We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zizzi - Henley

Zizzi - Henley
21-23 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
+44 (0)1491 410070
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zizzi - Henley is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $16 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Home of the Regatta, an event that attract thousands of people, and smack dab in the middle of all that action is our Henley restaurant. Our restaurant is an old coach house dating back to the 17th Century, a perfect place to hold private parties, with 3 separate rooms including a bar on the first floor and outside seating space during spring and summer. It has a warm and relaxing atmosphere and is close to all shops and amenities as well as being a short walk to the river. Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather. And if you’re celebrating something special, see if our private dining area is right for you.
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Arrived after booking on-line last night. No sign of our on-line booking but the waitress found us a table anyway. Lovely and atmospheric, as you would expect in an Italian restaurant. The food was hot, well presented and tasty. It was also reasonably priced - something we had struggled to find in Henley, to be honest! The staff were friendly and attentive and we would definitely recommend.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    40
    16
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
phoenix arizona
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We ate at a Zizzi in London, and were with several people, so we stopped in here, too. Great casual place. The pizza is excellent, and my son loved the calzone. Highly recommended for a casual Italian meal.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Worth a punt!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We arrived late (8:30pm) without a booking during the Henley Regatta and got squeezed in, despite a bit of a wait. The staff were excellent, the food was excellent and good value. Great atmosphere and we were treated to free garlic bread as we waited. My only criticism, and its small, was that (despite having to wait and others being turned away) there was plenty of spare tables and seats, but we were told the kitchen could not cope with the numbers that seemed to arrive all around the same time - not sure where the fault would lie with this - and maybe just Regatta week. Still, well worth the visit and would return if in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wargrave, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Many visits later, still impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

On a Saturday night, when we fancy staying quite local, it's hard not to opt for Zizzi in Henley. Ok it's a chain, but as always the quality of any eating out experience is as much about service and atmosphere as it is about the food. And Zizzi's Henley restaurant doesn't lack quality in either department. It's always very busy (no need to wonder why), so be advised to book. By the way, booking online is really very easy - they have an excellent website. But despite the popularity of this place, there's always a warm welcome and it feels like you're part of a happy family. I have to say a special word about the manager of Zizzi, Henley. This guy, an Italian, is the real deal. He remembers you, welcomes you and does everything he can to make your experience as good as it can be. And he is always visible, working hard but making himself available whenever needed. The rest of the staff are similarly welcoming and they know how important good service is. Never an order forgotten, never an order delayed for very long, despite being busy. Zizzi Henley is a well run machine that won't let you down. And finally, the menu is great for an Italian chain. It's varied, authentic and very, very tasty. We usually start with the bread basket and delicious mixed olives, with some nice wine (I had a glass of Chianti, my wife a lovely Sauvignon blanc) and next I opted for one of the specials, spaghetti with juicy mussels and cherry tomatoes, while my wife had a gorgeous chicken dish garnished with pruscetta ham and roast potatoes. The menu has recently been refreshed and the choices are mouth watering. So make sure you book or you might be disappointed. And if you go on a Saturday night, we'll most likely see you there!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

It may be a chain restaurant but the food was top notch. The service was really good despite it being busy. We had 3 courses each, a few sides and two decent bottles of wine all for £100. Very good value for money. This is the best of the "chain" Italians in Henley-on-Thames.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Henley also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Henley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zizzi - Henley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.