We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is, and that's ok for me!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oxy Oriental

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Oxy Oriental
Ozone Leisure Park | Grenoble Road, Oxford, England
01865 749888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #275 of 483 restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Asian
Restaurant details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“It is what it is, and that's ok for me!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Plenty to choose from, decent variety of cooked foods, sushi, raw foods for tapenyaki (cooked by chef for you) and ample deserts. I tend to always fill myself up on shredded chillie beef and see weed! Have never found any of the asian foods unprepared to satisfaction. Have known people to moan about the chips, but I don't go to a chinese buffet for english chips. Heathens...

My empty plate was always collected by the time I returned with my next helping, and it was never difficult to get a waiters attention for a drinks order.

Have been here 10+ times now, at relatively empty and much busier periods, and have never had a bad word to say about the place.

My only gripe is 10% service charge. Please, I will pay a tip accordingly. I would like my own waiter throughout my visit. I always tip a good job! They should have waiters to certain sectors of tables, so that you have your own one throughout your time there and tip THEM EXCLUSIVELY accordingly. Pool tips suck, they come off a card payment, and I'm not overly confident that the waiter/waitresses ever see them, especially where mainly foreign workers may be

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    10
    22
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Poor show for a buffet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went to oxy as it was my sons birthday and he said he would like to go to a Chinese restaurant. We normally go to Cosmo in Swindon or reading and by comparison oxy was extremely poor. The choice was so limited and the food was not great. The rice did not appear fresh and smelt like it was on the turn the restaurant was half empty with no atmosphere. Will not go again and would not recommend it. Try Cosmo or global buffet as its now known

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Huge selection - huge price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've visited the "all you can eat" Oxy Oriental in Oxford a number of times. The selection is phenomenal and it's great fun to try some of everything. The bar was absolutely packed! The meal together with drinks runs a steep bill, so watch how much you drink! Overall, though, it's a great place to visit if you're starving.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good choice and fair value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on a midweek evening and it was fairly quiet but we found the buffet was well topped up and refreshed regularly and also had far more choice than other similar buffets we had been too. Plenty of choice for children Eg - chips , hash browns etc and good choice of desserts too. Drinks can be a little pricey but overall we were happy and would return.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Ate too much ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a large group (20+) for supper at Oxy and the general consensus was that everyone ate too much. So the food cannot be too bad. I thought the venue a little impersonal, but service was generally good. Fine dining it is not, but the range and choice is extensive and there is something for everyone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oxy Oriental also viewed

 

Been to Oxy Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oxy Oriental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.