We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Christ Church College

Christ Church College
St. Aldate's Street, Oxford OX1 1DP, England
01865 276150
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Christ Church College like an insider
Private Tour
$203*
and up
Private Tour: Cotswolds, Oxford and Blenheim...
Ranked #14 of 196 things to do in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Leisure education, Group tours/walking tour
Attraction details
OXFORD
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Christ Church College, Christ Church Meadows and of Course Christ Church Cathedral are all worth a visit. You haven seen Oxford unless you have visited these.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    199
    66
    21
    8
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

self-guided tour with a signposted route to the Great Hall and the cathedral. The Great Hall was closed for banquet preparation when I was there, but we were allowed to look through the door at the splendour. I went half an hour before the last admission and there was hardly any one at that timing.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“See how the 'other half' live.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Fantastic place in every sense of the word, quite unrealistic to the 'man in the street'. However, a must see visit when in Oxford. Every inch the city of spires.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Very busy especially with people taking photo's,as the aisles to walk down are narrow we were a bit held up.thought that it was a bit overpriced though interesting.lots of rooms were cordoned off.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Harry Potter Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Paid the modest admission charge for a self-guided tour limited to a few portions of the college. Big draw was the dining hall that inspired scenes in the Harry Potter series. While we have not seen the movies, we are sure grandsons will be thrilled by the pictures we took in this beautiful hall. The church was also very impressive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Christ Church College also viewed

 

Been to Christ Church College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christ Church College, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.