We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unexpected lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England
01865 83 83 83
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #203 of 498 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $41 - $164
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“unexpected lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

On one of our visits to Oxford we where walking by Jamie's Italian on a very cold wet day, just as someone was leaving, the aroma was such that our taste buds took over.

The service and the quality of the food was excellent; just like, if not better than the aroma that tempted us in, in the first place. This was not the first time we have visited Jamie's, on each occasion we have had good service and good food, what more could you want.

The copper/brass fitting could do with a polish in the gents loo.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    342
    259
    152
    86
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mar.borough, Wiltshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Loos a let down!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Jamie's has a real vibe, the food is excellent and staff friendly and knowledgeable. However, the loos are fiited out with 'pukka' fittings but the toilets are grubby and not particularly clean. The table by the kitchen/plate washing entrance and bread dresser is like Paddington station as the staff are going back and forward and often bump into you (not on purpose), ask to be sat elsewhere. These are easily put right and I hope someone acts on this review because it is a fantastic restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Used to be much better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I still quite like this place but it no longer attracts queues and has a reputation for having deteriorated. I took the kids and the waiters were lovely to them but the food was stodgy and lacking freshness and flavour. There are fun ideas and I love the service but it's expensive and a little bit ordinary, and I remember it as so wonderful a couple of years ago.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Went to Jamie's with friends before going yo the theatre. Had a brilliant time, great food, great wine (reccomended by our waiter) and great service. Would recommend to everyone.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Valley, Anguilla
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice meal after average greeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dropped into Jamie's for an impromptu lunch. The guy doing the meet and greet could have had nicer manner but once we'd say down the service improved and the food was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jamie's Italian, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.