We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Bank Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Old Bank Hotel to your Saves list
Old Bank Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct For Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 43 Hotels in Oxford
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed here over the Easter weekend, and have to say this must be one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in ( and without name dropping we have stayed in some leading ones around the world. )
The room was at the back overlooking the entrance to the reception, it was very quiet. Beautiful bedroom with a lovely soft bed and delghtful bathroom with a separate shower cubicle.
Cleanliness of the room and maintenance was top notch, with a turn down service if wished.
Original oil painting on the wall, others are hung throughout the hotel.
Staff were very helpful and polite.
We ate in the hotel dining room Quod on the first night, and although we had booked up three weeks prior we were shown a rather cramped table, the only sour note of our stay.
The breakfasts are excellent with everything cooked freshly to order.
The guest library had a coffee machine with jug of fresh milk.
Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting a fantastic hotel with free parking in the centre of Oxford.
Also would recommend the hotel's free guided walking tour conducted by an enthusiastic lady who really knew Oxford.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, choose one that overlooks the entrance to reception, (we had 207 on the fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    525
    217
    43
    14
    5
See reviews for
124
425
35
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a fun place!
Best location in Oxford! Great atmosphere! Good value!
We stayed in room 414 which had a nice view! We had fabulous cocktails at the bar. Breakfast is very good!
I will DEFINITELY stay in the Old Bank again if I'm in Oxford!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Old Bank Hotel
We really enjoyed our stay at the Old Bank Hotel. The staff were welcoming from the moment we stepped in and were friendly, helpful and very courteous throughout our stay.

The Old Bank is located on Oxford’s high street and is thus central to almost everything and certainly very accessible by foot: Cornmarket, Broadstreet, High Street, St Aldates etc. The Oxford Tube has a stop just two minutes away from the hotel so the transit to and from London was very swift. The University offices are about a 15 to 20-minute walk away.

We were given a room on the top floor on the hotel. Straightaway, it reminded me of being a college student with a spacious yet cosy bed-sit. The Beige/Oak colours and the slanted ceilings added plenty of charm to our room. And from the semi-bay windows, we had exceptional views of St Mary’s Church, All Souls College and the Radcliffe Camera beyond, incredible!

The only disappointment was the shower which was a small pre-fab closet but other than that, a spacious bathroom.

Breakfast was in the hotel’s café which was bustling and not overly crowded. Food was good and service great.

This is a hotel I would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a two day break at the Old Bank Hotel in Oxford. The room was very comfortable, the bed, pillows and linen were divine, but Oxford at night can be a little noisy. I would recommend a room at the back of the hotel if you need your sleep. Oxford is a vibrant city and does not go to sleep early. The staff at the hotel were without exception very helpful. There is some great artwork to be admired as well, including in the bedrooms. We were really surprised that the hotel restaurant and bar were so busy at all times and had a real buzz. It was Oxford Literary Festival Week and so I'm sure that contributed to the numbers but it just seemed busier than other places. The food and service were excellent and we could not fault it. There is a car park for guests at the rear of the hotel which is really handy as the hotel is located in the High Street right in the middle of the town, with easy access on foot to all the colleges, museums and other attractions. The retail area is also easy to get to on foot.

It's not a cheap hotel to stay in but the quality of everything makes paying that bit extra worth while.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear of the hotel if you need your sleep as Oxford doesn't go to sleep earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shillelagh Co Wicklow, Ireland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We enjoyed a lovely stay for four nights recently. The position of The Old Bank has to be one of the best in Oxford and staff were most friendly, obliging and efficient. Our spacious room overlooked High St, with views of St. Mary's and the corner of Radcliffe Camera. A beautiful room with high ceilings and very pleasantly furnished! Very well sound-proofed, too.The bed was really comfortable, as were the sofa and chairs.The only comment I would have is that this is really like a top-notch guest house, as the hotel public seating areas were in back of hotel [in a not really comfortable room], and you ate in the public restaurant and wine bar downstairs. This was sometimes extremely busy. They didn't take reservations, but we were seated rapidly most times. The breakfasts in the restaurant were excellent, but the evening menu a little limited. The room had tea, cofee etc, but in an awkward place, and we had to put the kettle on the floor to heat due to short lead. A minor complaint! We will definaitely return

Room Tip: Room 10 - perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The room was quiet, spacious and well appointed. The staff of the desk were attentive, polite and helpful. A request for fresh milk for my morning tea was dealt with immediately. I would have liked a gin and tonic in the mini-bar and the bath could have been bigger, but otherwise a relaxing and comfortable one night stay. The hotel is expensive, but has an excellent location and service to match.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just spent 2 nights here with my wife. What a find and so central to oxford, it's the perfect location to explore this city.

We had a standard room looking over the high street. Very, very comfortable room, one of the best I've stayed in in the uk. Very comfortable bed and a great bathroom. The room had tea and coffee making facilities and the hotel will provide fresh milk on request- so much better than little cartons of uht. Also a big plus is the free wifi service which had the best download speeds Ii've experienced away from home.

We had breakfast both mornings of our stay and the selection and quality of the foods available was excellent and everything was very fresh.

Overall this is a vey nice, clean, comfortable and warm hotel; the artwork around the hotel is really interesting and quirky; liked it a lot.

I will definitely use the old bank hotel when I come to Oxford again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Bank Hotel

Address: 92 - 94 High Street, Oxford OX14BJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#1 Family Hotel in Oxford
#1 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
#1 Business Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Bank Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the High with place to park and between Oxford’s most famous colleges, Merton, University, All Souls and Oriel. Step out of the hotel onto one of the worlds most beautiful streets and you are amongst the best of Oxford’s shopping, theatres, libraries and gardens.This Georgian, stone building has forty two luxury bedrooms, all air-conditioned with marble bathrooms, great views, the latest technology and Stimulating twentieth century paintings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Old Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Bank Oxford
Hotel Old Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Bank Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.