was amazing. It was on the top floor and had the most wonderful views over the spiers and the sunset was breathtaking.
Dinner in Quod was excellent - had a couple of drinks in the bar before hand and then sat down to a delicious meal and lovely waiting staff. We went for a walk after dinner and couldn't believe how close everything is to the hotel. Brilliant check in with very helpful staff and luggage carried to the room and smooth check out the following morning after scrummy breakfast in our room.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Stayed in the old bank for a one off "child free night". The location is great, its easy to find by car, as there is no one way system to navigate. Plus it has a car park which isvry handy in Oxford.
Staff very very polite and helpful, rom was a standard one, but was lovely and fresh/clean.
Easy to walk into town from this hotel, resturant looked good and was very busy, which must be a good sign. People checking out in the morning were commenting on how good it was.
All in all great stay and woud highly recommend.
Only minor issue was bed was very soft, but thats just me prefering it harder.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2010
Thanks for the review and I’m glad you enjoyed.

Generally guests like our beds but obviously it's a matter of taste. We do have bed boards to give a slightly harder feel, if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
breda
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

I stayed for 3 nights in # 17 for a business meeting. Lovely room, nice soft bed and duvets, free internet and an excellent shower.

I asked for a room on the quiet side and did have some noise from the garden, but since it was only April this was not a problem. There was still a lot of construction going on in front of the hotel which I luckily didn't hear.

Especially the staff at the reception desk is really helpful and not unimportant: fast!

A few things I noticed:
I'm a light sleeper and both the room and the bathroom have a ventilation system that makes quite a bit of noise. The airco is, as always, very noisy, so I had to switch it off during the night.
First night was incredibly hot, because the heating was on in both the room and the bathroom: this can be switched off and helps a lot.

On my last day I run out of shampoo and toilet paper, which I thought was a bit strange in such a high quality hotel! (after asking I of course did get it so no problem!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oldbank, Manager at Old Bank Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2010
Thank you very much for your comments. Thankfully the works on High street are completely finished. We're all very happy indeed. You're right; I would not normally expect you to have to ask for more shampoo and toilet paper. Our intention is to renew on a daily basis: apologies for the oversight.

I hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

The great thing about this hotel is that they respond to your requests.We stayed in a front facing superior room, our request. The traffic and roadworks make it slightly noisier than we prefer. So try a rear facing room instead. The room is a very good size and well equipped.
Food in Quod excellent. Staff in restaurant personable and friendly. Possibly under too much pressure on Sunday evening due to Jazz.
Bar on Sunday crowded due to Jazz many non residents?
Dined out on Monday

Tuesday Quod excellent waiter brilliant. Bar???

Overall Great

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.