We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Converted old Brewery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Vin to your Saves list
Hotel du Vin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Street, Henley-on-Thames, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Converted old Brewery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel is great of you like a hotel with character. Situated in centre of Henly-on-thames so easy access to shopping, the river and the many pubs and restaurants. Room was very nice and spacious and staff were excellent.

Room Tip: Our corner room was nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    142
    103
    45
    20
See reviews for
40
287
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knivsta, Sweden
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My stay was on recommendation, and thus the bar is higher set from the beginning.
Well, i was not disappointed. Stayed in a room with bathtub on the terrace, and the bathroom upstairs. Very nice room, and all in all pricworthy.

The only thing i can "complain" about...when the rooms have own names instead of nunbers...when you had a drink or 2... Its hard to find home....:-)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Eulalia del Rio, Spain
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Hotel Du Vin for two nights over the weekend. On the first night we were very kindly upgraded for free to the deluxe suite Dom Perignon, which was a treat. Enormous shower enough to fit at least 10 people, nice complimentary showe gels etc. The 8ftX8ft bed was excellent, very comfortable and had a great night sleep. We then moved to Mount Langui which was perfectly fine, saw someone earlier complaining that the noise from the aircon units, we didn't have any problems at all, slept like logs, and again comfortable beds, good showers and nice baths. We would recommend one of the suites if you can get it to be honest. The bar is reasonably priced, G&T for £5.80, can't complain! Valet service very good and overa had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely room - Gallo. Stairs up to the bathroom, lovely deep bath, power shower (poor drainage), nice toiletries. The bed was big, nice touch of the coffee machine - if you could be bothered to read the instructions! The walk from reception to the room was not straightforward and a porter would have been useful. Not disabled friendly, lots of stairs, no evident lift. Although there are rooms off the courtyard. Parking was good, we paid for valet, car was brought to us when needed. We had continental breakfast which was good. Variety of food/drinks, and they didn't rush you through like some places.

We would stay here again, but I'd be sure to ask for a room at the back where it's more peaceful. Note to housekeeping: the top of the wardrobe needs cleaning!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We stayed here for two nights after travelling down for a family wedding. The room was lovely, bed comfortable and bathroom spotless. The weather was hot when we arrived and there was a aircon on in the room so the temperature was very pleasant - only a small touch I know but it was much appreciaited.Staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. We had lunch and dinner over the two days and both were delicious. Breakfast was also very good. Would deffinately recommend this to anyone and hope to return soon with friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked to stay at the hotel following a business meeting in Oxford, we took the offered (£40) upgrade to a room (Ruinart) with a small terrace and outdoor bath!!

The room was super, having first entered the slightly less than impressive bedroom we then ventured up the steep stairs to the huge, sumptuous bathroom (2 basins, enormous walk through shower and double ended feature bath) from here a door lead onto the small terrace overlooking the Thames and the regatta area. Hilariously there was a bath on the terrace which was fed with hot/warm water and a heater to provide warmth - we used it later in the evening and couldn't stop giggling! In the morning we were able to sit on our terrace and have a cuppa whilst watching the early morning world go by. We should mention that the bedroom area contained the WC with basin in a small room so that there was no need to trek up the stairs, should it be necessary, in the night!

We started our evening with a drink in the bar area and then continued into the dining room for a really great meal. The steaks (Rib Eye and Sirloin) we ordered were wonderful followed by delicious Tarte au Citron and Creme Brûlée. The service was very friendly and efficient.

Breakfast was fine but not amazing, we had accepted the offer given at the reception when we arrived of £10 - continental and £13 - cooked English.

Car parking was £15 (valet parking onsite).

Our one point of criticism was the check out, whereby we had to go through our invoice in detail owing to a number of errors made which came mainly from accepting various special offers. We felt that the checkout experience was flippant and unprofessional which was a shame after such a lovely stay.

Room Tip: Ruinart for a super view and outdoor bath (worth it for the giggle factor). Be aware that to reach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The hotel is perfectly situated to explore Henley. The service is excellent and as with my experience of all of this chain, the bar staff are real experts. Food is divine and the bedrooms are really luxurious. I would recommend asking for a room at the back of the hotel as any rooms overlooking the courtyard are incredibly noisy. I booked 6 rooms and only one was situated in a 'peaceful' place.

Room Tip: rooms away from the courtyard are more peaceful. There is a live band every third Thursday of the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Malmaison & Hotel du Vin Hotels, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Vin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.