We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mitre Is Mighty Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mitre Beefeater

The Mitre Beefeater
| 17 High Street, Oxford OX1 4AG, England
01865 244563
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #208 of 513 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Hamburgers, Vegetarian, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Mitre Is Mighty Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This old English-style pub is a great way to spend a rainy lunchtime. The food is excellent and reasonable. Service is good and polite. A wonderful, cozy atmosphere.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    90
    54
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“21st”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were a party of 20 celebrating 21st and older birthdays and had a large area mostly to ourselves. 2 tables, one for young uns! and one for us oldies! meal was beautiful, service was great. no long waits on this a busy sat night. best steak my husband had had for ages, and he is usually fussy! excellent value for money, around £40 per couple. well worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Steak's cooked perfect.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is our second visit to The Mitre in the last year and on both visit's we have had good meals, The service is very quick, food piping hot we both had steaks that were cooked as we requested them.
The restaurant is very old and we like the hidden alcoves and enjoyed the dining experience and will return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Called in at 8:30 pm to ask for a table for 23 people.
This was "No Problem" and by the time I had escorted the group from a nearby pub, 2 tables had been laid up and we were welcomed by the helpful staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Good Sunday lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Went here yesterday for Sunday lunch with my elderly parents. They tend to be rather traditional in their food tastes, so this was a safe choice for them. I'd chosen it more for their benefit than anything else.

However, we could not fault the place. The staff were pleasant and helpful, we had a good table by the window, and the Sunday lunch was very good. Three of us had beef and one chose pork; we got good thick slices of meat, plenty of roast potatoes, 2 Yorkshire puds each and a good selection of veg. It was all hot and tasty and the portions were generous. So much so that I didn't have anything else; but my companions all pressed on for pudding. My mother had the apple crumble pie with ice cream, which she said was lovely; my partner had profiteroles with cream, and my father just had an ice cream. All three were very happy with their choice and scoffed the lot!

Our meal, which was 4 main courses, 3 puddings and 4 soft drinks (big glasses too) came to £59. We thought that was very good value. We'd all happily dine there again. My mother does tend to be a bit fussy, but even she rated it highly!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mitre Beefeater also viewed

 
Abingdon, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Mitre Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mitre Beefeater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.