We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxford Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn Guest House

Acorn Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Acorn Guest House
Save
You added Acorn Guest House to your Saves list
260 - 262 Iffley Rd, Oxford OX4 1SE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Oxford Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Lovely place to stay - walking disatance from town centre or handy buses. Very comfortable rooms. Great breakfast - lots of variety from cooked food to fruits, cereals and toast. Parking spaces. Owner very helpful and knowledgable

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    25
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
29
12
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I've stayed at Acorn four times and been very very satisfied each time. The breakfast is good, the rooms have the necessary amenities, the wifi works with no problems, and the staff is very helpful - even providing me with a breakfast plate the night before the times I've had to check out very early. I haven't heard any noise from my rooms - neither from other guests nor from the road. I usually bike to the center, but the bus stops very close by as well. I will definitely choose the Acorn again when I'm next in Oxford.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A family run house with nice environment! Willing to help and friendly staffs! Bar opposite to the location and just 3 minutes walk to convenient store until 12pm. Full English breakfast provided in order but remember before 11am! I was staying in the dining room for 15 minutes more and their lovely dog will come in and accompany you!
Definitely a nice stay in Oxford. I will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Spent 3 nights staying in this comfortable guest house. It is located within walking distance to the main city centre, but there is also a bus stop right outside the property that travels to the station, as well as the shopping precinct and tourist sights. Our hosts were friendly and very helpful. A cooked breakfast was available each morning, and especially recommend the hearty porridge, cooked Scottish style. Our room was basic but comfortable, clean and we enjoyed a quiet stay. Good value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We have just returned from 3 nights stay at the Acorn Guest House - 2nd to 5th June - and can highly recommend it. It has its own parking - always a boon when staying in or near a city - and was an easy walk into Oxford. Even better you could walk along the river path into Oxford - quiet and relaxing (as long as you keep an eye out for cyclists - they're silent and deadly! - We've never seen so many bicycles) or you can walk the other way towards Iffley Lock, which was very picturesque. The breakfasts at the Acorn are first class and plentiful - certainly enough to set you up for a day of sightseeing or whatever. We met Annie, the owners beautiful dog; and heard but never saw the resident parrot - a great mimic of telephones and emergency vehicles! Our room was on the top floor at the back of the house. Large room, huge, comfy bed, flat screen TV, tea and coffee making, free WiFi, en-suite shower room - and really quiet and peaceful at night despite the busy Iffley Road running along at the front of the property. I can't think of anything else we could have needed. When we were there, one half of the property was being refurbished, which limited the available accommodation, but there was no noise problems. When it's all done it will extend a good place to stay into a bigger good place to stay. If we ever return to Oxford we would stay at the Acorn again without a seconds hesitation.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the property will be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at The Acorn for two nights to visit Oxford for the first time.

We were surprised by this B&B. The B&B is very near the old town centre, but it's so quiet! It set back from the (busy) road and it has a wonderful garden.
From the B&B it's only a nice, short walk, about 25 minutes, to the city centre. You can also take the bus from the nearby busstop.

We had a nice, big and very light room. The room had free coffee/tea and bottled water and a desk with some chairs. The ensuite bathroom was a bit simple, but clean and good.

In front of the B&B there is off street parking.
Breakfast is very nice, lots of choices.
There is a sitting room with a computer with (free) internet access and wifi in the B&B.
Staff is very nice.

A perfect B&B for visiting Oxford!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the B&B, overlooking the garden, are very quiet. The B&B is a bit s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This location is very easy to find and is about a ten minute walk to the town. There are buses that run down the road, but walking took just as long as waiting for one. I was in the very top of the house, third floor I guess it was. Hauling luggage up the flights is tricky but everyone likes a workout! Might not be the best place for someone with mobility concerns. I shared a bathroom but it was never a problem, I guess I never overlapped with the other rooms needs. The breakfast was delicious, it’s got a restaurant feel in which you have a waitress style hostess. This is a great place for the solo traveller, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors are only accessible by stairs but I think they're quieter as people aren't wal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: 260 - 262 Iffley Rd, Oxford OX4 1SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acorn Guest House is a large Edwardian red brick house, well situated for everything Oxford has to offer. We are a friendly, reasonably priced, family run business. All guest rooms have tea and coffee making facilities, colour TV with freeview, free WiFi and adjustable central heating.Breakfast is served 7.30-9.00Am Monday-Friday, and 8.00-9.30Am on weekends and bank holidays. There is a selection of toast, fruit, cereals and yogurts available. Traditional or vegetarian cooked breakfasts are freshly made to order. All eggs are organic free-range from a local farm, and there is honey from our own bees. We have off road parking at the front of the property and two racks for bicycle parking. There is free wifi throughout. It is a fifteen minute walk to Magdalen Bridge, and 25 to the centre of town. The number 3 bus runs to and from the City Centre, and there is a stop very close to Acorn. Prices start from £40 for a single room, £68 for a budget twin and £76 for a twin or double en-suite. All rates include breakfast, tax and wifi. Acorn is a non-smoking establishment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Hotel Oxford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.