We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value pre-theatre dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant at the Randolph

Restaurant at the Randolph
Macdonald Randolph Hotel | Beaumont Street, Oxford OX1 2LN, England
+44 1865256410
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Restaurant at the Randolph is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 483 restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $31 - $55
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: The Restaurant at the Randolph Macdonald Hotel in Oxford, which was built in 1864, is situated directly opposite the world-famous Ashmolean Museum. The restaurant has two AA rosette for the delicate cuisine that it offers to residents and public. The decor is classic with his high ceiling and our menu is seasonal, rabbit terrine, loin of venison with chestnut puree or pheasant pairs with winter vegetables are the perfect examples. Cheese trolley and Rib Eye carved at the table are part of our tradition. Elegant food in elegant surroundings.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great value pre-theatre dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Dined here before going to the theatre. Two courses plus a glass of wine for £19.95. Service was fabulous - attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Selection of breads and a sample of soup as an added extra. The dining room is huge but is warm and comfortable and was beautifully decorated for Christmas. The only slight negative is the strange damp snell that I have noticed before. Apart from that - lovely experience and good value

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandolphOX12LN, Manager at Restaurant at the Randolph, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear SFWOxford,

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at the Randolph, our quality service and food. We hope to see you soon and wish you a merry Christmas and happy New Year.

Kind regards,

The Restaurant at the Randolph Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    59
    32
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, but slow food service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We visited the restaurant at the Randolph as a group of 10 people on a Sunday evening and had booked a table for 6.30pm as we had a 5 year old child in our group and needed to eat early. We were at our table at exactly 6.30pm and were certainly very well looked after by very attentive waiting staff giving good 'old-fasioned' service (pulling chairs out to help the ladies to sit down etc). So far, so good.
We were given a pre-theatre set menu which was fine, and the child was given her own set menu which included boiled egg and toast soldiers as a starter, which we thought was a lovely idea for kids!
Considering we'd asked for an early meal owing to there being a child in our group, we were later on left waiting a long time for the desserts, including the most simple dessert - a bowl of ice cream for the child. We asked 3 times if that could be brought out separately ahead of the other desserts as by then it was past 8.00pm and the child needed to leave for home because the next day was a school day. Despite the repeated requests, the child's ice cream eventually only arrived when everybody else's desserts arrived.
The food was really very nice indeed, but the 'average' review is for the service and speed of delivery of food, as once the restaurant started to become more busy, the close attention from the staff stopped, and we felt we were pretty much being ignored (for instance the failure to bring the child's dessert out first). Frankly, if we had been planning to go to the theatre, (as the menu had been designed for pre-theatre meals) we'd probably have only arrived at the theatre halfway through the performance!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandolphOX12LN, Manager at Restaurant at the Randolph, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Alora_uk,

Thank you very much for your review and comments. I am very sorry to hear about your disappointment regarding the service and the speed of the food delivery and I understand your concerns.
The "old fashioned" service that you had at the beginning of your meal is the one that we want to provide, it is the service being provided in "fashionable and modern" restaurants in London and unfortunately it takes time to get settled, please accept my sincere apologies and from the whole restaurant team we hope your next experience will more enjoyable.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“celebration lunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This was our golden wedding celebration lunch with the family. We were rushed to the table from the Morse bar before we have finished our Champagne to order our meal although the restaurant was half empty.The young waiting staff very efficient but the dining room person in charge very brisk with no effort to make us comfortable .
The Sunday lunch was poor , food very portion controlled and arrived with tiny amount of vegetables served on the plates, The hake dish was luke warm and a tiny portion. The dining room lacked atmosphere. As a result of this our celebration was not a memorable one and we wished we have chosen another restaurant .
Although we made a booking well in advance we were told we could not have a specific table.
This is not a 5 star hotel !

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food but dont pay extra for the duck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Food was lovely, beautifully cooked and rpesented. We eat from the fixed price menu and I paid £5 extra for the duck. Was very surprised that this extra fiver only bought two slices of duck - was expecting at least a small breast! Wines priced competitivel for a quality establishment - other drinks a bit toppy - over ten pounds for a gin and tonic!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RandolphOX12LN, Manager at Restaurant at the Randolph, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear DiggerOne,

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased to hear about your enjoyable experience in the Randolph. The menu has changed and we decided to remove all supplement prices on it to keep the idea of restaurant valuable for money.

The whole restaurant team wish you a Merry Christmas and we hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Enjoyed dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The restaurant in the Randolph Hotel is very classy with the food being similarly of high standard. The service is impeccable. Try the afternoon teas at the hotel.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at the Randolph also viewed

 

Been to Restaurant at the Randolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant at the Randolph, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.