We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location, however” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Willow Cottage

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Willow Cottage
Save
You added Willow Cottage to your Saves list
Denton, Oxford OX44 9JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 83 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely location, however”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

This cottage is in a beautiful location. Our room was cold, but Katrina did offer to turn heating on, which we took up later in the evening after returning from our meal at The Bat & Ball. On arrival we were told in no uncertain terms that Katrina would not cook sausages for a 7:30am breakfast (we needed this as I was on la manior cookery school with early start), which left us speechless! We were so taken aback by this that we couldn't even comment. The next morning, sure enough my wife was presented with one rasher of bacon and a few mushrooms (she doesn't like eggs), I was lucky, two rashers, poached egg & few mushrooms. At £80 for the night, this meagre breakfast and such treatment of paying guests is disgraceful. Dogs in breakfast room whilst we ate was not to our liking either, nor the dog hairs on towels and bedding. On reelection, paying a tiny bit extra for a room at The Bat & Ball where we had a fantastic evening meal, would've been money well spent. If you don't mind dog hairs and don't need 7:30 breakfasts or don't like sausages, pay Katrina a visit.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilham, Manager at Willow Cottage, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
I am sorry to see that Willow Cottage fell short of your expectations when you stayed here. We do our utmost to make all our guests feel like friends and we always do what we can to meet their needs. It is a shame you did not let us know of your concerns at the time of your stay, because all I can now do is to try to answer your points here:

Keeping a comfortable heat at this time of the year (spring) is often fraught because of wildly fluctuating temperatures. During the week of your stay, the weather ran the gamut through hot, cold and borderline. When the temperature is borderline, as it was in your case, we ask guests for their heating preferences and act accordingly. We also provide electric heaters in case they are wanted.

With regards to your breakfast disappointment: as with many other B&Bs, we generally serve cooked breakfast between 8am and 9.30am, and outside these hours we offer a continental breakfast. Whatever the time, we provide as much fruit juice, cereal, fresh fruit, yoghurt, toast, tea and coffee as is required. When you stayed with us we did our best to meet your request for a cooked breakfast at 7.30am. As well as the continental breakfast, we did offer you a choice of bacon, eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms or smoked salmon. I am sorry that you felt that this was not sufficient and the lack of sausage caused distress.

I am afraid that I cannot come up with a satisfactory answer to the issue of dog hairs on the towels and bedding. The dogs do not and cannot access the guests’ bedrooms or bathrooms. By the time your review was posted, the bedding and towels had long since been laundered. However I did immediately check all the bedding, towels and flannels and did not find dog hairs.

We always tread a fine line with the dogs. We make it clear on our website and other advertising that we have three Labradors. We do this in order to ensure that any potential guest is absolutely aware, before they book, that there are dogs on the premises. The majority of our guests like dogs; indeed many guests choose to stay with us because of the dogs, and some actively request that the dogs are present when they are using the dining/sitting room. As I am sure you can appreciate, it is difficult for a dog to understand when it is welcome and when it is not. We are always conscious that some guests may not enjoy the company of the dogs, particularly at breakfast time, and we therefore attempt to prevent them from entering the dining room unless they are specifically asked for. However, on occasions the dogs do slip in and, if unwanted, we swiftly remove them.

I do so hope your experience here did not detract from your enjoyment of the cookery course you attended at Le Manoir.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    17
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
61
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton england
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at Willow Cottage for 2 nights over the bank holiday weekend.
We parked at Thorn Hill Park and ride during the day and travelled into oxford city centre. Parking is free upto 11 hours and the bus which runs regularly ( no 400) is £4.50 return for 2 adults and takes around 15 mins. Apprantley the car park can get very busy during the week. The park and ride is around 15 mins from Willow House, the sat nav took us around half way down the country lane, if this happens just carry on for around 400 yards, willow cottage is on your right.
Beautiful surroundings, welcoming host. Bedroom took a while to warm up, but was eventually ok, breakfast was okish.Great plave to stay if you want that country experience, otherwise may be more convient to stay closer to oxford.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Spent the night at Willow Cottage last week as we were having dinner at Le Manoir to celebrate a special birthday. Katrina is a great host and the house is delightful. Bed great, breakfast excellent (eggs from Katrina's hens) and dogs very friendly. The location is superb with country views and a beautiful garden. Unfortunately the weather was awful, but we could hardly blame Katrina for that. It's incredibly quiet too. Look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Each bedroom has its own sitting room and the rooms are not adjoining so it's very quiet. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Devon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Just what the doctor ordered. Warm welcome, nice cosy bedroom with lots of books, TV ad drinks etc to keep you entertained. Comfy bed followed by yummy breakfast with congenial company. What could be better! Thank you Katrina.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here as we're enjoying lunch at Le Manoir about 3 miles away. We found the cottage easy to find and on arrival we were greeted by the friendly owner and her 3 dogs who are all lovely.

The cottage has 2 bedrooms to let. We found ours very quaint and just what we needed for a one night sta. it was quite cold when we first got there but we turned l the radiator gauge and that seemed to sort the problem. The room has a tv,DVD player with selection of DVDs, lovely bed, ensure bathroom with shower and tea facilities.

In the morning we enjoyed a delicious breakfast. Full English along with fresh fruit, yogurts, toast and cereals.

The owner was so kind and took us to Le Manoir in her own car and we got a taxi back. A taxi cost us £12 I think it was.

Only two improvements I could suggest:

1 fresh milk instead of UHT
2. The tv is located no where near the bed and to watch the tv comfortably we had to pull it across the room and place it On a chair, as far as the aerial would reach.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Got a chance to spend two nights at the Willow Cottage and was extremely pleased with everything. Could not say enough good things about this place ..... good breakfast, great accommodation and even better host. The home is beautiful and in a great spot for getting around the area, right outside Oxford. Would definitely recommend and will always be my first choice if ever in the area again. 110%

mattdawson586@gmail.com

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Willow cottage and found it clean and comfortable. Excellent value. It's a few miles out of town, so best if you have a car. The scenery is majestic though and well worth the drive to a local park and ride to get into Oxford, which takes about 30 mins door to door. Katrina was very pleasant and helpful and the dogs were very sweet and well behaved. Recommended if you're looking for a semi-rural and town experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willow Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willow Cottage

Address: Denton, Oxford OX44 9JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Willow Cottage Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willow Cottage, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.