We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely Oxford... I say again visiting our daughter” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Buttery Hotel to your Saves list
The Buttery Hotel
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Romania
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“lovely Oxford... I say again visiting our daughter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

Cute and small, comfortable hotel downtown Oxford! My husband was not happy with the English breakfast (the sausagis he call them "paper made"... and we wait too long for food. Of course I cannot say that is the best breackfast I eat in hotels I used before...but for England is usual at this price and stars (ha ha ha say England/ Scotland).

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    118
    44
    19
    8
See reviews for
41
87
37
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

A wonderful, clean and welcoming B&B in a fantastic location. You don't need a car here as you can walk to most places and the City Sightseeing bus is just outside the door. A great place in which to explore Oxford.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

One nights stay, super location, room very clean and bed nice and comfy. Few stairs so not good if you have some big bags. Receptionist very smiley and welcoming!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My family and I stayed here as part of a Inspector Morse themed birthday weekend. We had two of the delux rooms at the front of the building facing onto Broad Street. The accomodation was roomy, it was clean and the bed really comfy. In short, it had all the amenities that we needed (except for a safe in the room - but that is a quibble). In terms of location, the hotel could not be better positioned. It's right in the heart of Oxford next to Trinity and Balliol Colleges and along the road from the Bodelian Library. The staff were friendly and efficient. The breakfast was especially enjoyable - and included having 'real' coffee rather than the usual watery filter kind.

We'll definitely be coming back to Oxford - too many things to cram into one weekend! And when we do come back, we'll stay at the Buttery.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Carlos, SP
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed at The Buttery for six nights while attending a conference in Oxford. Had read lots of good reviews about this place and I did not get disappointed with my experience. The location is superb! Close to anywhere you may want to visit including bus station and even rail station what does make things easier. The price was a little bit high but good for Oxford standards. My room was in the first floor since during the booking process I asked for a good wireless internet signal and I was told that due to the thickness of the walls this was the best option. However, it is definitely noisier than the other rooms because it's just opposite to the reception counter which is pretty busy as all guests are asked to leave the keys every time they leave. On the top of that the room was right above the outside tables of The Oxford Campus Buttery what allowed me you to hear all the talking and laughing. Despite this little noise problem, my stay was excellent. My room was comfortable and spacious with a good shower. The breakfast included a selection of fruit, juice, cereals, pastries and some cooked to order items such as full English breakfast, scrambled eggs, etc. all very tasty. I believe this place is very hard to be beaten and I highly recommend staying there!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid room 103
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Slap bang in the middle of Oxford, within sight of The Bodlean Library and 2 or 3 colleges, this really is such a great location. Our room was on the front but we had no real problems with noise and any noise was the pay off for being right in the middle of the action. It was great to have the room as an easily accessible bolt hole to pick stuff up/ drop stuff off, on an ad-hoc basis. It's over a cafe where you can sit out with a coffee and cake on Broad St and watch the world go by, and not get ripped off despite the lovely location.
Breakfast was good - plenty of cereals and pastries as well as the full English (but the mushrooms were disappointing). The room was clean and had everything you'd need. The communal stair areas aren't pretty and there's no lift, but hey, it's a small price to pay to stay in such a convenient place.
There's no parking (often the case in Oxford) but do some research as when we went you could use the Thornhill park-and-ride and leave the car for up to 72 hours. Don't even think of leaving your car in a town centre car park!
We've had several trips to Oxford as our daughter is at uni there, and stayed in some pretty poor places. We wish we'd found this place before. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

This hotel/B&B is slap in the middle of Oxford, on Broad Street. The location is superb. The rooms are large (esp. considering this is a listed building), spotlessly clean, and generally well appointed with desk, chairs, and that wonderful british institution 'tea and coffee making facilities'. I found the staff helpful, and appreciated the flat-screen TV with freeview. A few problems... the wifi was intermittent, there are many steep stairs (I didn't have a problem with this, but some guests might find it very difficult), and the breakfast was pretty average. Also the rooms were rather hot and stuffy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Buttery Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.