We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, perfect location and tasty restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Old Bank Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great service, perfect location and tasty restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed at the old bank a number of times and this time we stayed for our wedding week. The staff were really helpful with all the deliveries and frantic bridesmaids running around - they ever left us a little wedding gift. Great restaurant downstairs for afternoon tea and breakfast - have the eggs benedict or the porridge. Waitresses particularly good downstairs in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    217
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
124
425
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
FRANCE
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I guess I say it all in the title. The location is excellent, the staff is very nice and really try their best to compensate from the total disappointment of the hotel. The room are very very small, post stamp size, surely do not meet the standard size of a 4 stars and regarding the price it is just ridiculous expensive. The reception room has no interest what so ever. I guess they spend all the money and focus on the brasserie and in the art collection.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Charming room, great art, free wifi and walking tours, delightful service, perfect location. Lots of details like heated towel racks, evening turn-down, 24-hr room service, free in-room coffee/tea/hotchocolate, and minibars. Loved our stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Palisades, CA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Wonderful location in the center of the Oxford Colleges. Easy walk to most sites and across the street from St. Mary's Church. Borrow a bike and do your own exploring of Oxford. The rooms are quiet, medium-sized with lots of extras. If you don't see what you want, be sure to ask. The staff are very helpful. There is a spacious, self-serve tea and coffee room at the back of the hotel facing onto the parking lot. The hotel parking lot is a little hard to find off Magpie Lane, but it has plenty of room and no charge. Contact the hotel ahead of time for exact directions if you are driving.

Room Tip: Room 9 is medium size, facing front towards St. Mary's Church and Queen's College. Very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ratings -
Staff is very caring and cheerful, and if they don't know something they'll go to someone who does. One gem is Lucy. There was a slight bit of confusion on our arrival, nothing serious, and she fixed it handily. She worked us into a more appropriate room and did it with a smile and took us to it.
The rooms are small, so it pays dividends to pay a bit more for a deluxe, which is not huge at all, but a lot better than a standard. Bathroom had all we needed. Shower was excellent, and there was a tub, but we wouldn't dream of using it and trying to get in and out.
We were on the 3rd floor facing the rear, as quiet is important to us, and I had read about noise from the High Street in front of the hotel. We had a view of Merton College and were high enough that we looked ovwe the car park which is below. Bright and sunny room.
The hotel is quite modern and handsomely done, and the art, to us, is wonderful.
We lunched one day in the terrace in back and it was very pleasant, given the day. We also ate in the restaurant 1 evening, and it is smart and quite casual with good simple food - not fussy at all, which suited us just fine. The prices in the restaurant are good. We were there 3 nights, Wednesday leaving Saturday. I can imagine that Fridays and Saturdays when Oxford is in session the restaurant might be noisy. The hotel is very close to several colleges.
Our only reservation was that the beds are hard but not hard enough. I have back problems and need a very hard bed for support. This didn't quite do it for us.

Room Tip: If you must have quiet, as we must, then the back is the best option. Higher (3rd floor) is the top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's certainly expensive, but for a location right in the center of a city like Oxford, one should not complain.My room had everything one could ask for, except adequate space to put away clothes or hide my suitcase. The bathroom similarly lacked space to put one's toiletries. A shelf would have been nice. However, there should be no complaints about water pressure and the shower being feeble. It was not.One nice feature of the hotel is its 'residents lounge'. It was a quiet room outfitted with books (good ones too) and a coffee machine that made a great cup of coffee from pods. I really liked that room.Breakfast at the Quod restaurant was delightful but horribly overpriced. One can have breakfast for a fraction of the price just next door in Valerie's Patisserie.Let's close with two positive comments. First, I found the staff to be consistenly friendly and helpful. Secondly, I want to stress that this hotel has a parking lot. For a hotel in the centre of Oxford where cars are discouraged, that is a big plus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
illinois usa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This was my second stay at the old bank hotel. The staff make it a very special place indeed. They arranged hypoallergenic bedding and when a tooth broke were kind enough to find a dentist on a Friday evening. The rooms in the hotel vary widely. On my first stay we got a beautiful room overlooking the main road with window seats and high ceilings. However, due to construction we asked to move and wound up in the hotels smallest back facing room. There was no room to open a carry on. That said the bed was delicious, the room meticulously clean and the shower and bathroom a delight. This time we stayed on the top floor (per a request). The rooms charm was unparalled but it was very hot, even with the extra air conditioner they put in the room. This however is something that most of the year would make no difference.
The location is perfect for exploring Oxford, the restaurant top notch if a bit pricey. Overall, a great hotel. It is however quite expensive and whether it is worth it depends on how much you value a clean room and nice staff

Room Tip: Room quality varies, for quiet choose back facing, for stunning view the top floor (but there are na...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.