We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STYLISH AND COSY HOTEL IN HEART OF OXFORD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Old Bank Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
London UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“STYLISH AND COSY HOTEL IN HEART OF OXFORD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This was our choice for a weekend in Oxford, and the location is perfect, 2 minutes from Radcliffe Camera, 10 mins from Ashmolean and a few mins from the shops. It was a chilly December weekend so it was good to find the hotel so well heated, nice and cosy. Our room wasn't very big, but comfortable, with good lighting by the bed and overhead, and a very nicely fitted-out bathroom. Furnishings are muted/neutral and there are a lots of lovely paintings and prints on the walls. The Quod restaurant is quite buzzy, breakfast had huge choice and was cooked to order. We also enjoyed a nice meal here one evening. Free extras such as tickets for the Moore/Bacon at the Ashmolean and a free guided walking tour give real value for money. The staff were all young, friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms at back will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    217
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
124
425
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

We were three friends staying one night at The Old Bank, and what a wonderful place to stay!! (I was very disappointed last time I stayed at another hotel in Oxford..) Very friendly staff, lovely, clean rooms (we loved nr 4, a twin bed superior), the best location. We had dinner at the hotel's own restaurant while listening to jazz music - nice!

We'll be back!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights while lecturing at the College. So wonderful. The beds and the service was top notch. I really appreciated the recommendations from the staff on local places for a bite. .. Will continue to book here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia, USA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My mother, brother, and I stayed here for one night and for the price expected a bit more. I ended up with the nicer room -- quite large with two big windows facing High Street, but the other two rooms weren't that remarkable. I felt like the high expense of this hotel was really due to it's fantastic location. I don't know how you could be more in the center of things, so in that sense the value was excellent. Staff were all very helpful, especially in promptly routing us for parking. Beds and linens were quite comfortable and the bathrooms were fine. We had breakfast served in our rooms and it was also good. I would stay here again, maybe just close my eyes as I hand over my credit card . . .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is our favourite hotel in the UK. Situated in the centre of Oxford, the hotel is excellent in every way. The welcome is warm and attentive; the rooms modern, luxurious and comfortable; and the brasserie downstairs lively and high quality.

We have stayed here on many occasions over the years and the charm of this place never wanes. The mixture of traditional ambience with a modern and up-to-date feel is exactly what we like and, oh my goodness, what a wonderful location in this fantastic city. Within a short walk of all the major sights in Oxford, this has to be one of the best spots in which to be based. Everything of note can be reached on foot within just a few minutes.

Do we ever find anywhere that we like better? No.

We have recommended this hotel to numerous friends and family over the years, and everyone leaves with the same feeling that they have been incredibly well looked after and wanting to return again as soon as possible.

Please don't change anything. We love this place and like it just the way it is.

Room Tip: All of the rooms that we have stayed in are excellent but all are a little different, which is one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

In October, my husband and I stayed for 2 nights at the Old Bank Hotel while touring around Oxford. It is a smaller, boutique hotel that is luxurious in every way. It is an excellent city location, centrally located on High Street. Our room was a standard King, well-appointed with a French press for coffee, electric kettle. The bathroom was modern, yet charming with a separate shower stall and a large tub and plenty of counter space. The front desk service was superlative--very pleasant, professional and helpful in making reservations, arranging a walking tour, giving directions, providing umbrellas. Room service was also pleasant and attentive. Parking is very handy, right behind the hotel. We ate at the Quod restaurant - excellent service and food.
A friend recommended this hotel to us, I would definitely recommend it to others!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumter, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We recently attended a concert Oxford, and the Old Bank Hotel was the perfect choice for our lodging. It is in the heart of Oxford University, with entertainment, pubs, and nice restaurants in close proximity. The hotel is very well managed. We took advantage of a two hour tour of the campus of Oxford University conducted by David, and it was the highlight of our trip to England. The hotel provides this tour at no charge, and it is second to none. David was truly delightful, and the two hours passed by in a flash. While the Hotel is a little pricey, it is well worth paying extra for the incredible convenience and free convenient parking.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.