We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just sublime” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hassan's Kebab Van

Hassan's Kebab Van
Broad Street, Oxford Oxford, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 493 Restaurants in Oxford
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Oxford
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just sublime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The best eatery in Oxford. Everything about my visit was flawless, from the delightful service i received to the picturesque view i was able to enjoy it by. The only slight flaw with Chez Hassan's is that it is not open for morning service, a massive pity as i can imagine nothing better than starting the day with a Hassan's. Despite it's top quality ingredients and clear talent in the kitchen Mr Hassan manages to keep down the prices at his fine establishment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    4
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Davenport, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect at 2am”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hassan's is an Oxford staple. At 2am the queue is large and alternates between people clutching books on a library break, in fancy dress or in black tie. You haven't been at Oxford until you have eaten here at least once. Hassan and his staff are always friendly, the food is great, and cheesy chips at 1-3am have saved my life on multiple occasions.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best late night food in Ox!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Been going to Hassan's for 3 years. Without a doubt, the fastest, best night-out food.

Efficient ordering and service, with better portions than any other vans

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Kebab van on Broad Street.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

My daughter at Trinity recommended Hassan's. The other night we left a pub and went by a number of others but came back to Hassan's, a Trinity College tradition.

Glad we did.

I told server I loved lamb and would take his recommendation. Got big plate of shaved lamb with sauce over chips. Massive meal.

Delicious and a great time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Hassan's is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place is fantastic! Tasty, affordable, offering great value for money. And open really really late! Fantastic!
I sincerely recommend: Chips, cheese and kebab meat. Or the Doner Kebab. Fantastic!

Mind you: Mehdi's on the high street (at the bottom of Turl street) does MUCH better Garlic mayo. VERY garlicky. Both Hassan's and Mehdi's are GREAT!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hassan's Kebab Van also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
 

Been to Hassan's Kebab Van? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hassan's Kebab Van, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.